Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Healthcare in Florida
Healing Plants: medicine of the Florida Seminole Indians by
Call Number: E99.S28 S66 2001 Florida
Publication Date: 2001-06-30
Medicine of the Florida Seminole Indians Alice Micco Snow & Susan Enns Stans "Seminole medicine men & women call upon people who have a special knowledge of certain plants, roots, barks, & other items that need to be collected for the medicine they make. Alice Snow belongs to the very special small group of people who have this knowledge. It is with honor that I have known & worked with Alice for many years, & have seen how her endeavor to pass her knowledge to others will continue through the generations.
Florida Disasters by
Call Number: F311.6.W749 2017 Florida
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Chapter 3: Disease Spreads Like Fire: The Yellow Fever Epidemic (1888)
Florida Civil War Blockades by
Call Number: E600.W96 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-05
Includes Wynne's chapter "The blockade runners' friend: yellow fever".
Florida in the Spanish American War by
Call Number: E726.F6 K64 2011 Florida
Publication Date: 2011-02-11
Includes Chapter 9: Sanitation, soldiers and science which discusses the problems troops encountered with diseases and proper medical care.
Hard Labor and Hard Time by
Call Number: HV9475.F6 M56 2012 Florida
Publication Date: 2012-08-12
Hard Labor and Hard Time is a history of continuity and change in Florida's state prison system between 1910 and 1957, exploring conditions at the state prison farm at Raiford (the third largest prison farm in the South at this time) as well as in the chain gangs and road prisons.
*Chapter 8: Prison health care
Pox Americana by
Call Number: Desoto Circulation -- RC183.49.F46 2001
Publication Date: 2001-10-20
During the years when the Revolutionary War transformed thirteen former British colonies into a new nation, a horrifying epidemic of smallpox was transforming - or ending - the lives of tens of thousands of people across the American continent. This great pestilence easily surpassed the war in terms of deaths, yet because of our understandable preoccupation with the Revolution and its aftermath, it has remained virtually unknown to us. Elizabeth A. Fenn is the first historian to reveal how deeply Variola affected the outcome of the War of Independence, and why it caused a continental epidemic, affecting the lives of virtually everyone in North America from Florida to Alaska.
Epidemic Invasions by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-11-15
In the early fall of 1897, yellow fever shuttered businesses, paralyzed trade, and caused tens of thousand of people living in the southern United States to abandon their homes and flee for their lives. Originating in Cuba, the deadly plague inspired disease-control measures that not only protected U.S. trade interests but also justified the political and economic domination of the island nation from which the pestilence came. By focusing on yellow fever, "Epidemic Invasions" uncovers for the first time how the devastating power of this virus profoundly shaped the relationship between the two countries. Yellow fever in Cuba, Mariola Espinosa demonstrates, motivated the United States to declare war against Spain in 1898, and, after the war was won and the disease eradicated, the United States demanded that Cuba pledge in its new constitution to maintain the sanitation standards established during the occupation. By situating the history of the fight against yellow fever within its political, military, and economic context, Espinosa reveals that the U.S. program of sanitation and disease control in Cuba was not a charitable endeavor. Instead, she shows that it was an exercise in colonial public health that served to eliminate threats to the continued expansion of U.S. influence in the world.
Mosquito Soldiers by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Of the 620,000 soldiers who perished during the American Civil War, the overwhelming majority died not from gunshot wounds or saber cuts, but from disease. And of the various maladies that plagued both armies, few were more pervasive than malaria -- a mosquito-borne illness that afflicted over 1.1 million soldiers serving in the Union army alone. Yellow fever, another disease transmitted by mosquitos, struck fear into the hearts of military planners who knew that "yellow jack" could wipe out an entire army in a matter of weeks. In this ground-breaking medical history, Andrew McIlwaine Bell explores the impact of these two terrifying mosquito-borne maladies on the major political and military events of the 1860s, revealing how deadly microorganisms carried by a tiny insect helped shape the course of the Civil War.
"Physicians and Medicine in Early Jacksonville” by Webster Merritt
Florida Historical Quarterly, April 1946, Vol. 24, no. 4, pp. 266–286.
Nursing and Health Care in Jacksonville, Florida, 1900-1930 (dissertation)
"This study examines the development of nursing as a vocation, in the early twentieth century, within the context of a growing southern city and an evolving health care system. Nursing advanced from a domestic service to a recognized vocation during this era. An extensive survey of historical and nursing literature revealed few studies which focus on nursing and health care in an urban context. Those studies identified gave only brief glimpses of nurses and focus on northern cities. This investigation aims to add a southern chapter to the history of nursing and health care in urban settings."
Florida Memory Blog: Step Aboard for the Gospel of Good Health!
Formatted much like an online exhibit, the author of this series of blogs includes documents from the State Archives to showcase the history of Florida’s Educational Health Exhibit Train.
Public Health in Florida
Public health has played a role in Florida’s history since before statehood. This guide from the State Library of Florida explores public health in Florida history and in modern times. Links within the bibliographies take you to information in [the State Library's] catalog or to more information on external sites.
Pestilence, Potions, and Persistence Early Florida Medicine
This exhibit includes documents, photographs, and publications from the collections of the State Library and Archives highlighting the role of health and wellness in the lives of Florida's citizens and in the development of the state. Documents included in the exhibit range from descriptions of the health effects of travel in the new territory from some of Tallahassee's first citizens, to recollections of midwives who worked during the 1930s.
Florida Memory Blog: The Tyranny of Patent Medicines (blog)
Discussion of Florida's history with the lucrative business of peddling potions and medicinal remedies.
History of Florida Public Health
Provides information about and links to the Florida Public Health Oral History Project, 125th Anniversary of Public Health in Florida, and 100 Years of Public Health in Florida.
Catalog Quick Search
Find Books and E-books, Videos, Articles, Digital Media, and More