Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To Get You Started...
Florida Memory Project (State Library & Archives of Florida)
Contains over 25,000 reference records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.
Florida News Sources
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Offer broad subject coverage in a variety of subject areas.
Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Save our swamp! : Everglades in crisis by
Publication Date: 2000
This program examines the harm done to the Everglades by decades of exploitation and contamination. The impact of the sugar and orange industries, of flood control efforts, of Florida’s burgeoning population, and even of competing conservation initiatives are considered.
Cracker crazy : invisible histories of the Sunshine state by
Call Number: Audio Visual F311.C73 2007 Florida
Publication Date: 2007
Renegade filmmaker Georg Koszulinski takes on Florida's history from a decidedly different point of view. Blending archival and original footage, he brings to life a cast of historical characters spanning over 12,000 years, from Florida's ancient Indians to the migrant farm workers of the 21st century. Meet Osceola and the Seminoles, who fought alongside escaped slaves in the most costly Indian War in American History. Unmask Florida's Ku Klux Klan and don't forget about Walt Disney and Henry Flagler - perhaps the two characters most responsible for the Florida we know today.
The Swamp | American Experience | PBS
The history of the Everglades is a dramatic yet little known story of humanity’s attempt to conquer nature. The Swamp, told through the lives of a handful of colorful and resolute characters, explores the repeated efforts to reclaim, control and transform what was seen as a vast wasteland into an agricultural and urban paradise, and, ultimately, the drive to preserve America’s greatest wetland.
A HISTORY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA PODCAST
Explore the entire 50 episode series here. A History of Central Florida Podcast is a podcast series that examines the history of central Florida through local area objects found in museums, historical organizations and other places.
State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory, http://floridamemory.com/items/show/163787
A verbatim publication of the general and special laws enacted by the Florida Legislature in a given year and published each year following the regular session of the legislature.
Official website for the Florida Senate
The official portal for Florida government and services
Official website of the Florida Legislature
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
The lead agency for environmental management and stewardship, is one of the more diverse agencies in state government - protecting our air, water and land. DEP is divided into three primary areas: Regulatory Programs, Land and Recreation, and Water Policy and Ecosystem Restoration
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
The Division of Consumer Services is the state’s clearinghouse for consumer complaints, information and protection.
Population and Demographics Data
Details population estimates for Florida's counties and municipalities. The data is prepared and paid for by the Florida Legislature through a contract with the University of Florida.
Find Books, E-books, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Looking for more Tips and Tricks of what you can do? Check our Primo Guide
Florida Open Academic Library