Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Culture of Florida
Art in Florida: 1564-1945 by
Call Number: Oversize N6530.F6 M36 1999 Florida
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
This authoritative and wide-ranging book presents for the first time the history of Art in Florida from the first European artist, Jacques Le Moyne de Morgues, who arrived in 1564, until the end of the Second World War, when Art in Florida exploded into the modern forms and styles. Collected here are 160 illustrations of Florida art, 100 in color. The illustrated paintings were gathered from public and private collections all over the country, many reproduced here for the first time.
A Culinary History of Florida by
Call Number: GT2853.U5H37 2014 Florida
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
From the very first prickly pears harvested by Paleo-Indians more than twelve thousand years ago to the Seminole tribe's staple dish of sofkee, Florida's culinary history is as diverse as its geography. Italian, French, Creole, Spanish, Cuban, Greek, Mexican, Minorcan and Caribbean influences season southern, soul and Cracker foods to make up Florida's eclectic flavors. Learn how Florida orange juice changed the look of the American breakfast table and discover the state's festival-worthy swamp cabbage. Through syllabubs, perloos, frog legs and Tupelo honey, author Joy Sheffield Harris serves up a delectable helping of five hundred years of Florida cuisine--all with a side of key lime pie, of course.
Pirates and buried treasure on Florida islands, including the Gasparilla story by
Call Number: F311.6 .B37 1964 Florida
Publication Date: 1964
While on a cruise to Havana in 1911, Beater heard part of the Gasparilla story. That piqued an interest that persisted for fifty years, as he pored over old books and records and talked endlessly to early settlers to hear more hand-me-down yarns. This book recounts some of his best tall tales.
Sunshine in the Dark by
Call Number: PN1993.5.U73 F47 2006 Florida
Publication Date: 2006-09-24
Florida has been the location and subject of hundreds of feature films, from Cocoanuts (1929) to Monster (2004). Portraying the state and its people from the silent era to the present, these films have explored the multitude of Florida images and clichés that have captured the public's imagination--a nature lover's paradise, a wildlife refuge, a tourist destination, home to the "cracker," and a haven for the retired, the rich, the immigrant, and the criminal. Sunshine in the Dark is the first complete study of how the movie industry has immortalized Florida's extraordinary scenery, characters, and history on celluloid. Historians Fernández and Ingalls have identified more than 300 films about Florida--many of them shot on location in the state--to analyze how filmmakers from the Marx Brothers and John Huston to Oliver Stone and Francis Ford Coppola have portrayed the state and its people.
Edison in Florida: the Green Laboratory by
Call Number: TK140.E3 T55 1997 Florida
Publication Date: 1997-09-18
In 1885, America's greatest inventor, the "wizard" of electricity and Yankee industrialization, established a second home in Florida. Unlike the many wealthy turn-of-the century vacationers who descended on Florida's tourist cities to unwind and escape, Thomas Edison chose a "cow town" in the Florida outback. In the mid-1880s, he built a modest house and a laboratory under the palm trees of Fort Myers, and this "green laboratory" became a quiet wellspring of invention for the next forty years. In this first book devoted to Edison's life and work in Fort Myers, Thulesius reveals Edison the nature lover and medicine man. He traces Edison's first trips to Florida for simple health reasons and then follows Edison's expanding interest in the natural world, his camping trips with John Burroughs, his opposition to the exotic bird trade for the millinery business, his fascination with sponges, and his late experiments with hybridization of rubber and goldenrod. Thulesius also explores the relationship with Fort Myers neighbor Henry Ford, the visits from Henry Firestone, and the joint founding of the Edison Botanic Research Company of Ft. Myers. Thulesius's background affords him insight into the medical history of the Edison family, and he traces Edison's lifelong interest in medical issues, his development of "polyform," experiments with X-rays, and cures for gout and yellow fever. What emerges is a new portrait of a brilliant, industrious personality whose imagination and insight were inspired by the natural world he discovered in Florida.
Baseball in Florida by
Call Number: GV863.F6 M33 1996 Florida
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
For sports buffs of all ages, here's a selection of books sure to generate interest in the Florida version of daring adventure sports, kayaking, surfing, cycling, and baseball.This history of Florida baseball includes major leagues, spring training, minor leagues, college and high school ball, the Negro leagues, women's teams, baseball camps, even movies and novels about baseball. -- The Florida State League attracted more than 1,000,000 fans in 1994 -- Twenty-two of the 28 major league teams hold spring training in Florida -- The first women's baseball teams were called the Bloomer Girls.
Key West on the Edge: inventing the Conch Republic by
Call Number: F319.K4K383 2012 Florida
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Neither Florida nor Cuba; neither American nor Caribbean "Key West is an island steeped in lore, from Hemingway to Fantasy Fest, but behind the façade of Margaritaville lie buried tensions and conflicts in need of examination. Kerstein provides a much-needed dose of reality in the form of a masterfully researched study of the island's tourism industry, from the shadowy power brokers who pull the strings to the underpaid workers who serve the drinks. From seedy bars to trendy discos, Kerstein has managed to capture the improbable mixture of this strange island, while offering a cautionary tale of tourism run amok."--Robert Lee Irby, author of 7,000 Clams
The WPA Guides: Mapping America by
Call Number: E175.4 .B65 1999
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
In The WPA Guides: Mapping America Christine Bold closely examines this publicized view of the guides and reveals its flaws. Her research in archival materials reveals the negotiations and conflicts between the central editors in Washington and the local people in the states. Race, region, and gender are taken as important categories within which difference and conflict appear. She looks at the guidebook for each of five distinctively different locations -- Idaho, New York City, North Carolina, Missouri, and U.S. One and the Oregon Trail--to assess the editorial plotting of such issues as gender, race, ethnicity, and class. As regionalists jostled with federal officialdom, the faultlines of the project gaped open. Spotlighting the controversies between federal and state bureaucracies, Bold concludes that the image of America that the WPA fostered is closer to fabrication than to actuality.
Cowboys on Mr. Burt's Spring Garden Ranch - De Leon Springs, Florida. 1917. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/33824
Florida Memory Project (State Library & Archives of Florida)
Contains over 25,000 reference records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.
Florida News Sources
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Biography (Gale In Context)
Offers biographical data through periodicals and multimedia . Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Forum: The Magazine of the Florida Humanities Council
FORUM offers lively, insightful looks at the Florida people, events, and ideas that shaped our past, affect our present, and influence our future. Each colorful, beautifully illustrated issue offers historical and cultural perspectives that help provide context to life in Florida today. To search, use the "search this collection" search box.
Florida Historical Quarterly
The academic journal of the Florida Historical Society promotes scholarly research and appreciation for the peoples, places, themes, and diversity of Florida's past. Archives are from 1908 through 2007.
Patrick Smith's Florida : a sense of place. by
Call Number: Audio Visual -- PS3569.M53785P3 2005 Florida
Publication Date: 2005
Learn about a "Florida Cracker" heritage upon which A Land Remembered is based. Find out how working in a migrant camp led to his novel Angel City. Visit the Seminole Indians who have a unique respect for nature.
Cracker Crazy by
Call Number: Audio Visual F311 .C73 2007 Florida
Publication Date: 2007
Renegade filmmaker Georg Koszulinski takes on Florida's history from a decidedly different point of view. Blending archival and original footage, he brings to life a cast of historical characters spanning over 12,000 years, from Florida's ancient Indians to the migrant farm workers of the 21st century. Meet Osceola and the Seminoles, who fought alongside escaped slaves in the most costly Indian War in American History. Unmask Florida's Ku Klux Klan and don't forget about Walt Disney and Henry Flagler - perhaps the two characters most responsible for the Florida we know today.
State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory, http://floridamemory.com/items/show/163458
The Florida Historical Society
Established in 1856, the Florida Historical Society is dedicated to preserving Florida's past through the collection and archival maintenance of historical documents and photographs, the publication of scholarly research on Florida history, and educating the public about Florida history through a variety of public history projects and programs. We maintain an extensive archive at the Library of Florida History, publish the Florida Historical Quarterly and books through the Florida Historical Society Press, manage the Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens, and operate the Florida Historical Society Archaeological Institute at the Brevard Museum of History and Natural Science. We produce "Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Radio Magazine of the Florida Historical Society" and documentaries for public television.
Florida Heritage Collection (PALMM)
The Florida Heritage Collection is an ongoing cooperative project of the State University System (SUS) of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests. Materials are taken from archives, special collections, and libraries of the eleven state universities which make up the SUS. These materials represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the SUS libraries.
Florida Memory Project: WPA Stories
The stories presented here were created by writers working for the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Project Administration (WPA) in Florida. These writings present a variety of subject matter, from folk stories and nature writings to scientific research and Florida history, in mostly short pieces intended for use in Florida classrooms.
Catalog Quick Search
Find Books and E-books, Videos, Articles, Digital Media, and More