Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Annotated Mona Lisa by
Call Number: N5302 .S76 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Presents the history of art from prehistoric times to the present day, describes major artists and movements, and details the influence of art on society through the ages.
Vanishing Histories by
Call Number: Oversize CC135 .A54 2001
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Dedicated to the preservation of our planet's architectural treasures, the World Monuments Watch was established in 1996 to aid in the rescue of endangered cultural sites. Breathtaking full-color photographs, many newly commissioned, portray the most important sites on the Watch's list between 1996 and 2000 - including such marvels as the Angkor Archaeological District in Cambodia, Colorado's Mesa Verde National Park, ancient Pompeii, and many others around the globe. Spanning Baroque palace gardens in Vienna to an ancient city in the central Asian desert, the book includes brief discussions of each site.
Tribal Art by
Call Number: N5311 .M55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
The only guide that features art from tribes and cultural groups from all around the world, not just one region, Tribal Art features historical, cultural, and price guide information on the art of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas and is the definitive collector's guide for tribal art enthusiasts.
Secret Lives of Great Artists by
Call Number: N40 .L86 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
In the tradition of our best-selling Secret Lives of the U.S. Presidents (120,000 copies in print), here are outrageous and uncensored profiles of the world's greatest artists, complete with hundreds of little-known, politically incorrect, and downright bizarre facts.
The Secret Lives of Buildings by
Call Number: NA2543 .H55 H66 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
Concrete, marble, steel, brick: little else made by human hands seems as stable, as immutable, as a building. Yet the life of any structure is neither fixed nor timeless. Outliving their original contexts and purposes, buildings are forced to adapt to each succeeding age. To survive, they must become shape-shifters. In an inspired refashioning of architectural history, Edward Hollis recounts more than a dozen stories of such metamorphosis, highlighting the way in which even the most familiar structures all change over time into “something rich and strange.
Women Artists by
Call Number: N8354 .H45 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
With its lavish color illustrations - the paintings and sculptures are all reproduced in full color - and numerous documentary pictures of the artists themselves, Women Artists: An Illustrated History provides an unprecedented wealth of visual material on the subject. This updated third edition adds several new international artists - including Mona Hatoum, Kiki Smith, Carne May Weems, and Rachel Whiteread - to bring the content up to the minute. Nancy G. Heller's text offers a lively overview of the obstacles that women encountered - restricted access to education and apprenticeship, social pressures to marry and mother, limited opportunities to travel and exhibit - but she most emphasizes the ingenious ways that generations of women artists circumvented these obstacles to establish themselves as well-respected professionals.
The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by
Call Number: Oversize GT510 .R3313 1988
Publication Date: 1988-09-01
This work condenses Racinet's classic six-volume set, History of World Costume (1876-1888), and translates it into English for the first time. Its text and 2,000 illustrations, most in full color, cover worldwide costumes from ancient Egypt to nineteenth-century Europe--royalty, the working class, soldiers, and the poor.
Stained Glass: radiant art by
Call Number: NK5306.R345 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-20
Beautifully illustrated with reproductions from the remarkable stained glass collection at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Stained Glass addresses the making of a stained glass window, its iconography and architectural context, the patrons and collectors, and the challenges of restoration and display. The selected works include examples from Austria, Belgium, England, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. Subject matter ranges from monumental religious scenes for Gothic churches to lively heraldic panels made for houses and other secular settings. Integrating comparisons to works of art in other media, such as manuscripts, drawings, and panel paintings, this book encourages the general reader to see stained glass as an element of a broad artistic production.
Speculating Daguerre by
Call Number: TR140 .D3 P56 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
In Speculating Daguerre, Stephen C. Pinson reinterprets the story of the man and his time, painting a vivid picture of Daguerre as an innovative artist and savvy impresario whose eventual fame as a photographer eclipsed everything that had come before. Drawing upon previously unpublished correspondence and unplumbed archival sources, Pinson mixes biography with an incisive study of Daguerre's wide-ranging involvement in visual culture. From his work as a commercial lithographer to his coinvention of the Paris Diorama—a theater in the round in which Daguerre employed natural light and special effects to simulate time and movement in large-scale paintings—here we are given access to Daguerre the artist, whose tireless experimentation, entrepreneurial spirit, and exceptional talent for popular spectacle helped to usher in a new visual age.
The Art of Ray Harryhausen by
Call Number: NC1766 .U52 H374 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
In this current era of CGI (Common Gateway Interface) special effects, the serious film student will often overlook the history of earlier animation techniques. This lavishly illustrated book chronicles the oft-forgotten work of the master of stop-motion animation, Ray Harryhausen.
The Sandman by
Call Number: PN6728.S26G355 2010
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
New York Times best-selling author Neil Gaiman's transcendent series The Sandman is often hailed as the definitive Vertigo title and one of the finest achievements in graphic storytelling. Gaiman created an unforgettable tale of the forces that exist beyond life and death by weaving ancient mythology, folklore and fairy tales with his own distinct narrative vision.
Find Books, eBooks, Articles, Videos, and More
30,000 Years of Art by
Call Number: Oversize N5300 .A14 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
From ancient Germany's "Lion Man of Hohlenstein-Stadel" to James Turrell's 1995 photograph "Roden Crater," chronologically presents one thousand examples of art from different countries, cultures, and civilizations and discusses what makes each piece both unique and representative.
The Art Atlas by
Call Number: Oversize N5300 .A85 2004
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
The Art Atlas is the first work to present the art of the entire world from ancient to modern times through extensive use of specially commissioned maps. Covering painting, sculpture, and architecture as well as other arts and artifacts, the volume provides an entirely new vision of the history of the world’s art by showing how physical and political geography has shaped its developments.
Origins of Classical Architecture by
Call Number: NA275 .W55 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
The Greek architectural orders--Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian--lie at the heart of the classical traditions of building, and yet satisfying accounts for their origins have proved elusive. In contrast with conventional theories that would see the orders originating over the course of a long evolution, this book stresses the suddenness of the phenomenon and its dependence on historical context, human agency, and artistic inspiration. Casting new light on a subject that has preoccupied architects since the Renaissance, Mark Wilson Jones shows how construction, influence, appearance, and meaning found expression in complex and multifaceted designs. New emphasis is placed on the relationship between the orders and the temples of worship that they were created to adorn. Temples were exquisitely made offerings to the divinity, and they also contained valuable offerings. In revealing affinities between certain offerings and the orders, the author explains how these gave architectural expression to sensibilities of intense social and religious significance
Great Buildings by
Call Number: NA200.W56 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
From the mysterious Great Pyramid of Egypt and Turkey's exquisite Hagia Sofia, to the splendid palace at Versailles and Frank Lloyd Wright's graceful Fallingwater in Pennsylvania, Great Buildings explores the world's most stunning buildings and other iconic architectural creations in fabulous visual tours. The history of each building is explained, from the commissioning to how they were built, and is supplemented with 3-D cutaway artworks and pullouts of the exterior, as well as key details of the interior. With features on prominent architects, construction and style, Great Buildings is a comprehensive and excellent introduction to architecture's greatest achievements.
The Art of the Italian Renaissance by
Call Number: N6945 .A78 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
Provides and overview of the artistic diversity of the Italian Renaissance written by renowned authors from the fields of history, architecture and art history.
Non-Western Art: a brief guide by
Call Number: N5300.M23 1995
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
This volume offers a concise introduction to the indigenous visual expressions created in Africa, Asia, and the Americas.
History of Design by
Call Number: Oversize NK600 .H57 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-10
Spanning six centuries of global design, this far-reaching survey is the first to offer an account of the vast history of decorative arts and design produced in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic world, from 1400 to the present.
World Mythology by
Call Number: BL 312 .W66 2003
Publication Date: 2006-06-29
The great myths of the world create meaning out of the fundamental events of human existence: birth, death, conflict, loss, reconciliation, the cycle of the seasons. They speak to us of life itself in voices still intelligible, yet compellingly strange and distant. World Mythology offers readers an authoritative and wide-ranging guide to these enduring mythological traditions, combining the pure narrative of the myths themselves with the background necessary for more complete understanding.
The Artist's Handbook by
Call Number: N7430 .S54 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
Fully restyled and revised for the twenty-first century artist. The Artist's Handbook is packed with information on the traditional art methods of drawing, painting, and printmaking together with significant modern art techniques such as digital photography, digital printing, and digital image manipulation. Encompasses all the tools, materials and skills of the artist's craft. This is the definitive reference guide for amateurs and proficient, conventional and progressive artists alike.
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
History Reference Center
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Making Masterpieces: A History of Painting Technique Series by
Call Number: Streaming videos
Publication Date: 2003
This remarkable six-part series analyzes the history of painting technique in a way that is at once both highly focused in approach and encyclopedic in content. Each video critically examines an individual aspect of the painting process using well-known masterpieces as examples. The sheer abundance of high-quality art images makes the series an excellent reference work—and special effects and scientific processes such as infrared reflectography enable viewers to see for themselves how some of the world’s greatest paintings were made.
Making Masterpieces 2: A History of Painting Concepts Series by
Call Number: Streaming videos
Publication Date: 2005
This six-part series explores major ideas, themes, and motifs that have driven the development of Western art. Renowned examples of still life, portraiture, and landscape painting are showcased, along with the manipulation of chiaroscuro, the narrative power of pictures, the ancient connection between artist and model, and the use of scientific analysis to study a painting’s hidden past.
Art Through Time: A Global View Series by
Call Number: Streaming videos
Publication Date: 2016
This 13-part series examines themes connecting works of art created around the world in different eras. It is an exploration of diverse cultural perspectives on shared human experiences.
Art of the Western World by
Call Number: Audio Visual N5300 .A77 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Historian Michael Wood leads a nine-part tour through 2,500 years of Western painting, sculpture, and architecture, filmed at over 150 locations in eight countries and featuring commentary by historians and scholars.