Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science Libguide
Coding Literacy by
Call Number: LC149.5.L44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-28
How the theoretical tools of literacy help us understand programming in its historical, social and conceptual contexts. The message from educators, the tech community, and even politicians is clear: everyone should learn to code. To emphasize the universality and importance of computer programming, promoters of coding for everyone often invoke the concept of "literacy," drawing parallels between reading and writing code and reading and writing text. In this book, Annette Vee examines the coding-as-literacy analogy and argues that it can be an apt rhetorical frame. The theoretical tools of literacy help us understand programming beyond a technical level, and in its historical, social, and conceptual contexts. Viewing programming from the perspective of literacy and literacy from the perspective of programming, she argues, shifts our understandings of both. Computer programming becomes part of an array of communication skills important in everyday life, and literacy, augmented by programming, becomes more capacious. Vee examines the ways that programming is linked with literacy in coding literacy campaigns, considering the ideologies that accompany this coupling, and she looks at how both writing and programming encode and distribute information. She explores historical parallels between writing and programming, using the evolution of mass textual literacy to shed light on the trajectory of code from military and government infrastructure to large-scale businesses to personal use. Writing and coding were institutionalized, domesticated, and then established as a basis for literacy. Just as societies demonstrated a "literate mentality" regardless of the literate status of individuals, Vee argues, a "computational mentality" is now emerging even though coding is still a specialized skill.
Beyond Cybersecurity by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-04-03
Move beyond cybersecurity to take protection of your digital business to the next level Beyond Cybersecurity: Protecting Your Digital Business arms your company against devastating online security breaches by providing you with the information and guidance you need to avoid catastrophic data compromise. Based upon highly-regarded risk assessment analysis, this critical text is founded upon proprietary research, client experience, and interviews with over 200 executives, regulators, and security experts, offering you a well-rounded, thoroughly researched resource that presents its findings in an organized, approachable style. Members of the global economy have spent years and tens of billions of dollars fighting cyber threats--but attacks remain an immense concern in the world of online business. The threat of data compromise that can lead to the leak of important financial and personal details can make consumers suspicious of the digital economy, and cause a nosedive in their trust and confidence in online business models. Understand the critical issue of cyber-attacks, and how they are both a social and a business issue that could slow the pace of innovation while wreaking financial havoc Consider how step-change capability improvements can create more resilient organizations Discuss how increased collaboration within the cybersecurity industry could improve alignment on a broad range of policy issues Explore how the active engagement of top-level business and public leaders can achieve progress toward cyber-resiliency Beyond Cybersecurity: Protecting Your Digital Business is an essential resource for business leaders who want to protect their organizations against cyber-attacks.
The Black Art of Multiplatform Game Programming by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
THE BLACK ART OF MULTIPLATFORM GAME PROGRAMMING covers all the skills necessary to create amazing games. It will take you all the way from pixel plotting to full-blown game development. Written with beginners in mind, this book assumes no prior knowledge of game programming--anyone can learn how to program exciting video games using this book. Inside you'll find an introduction to game development on multiple platforms using SDL, extensive coverage of coding techniques used by programming gurus, a complete guide to game engine design and implementation, a modern approach to software architecture, and advanced programming procedures and optimizations. Downloadable files include all the source code used in this book, video tutorials for each chapter, standard tools used for game development, and the SDL standard development library.
Black Hat Python by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-12-21
When it comes to creating powerful and effective hacking tools, Python is the language of choice for most security analysts. But just how does the magic happen? In Black Hat Python, the latest from Justin Seitz (author of the best-selling Gray Hat Python), you ll explore the darker side of Python s capabilities writing network sniffers, manipulating packets, infecting virtual machines, creating stealthy trojans, and more. You ll learn how to: Create a trojan command-and-control using GitHub Detect sandboxing and automate com#65533;mon malware tasks, like keylogging and screenshotting Escalate Windows privileges with creative process control Use offensive memory forensics tricks to retrieve password hashes and inject shellcode into a virtual machine Extend the popular Burp Suite web-hacking tool Abuse Windows COM automation to perform a man-in-the-browser attack Exfiltrate data from a network most sneakily Insider techniques and creative challenges throughout show you how to extend th
Computer Science (Gale OneFile)
Contains full text articles and indexing for periodicals in the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries.
Applied Science and Technology Source
Contains trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.
Springer eJournal Collection
Covers mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Contains full text and indexing for most titles beginning in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Contains full text articles and indexing for more than 160 journals and a dozen full-text monographs. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Thanks in part to the documents released by Edward Snowden, the true scale of the National Security Agency's scope and power is coming to light. Besides spending billions to ingest and analyze the worlds' electronic communications, the NSA has set out to dominate a new battlefield - cyberspace. NOVA examines the science and technology behind cyber warfare and asks if we are already in the midst of a deadly new arms race. (53 minutes) Distributed by PBS Distribution.
A history of DARPA Inovation
Interactive timeline of over 60 years of history, technology, and innovation at DARPA.
Khan Academy Computing
Includes content interactive lessons in computer science, as well as basic code and advanced programming.
Bitsize Computer Science (BBC)
All about the fundamentals of computer science, including short overviews, video clips, and practice quizzes to help reinforce classroom learning.
General Search Tips
General Search Tips
- Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
- Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
- Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
- Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
- If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
- Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
- Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.