Skip to main content

Literature: Short Stories M-Z

Short Stories Currently Available by Title or Genre

Need a Little Help?

"Miss Brill" by Katherine Mansfield


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Necklace" (or "The Diamond Necklace") by Guy de Maupassant


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge" by Ambrose Bierce


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas" by Ursula K. Le Guin


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

Oral Tradition (Folktales)

Loading ...

"Recitatif" by Toni Morrison


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"A Rose for Emily" by William Faulkner


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Saboteur" by Ha Jin (aka Xuefei Jin)

Loading ...

"Sonny's Blues" by James Baldwin


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

Special thanks to Dr. Charlotte Pressler for the information and materials below.

Video of Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie playing “Hot House” live on television at aDownbeat magazine awards ceremony. This hard bop video also gives a feeling for the America of “Sonny’s Blues.”

The pianist Baldwin may have had in mind, when describing Sonny’s music, was Thelonious Monk. Here’s some of his music, from YouTube.

Loading ...

"A Sound of Thunder" by Ray Bradbury

Loading ...

"The Storm" by Kate Chopin


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Story of an Hour" by Kate Chopin


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Sweat" by Zora Neal Hurston


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Tell-Tale Heart" by Edgar Allen Poe


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Things They Carried" by Tim O'Brien


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"This Is What It Means To Say Phoenix, Arizona" by Sherman Alexie


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"To Build a Fire" by Jack London


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Vane Sisters" by Vladimir Nabokov


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Walker Brothers Cowboy" by Alice Munro


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"A Wall of Fire Rising" by Edwidge Danticat


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" by Joyce Carol Oates


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Why I Live at the P.O." by Eudora Welty


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"A Worn Path" by Eudora Welty


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"The Yellow Wallpaper" by Charlotte Perkins Gilman


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Yellow Woman" by Leslie Marmon Silko


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...

"Young Goodman Brown" by Nathaniel Hawthorne


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.
Loading ...