Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To Get You Started...
Guerilla Guide to Teaching by
Call Number: LB1025.3.C69 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-30
This utterly practical guide to the profession of teaching draws on the advice of professional in all areas of education. Sue Cowley provides a vivid insider's guide to the work of being a teacher in all its aspects - planning, teaching, assessment, technology, management, career progression and more. Illustrated throughout with checklists, real-life documents and soundbites from teachers at the chalkface.
10 Critical Components for Success in the Special Education Classroom by
Call Number: LC3969.45.R65 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-17
Your blueprint for building structure, consistency, and accountability year-round! This must-have guide provides special education teachers with a solid, workable action plan to manage the classroom and ensure student success. Learn instructional strategies to: Support all students with special needs,nbsp; including those with more severe disabilities Organize your classroom, materials, and staff and student schedules Plan and assess standards-based lessons, annual IEP's, behavioral interventions, and more Foster parent communication and staff collaboration Packed with real-world examples, free tools to use and share, a list of resources and a helpful glossary, this dynamic resource will inspire you, develop your teacher toolbox, and ensure your students are on the path to achievement!
Contains published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education), in addition to the ERIC index and database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.
Covers education related topics. Contains full text of from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, and citations and indexing of education periodicals as far back as 1983.
For breaking news, analysis, and opinion on K-12 education issues affecting school and district leaders, teachers, policymakers, and ed-tech professionals. Register for free access.
TEDTalks: Patricia Kuhl—The Linguistic Genius of Babies
At TEDxRainier, Patricia Kuhl shares astonishing findings about how babies learn one language over another: by listening to the humans around them and “taking statistics” on the sounds they need to know. Clever lab experiments (and brain scans) show how 6-month-old babies use sophisticated reasoning to understand their world.
Charter Schools Are Overrated: A Debate
Since 1991, when Minnesota passed the first charter school law, companies and individuals have established private schools using public funds. These private charter schools caught on across the country and have become a highly sought-after alternative to traditional public education, particularly for underserved students in urban areas. From 2004 to 2014 alone, charter school enrollment increased from less than 1 million to 2.5 million students. Many charter schools boast of high test scores, strict academic expectations, and above-average graduation rates. Their growth, supporters argue, is evidence of their success. But have these schools lived up to their promise? Opponents argue that charter schools, which are subject to fewer regulations and less oversight, lack accountability, take much-needed resources from public schools, and pick and choose their student body, thereby undermining public education. Are charter schools overrated
Florida Dept. of Education
Content includes certification options and standards, career planning and training, policy updates, and assessment standards.
U.S. Dept. of Education
For information about grants, student loans, changes is education policies and laws, as well fact sheets, research and statistical data.
CPALMS is the State of Florida’s official source for standards information and course descriptions.
General Search Tips
General Search Tips
- Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
- Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
- Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
- Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
- If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
- Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
- Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.