Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Best Bets
Contains full text and indexing for more than 645 journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
Springer eJournal Collection
Covers mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Contains full text and indexing for most titles beginning in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title.
Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Applied Science and Technology Source
Contains trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Bioscience by
Call Number: Ref QH302.5.M378 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-23
Hundreds of well-illustrated articles explore the most important fields of science. The entries are supplemented by conversion tables, explanations of scientific, technical and mathematical notations as well as tables of statistical and historical interest.
Five Kingdoms by
Call Number: QH83.M36
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
Invasion Biology by
Call Number: QH353 .D38 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Invasion Biology provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the science of biological invasions while also offering new insights and perspectives relating to the processes of introduction, establishment, and spread. The book connects science with application by describing the health, economic, and ecological impacts of invasive species as well as the variety of management strategies developed to mitigate harmful impacts.The author critically evaluates the approaches, findings, and controversies that have characterized invasion biology in recent years, and suggests a variety of future research directions. Carefully balanced to avoid distincttaxonomic, ecosystem, and geographic (both investigator and species) biases, the book addresses a wide range of invasive species (including protists, invertebrates, vertebrates, fungi, and plants) which have been studied in marine, freshwater, and terrestrial environments throughout the world by investigators equally diverse in their origins.
The Making of the Fittest by
Call Number: QP624.C37 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-17
DNA is the genetic material that defines us as individuals. Over the last two decades, it has also emerged as a powerful tool for solving crimes and determining guilt and innocence. But, very recently, an important new attribute of DNA has been revealed-it contains a complete record of the past events that shaped each species. It is a record of evolution from the origin of life two billion years ago until now. In the pages of this highly readable book, leading researcher and science popularizer Sean B. Carroll welcomes us into the fascinating world of DNA and its role in evolution. His evidence points to the end of the rancorous, distracting debate over the validity of the theory of evolution. Evolution is a natural law, as unassailable as the theory of gravity.
Each 15 minute video program is a series of short, narrated, full-motion modules each describing an essential process of cell biology.
The Nature of Biology: An Introduction
Why study biology? What’s it all about? Why does it matter? This is the video that helps answer these common questions about biology. Images from the natural world reinforce the sense of wonder and excitement involved in studying life science. Interviews with science professionals help viewers appreciate the impact and value of biology in society. The program is organized around the general themes of biology: Diversity of Life, Heredity, Cells, Interdependence of Life, Flow of Matter and Energy, and Evolution of Life. Through exploring these themes, students gain an understanding of the principles and values of life science. An upbeat introduction to the study of the living environment. A great way to begin a class in the life sciences! A Cambridge Educational Production.
Cell Biology: Structure, Function, and Processes
They are the basic building blocks of life, but in reality there’s nothing “basic” about cells—the complex, versatile units of matter that make up all life on Earth. In this four-part video series, rich animation brings the intricate inner workings of cells to life, while a congenial host guides viewers through the essentials of cell biology: cell structure and function (of both animal and plant cells), cell metabolism and respiration, cell division and growth, and a focus on stem cells, cellular differentiation, genetics, and the potential that stem cells have for medical use. No-nonsense and to the point, each video is an arrangement of short, discrete segments that make this series ideal for breaking up lectures. 4-part series, 20–22 minutes each.
This program shows the various types of gene reproduction and examines the gene responsible for blood clotting. The production of coded proteins is clearly demonstrated. The processes of gel filtration, protein sequence analysis, isolation of mRNA, DNA synthesis and reproduction, production and screening of a DNA bank, and hybridization, along with other demonstrations, are re-created through highly sophisticated computer animation. (42 minutes)
What Is the Secret of Life? A History of Biology and Genetics
This program tells the story of how the secret of life has been pursued through the ages, using the prism of the most complex organism known—the human body. It begins with Galen’s attempts to save the lives of gladiators in ancient Rome, continues with the macabre dissections and near-perfect drawings of Leonardo da Vinci, explores the idea of electricity as a “life force,” and ventures into the microscopic realm of the cell. The film also connects a moral crisis triggered by work on the nuclear bomb with one of the greatest breakthroughs in biology—understanding the structure and workings of DNA. A BBC Production. Part of the series The History of Science. (50 minutes)
iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made. The aim is to let you meet the leading scientists in biology, so that you can find out how they think about scientific questions and conduct their research, and can get a sense of their personalities, opinions, and perspectives.
"The Inner Life of the Cell"
One of two remarkable biological animations by Harvard University.
"Mitochondria: The Cell's Powerhouse"
One of two remarkable biological animations from Harvard University.
Khan Academy: Biology
Supplemental or review materials. Covers fundamental topics needed for college biology courses.
one of the Internet's most popular science news web sites; best known for showcasing the top science news stories from the world's leading universities and research organizations.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Selected ebooks: Biology
King Solomon's Ring by
Publication Date: 2002-08-09
Solomon, the legend goes, had a magic ring which enabled him to speak to the animals in their own language. Konrad Lorenz was gifted with a similar power of understanding the animal world. He was that rare beast, a brilliant scientist who could write (and indeed draw) beautifully. He did more than any other person to establish and popularize the study of how animals behave, receiving a Nobel Prize for his work. King Solomon's Ring, the book which brought him worldwide recognition, is a delightful treasury of observations and insights into the lives of all sorts of creatures, from jackdaws and water-shrews to dogs, cats and even wolves. Charmingly illustrated by Lorenz himself, this book is a wonderfully written introduction to the world of our furred and feathered friends, a world which often provides an uncanny resemblance to our own. A must for any animal-lover!
Ecological Imperialism by
Call Number: GF50 C76 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-12
People of European descent form the bulk of the population in most of the temperate zones of the world - North America, Australia and New Zealand. The military successes of European imperialism are easy to explain; in many cases they were a matter of firearms against spears. But, as Alfred Crosby maintains in this highly original and fascinating book, the Europeans' displacement and replacement of the native peoples in the temperate zones was more a matter of biology than of military conquest. European organisms had certain decisive advantages over their New World and Australian counterparts. The spread of European disease, flora, and fauna went hand in hand with the growth of populations. Consequently, these imperialists became proprietors of the world's most important agricultural lands. Now in a second edition with a new preface, Crosby revisits his now-classic work and again evaluates the global historical importance of European ecological expansion.
On the Origin of Species 1859 by
Call Number: QH366.2 D379 2018
Publication Date: 1989-02-01
Charles Robert Darwin (1809-1882) has been widely recognized since his own time as one of the most influential writers in the history of Western thought. His books were widely read by specialists and the general public, and his influence had been extended by almost continuous public debate over the past 150 years. New York University Press's new paperback edition makes it possible to review Darwin's public literary output as a whole, plus his scientific journal articles, his private notebooks, and his correspondence. This is complete edition contains all of Darwin's published books, featuring definitive texts recording original pagination with Darwin's indexes retained. The set also features a general introduction and index, and introductions to each volume.
Evolution in Four Dimensions by
Call Number: QH366.2 J322 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
A pioneering proposal for a pluralistic extension of evolutionary theory, now updated to reflect the most recent research. This new edition of the widely read Evolution in Four Dimensions has been revised to reflect the spate of new discoveries in biology since the book was first published in 2005, offering corrections, an updated bibliography, and a substantial new chapter. Eva Jablonka and Marion Lamb's pioneering argument proposes that there is more to heredity than genes. They describe four "dimensions" in heredity-four inheritance systems that play a role in evolution- genetic, epigenetic (or non-DNA cellular transmission of traits), behavioral, and symbolic (transmission through language and other forms of symbolic communication). These systems, they argue, can all provide variations on which natural selection can act. Jablonka and Lamb present a richer, more complex view of evolution than that offered by the gene-based Modern Synthesis, arguing that induced and acquired changes also play a role. Their lucid and accessible text is accompanied by artist-physician Anna Zeligowski's lively drawings, which humorously and effectively illustrate the authors' points. Each chapter ends with a dialogue in which the authors refine their arguments against the vigorous skepticism of the fictional "I.M." (for Ipcha Mistabra-Aramaic for "the opposite conjecture"). The extensive new chapter, presented engagingly as a dialogue with I.M., updates the information on each of the four dimensions-with special attention to the epigenetic, where there has been an explosion of new research. Praise for the first edition "With courage and verve, and in a style accessible to general readers, Jablonka and Lamb lay out some of the exciting new pathways of Darwinian evolution that have been uncovered by contemporary research." -Evelyn Fox Keller, MIT, author of Making Sense of Life- Explaining Biological Development with Models, Metaphors, and Machines "In their beautifully written and impressively argued new book, Jablonka and Lamb show that the evidence from more than fifty years of molecular, behavioral and linguistic studies forces us to reevaluate our inherited understanding of evolution." -Oren Harman, The New Republic "It is not only an enjoyable read, replete with ideas and facts of interest but it does the most valuable thing a book can do-it makes you think and reexamine your premises and long-held conclusions." -Adam Wilkins, BioEssays
Call Number: QH75 W534 1984
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Biophilia is Edward O. Wilson's most personal book, an evocation of his own response to nature and an eloquent statement of the conservation ethic. Wilson argues that our natural affinity for life?biophilia?is the very essence of our humanity and binds us to all other living species.
Evolution's Rainbow by
Call Number: QH541.15.B56 R68 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-14
In this innovative celebration of diversity and affirmation of individuality in animals and humans, Joan Roughgarden challenges accepted wisdom about gender identity and sexual orientation. A distinguished evolutionary biologist, Roughgarden takes on the medical establishment, the Bible, social science--and even Darwin himself. She leads the reader through a fascinating discussion of diversity in gender and sexuality among fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals, including primates. Evolution's Rainbow explains how this diversity develops from the action of genes and hormones and how people come to differ from each other in all aspects of body and behavior. Roughgarden reconstructs primary science in light of feminist, gay, and transgender criticism and redefines our understanding of sex, gender, and sexuality. Witty, playful, and daring, this book will revolutionize our understanding of sexuality. Roughgarden argues that principal elements of Darwinian sexual selection theory are false and suggests a new theory that emphasizes social inclusion and control of access to resources and mating opportunity. She disputes a range of scientific and medical concepts, including Wilson's genetic determinism of behavior, evolutionary psychology, the existence of a gay gene, the role of parenting in determining gender identity, and Dawkins's "selfish gene" as the driver of natural selection. She dares social science to respect the agency and rationality of diverse people; shows that many cultures across the world and throughout history accommodate people we label today as lesbian, gay, and transgendered; and calls on the Christian religion to acknowledge the Bible's many passages endorsing diversity in gender and sexuality. Evolution's Rainbow concludes with bold recommendations for improving education in biology, psychology, and medicine; for democratizing genetic engineering and medical practice; and for building a public monument to affirm diversity as one of our nation's defining principles.
Power, Sex, Suicide by
Publication Date: 2018-12-25
Mitochondria are tiny structures located inside our cells that carry out the essential task of producing energy for the cell. They are found in all complex living things, and in that sense, they are fundamental for driving complex life on the planet. But there is much more to them than that.Mitochondria have their own DNA, with their own small collection of genes, separate from those in the cell nucleus. It is thought that they were once bacteria living independent lives. Their enslavement within the larger cell was a turning point in the evolution of life, enabling the development ofcomplex organisms and, closely related, the origin of two sexes. Unlike the DNA in the nucleus, mitochondrial DNA is passed down exclusively (or almost exclusively) via the female line. That's why it has been used by some researchers to trace human ancestry daughter-to-mother, to 'MitochondrialEve'. Mitochondria give us important information about our evolutionary history. And that's not all. Mitochondrial genes mutate much faster than those in the nucleus because of the free radicals produced in their energy-generating role. This high mutation rate lies behind our ageing and certaincongenital diseases. The latest research suggests that mitochondria play a key role in degenerative diseases such as cancer, through their involvement in precipitating cell suicide.Mitochondria, then, are pivotal in power, sex, and suicide. In this fascinating and thought-provoking book, Nick Lane brings together the latest research findings in this exciting field to show how our growing understanding of mitochondria is shedding light on how complex life evolved, why sex arose(why don't we just bud?), and why we age and die. This understanding is of fundamental importance, both in understanding how we and all other complex life came to be, but also in order to be able to control our own illnesses, and delay our degeneration and death.Oxford Landmark Science books are 'must-read' classics of modern science writing which have crystallized big ideas, and shaped the way we think.
Publication Date: 2000-11-23
In this classic work that continues to inspire its many readers, Jim Lovelock puts forward his idea that life on earth functions as a single organism. Written for non-scientists, Gaia is a journey through time and space in search of evidence with which to support a new and radically differentmodel of our planet. In contrast to conventional belief that living matter is passive in the face of threats to its existence, the book explores the hypothesis that the earth's living matter air, ocean, and land surfaces forms a complex system that has the capacity to keep the Earth a fit place forlife.Since Gaia was first published, many of Jim Lovelock's predictions have come true and his theory has become a hotly argued topic in scientific circles. In a new Preface to this reissued title, he outlines his present state of the debate.
Richard Dawkins: How a Scientist Changed the Way We Think by
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Published to coincide with the 30th anniversary of The Selfish Gene, this sparkling collection explores the impact of Richard Dawkins as scientist, rationalist, and one of the most important thinkers alive today.Specially commissioned pieces by leading figures in science, philosophy, literature, and the media, such as Daniel C. Dennett, Matt Ridley, Steven Pinker, Philip Pullman, and the Bishop of Oxford, highlight the breadth and range of Dawkins' influence on modern science and culture, from the gene'seye view of evolution to his energetic engagement in public debates on science, rationalism, and religion.This volume, which includes personal reminiscences and critical debate, as well as accessible discussions of science, is a stimulating tribute to a remarkable intellectual, written by some of the finest writers and scientists working today.
What Makes Biology Unique? by
Publication Date: 2004-08-09
This book, a collection of essays written by the most eminent evolutionary biologist of the twentieth century, explores biology as an autonomous science, offers insights on the history of evolutionary thought, critiques the contributions of philosophy to the science of biology, and comments on several of the major ongoing issues in evolutionary theory. Notably, Mayr explains that Darwin's theory of evolution is actually five separate theories, each with its own history, trajectory and impact. Natural selection is a separate idea from common descent, and from geographic speciation, and so on. A number of the perennial Darwinian controversies may well have been caused by the confounding of the five separate theories into a single composite. Those interested in evolutionary theory, or the philosophy and history of science will find useful ideas in this book, which should appeal to virtually anyone with a broad curiosity about biology.