A-Z Databases

Library Databases Research Guide

Our Library Database Research Guide is loaded with tips and tricks to get you up and running.

Finding the Right Database

To access the library subscription databases, you can choose to sort them by Subject or Type, choose an Alphabetical Tab, or do a Keyword Search.

About Library Subscription Databases

Library subscription databases consist of published journals, magazines, reports, documents, newspapers, books, image collections, videos, and more.

Authentication: Students, Faculty, and Staff will be asked for their Panther Central credentials to login. This experience varies by database, but where it is supported, researchers will have the ability to log into OpenAthens by selecting South Florida State College from a list and entering their SFSC Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials.

Ebooks: We have an Ebooks guide: How to search for them, view them, download them, and how to read them on a computer or a mobile device.

Mobile: The EBSCO Mobile App provides users with an easy way to access all library content (from ebooks to journal articles). Research anytime, anywhere.

Open Access: In the case of Open Access Databases, those are available to anyone and no login credentials are required.

Popular Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Popular

Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.

Academic Search Complete

Popular

Covers most fields. Contains full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and abstracts.

Credo Reference

Popular

Students looking up current events and controversial topics benefit from the Real-time Reference featured search category, which provides frequently-updated, credible background information on issues unfolding in the headlines. With more than 700 searchable, full-text titles from 100+ publishers, Credo covers every major subject.

Films on Demand

Popular

Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

History Reference Center

Popular

Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Humanities Source

Popular

Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion and theology.

JSTOR

Popular

Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

PBS Video Collection

New Popular

The PBS Video Collection is a treasure trove of streaming videos, spanning various topics from science to Shakespeare, diversity to economics. This collection offers patrons a gateway to the rich, educational content of one of television's most trusted networks, PBS.

Sage Skills

New Popular

Sage Skills is an engaging digital toolkit on Sage's library platform, designed to bolster students' academic and professional prowess for success in higher education and beyond. It's packed with interactive scenarios, self-assessments, downloadable resources, and videos, all nestled within a rich scholarly environment. This allows students and faculty to independently explore a vast array of skills beneficial for their academic journey and future careers.

Science

Popular

Science is a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. The major focus of the journal is publishing important original scientific research and research reviews, but Science also publishes science-related news, opinions on science policy and other matters of interest to scientists and others who are concerned with the wide implications of science and technology.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Black Life in America

New Trial

Ideal for supporting discussions and research around diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice, Black Life in America presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into over 300 years of African American history and illustrates the significant impacts African Americans have had on culture, the arts, science, politics, religion and more. Content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications, this unique digital archive, helps users gain multiple perspectives on the people, issues and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversation about race, equity and diversity.

Hispanic Life in America

New Trial

Hispanic history and American history are inextricably bound together. Hispanic Life in America is the single most comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. Replete with material unavailable elsewhere, this collection is sourced from more than 17,000 global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications, dating from 1704 to today. Combining deep historical content with current sources, Hispanic Life in America is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in examining the full spectrum of American history and culture.

History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century America, 1636-1880

New

ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection

New

Nurses now must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. Prepare your students to do that with our exclusive new collection, Nursing and Mental Health in Video.

PBS Video Collection

New Popular

ProQuest Black Studies

Trial

Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together ProQuest's award-winning Black Studies content into one destination for research, teaching, and learning purposes. This database combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies. Alongside the outstanding content in the database, ProQuest Black Studies includes easy to use functionality such as timelines, topic pages, and collection pages that allow students and researchers at all levels to easily navigate the database to find the sources they need.

Sage Skills

New Popular