Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Larousse Encyclopedia of Ancient and Medieval History by
Call Number: Reference Oversize D59.H553
Publication Date: 1963
This text covers early people and civilizations, the rise and fall of empires, the expansion of Europe through the 15th century including an introduction to Pre-Columbian peoples.
Sumer and the Sumerians by
Call Number: DS72 .C73 1991
Publication Date: 1991-04-26
Mesopotamia produced one of the best-known ancient civilizations, with a literate, urban culture and highly-developed political institutions. Writing primarily for a non-specialist audience but drawing on the most up-to-date historical and archaeological sources, Harriet Crawford reviews the extraordinary social and technological developments in the region over a period of two millennia, from 3800 to 2000 BC. She describes the physical environment and discusses architecture, trade and industry, the development of writing, and changes in social and political structures. The final chapter examines the shift in power during this period from the 'temple' to the 'palace'.
Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient near East by
Call Number: Ref. Oversize -- DS69.5.R63 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Beginning with a description of the physical changes that occurred in the region following the last Ice Age, and their influence on patterns of settlement, the atlas tells the story of the cultural, technological, political and economic achievements of the different peoples, races and tribes who occupied the area in the course of nearly 12,000 years. From the early nomads, it charts the growth of the warring city states, through the rise of Babylon and Assyria, and culminating in the mighty Persian empire of Darius and its destruction by Alexander the Great in 330 BC.
Gods, Demons and Symbols of Ancient Mesopotamia by
Call Number: BL2350 .I7 B57 1992b
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Ancient Mesopotamia was a rich, varied and highly complex culture whose achievements included the invention of writing and the development of sophisticated urban society. This book offers an introductory guide to the beliefs and customs of the ancient Mesopotamians, as revealed in their art and their writings between about 3000 B.C. and the advent of the Christian era. Gods, goddesses, demons, monsters, magic, myths, religious symbolism, ritual, and the spiritual world are all discussed in alphabetical entries ranging from short accounts to extended essays. Names are given in both their Sumerian and Akkadian forms, and all entries are fully cross-referenced. A useful introduction provides historical and geographical background and describes the sources of our knowledge about the religion, mythology and magic of "the cradle of civilisation".
The Tourists Gaze, the Cretans Glance by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007-08-15
As researchers bring their analytic skills to bear on contemporary archaeological tourism, they find that it is as much about the present as the past. Philip Duke's study of tourists gazing at the remains of Bronze Age Crete highlights this nexus between past and present, between exotic and mundane. Using personal diaries, ethnographic interviews, site guidebooks, and tourist brochures, Duke helps us understand the impact that archaeological sites, museums and the constructed past have on tourists' view of their own culture, how it legitimizes class inequality at home as well as on the island of Crete, both Minoan and modern.
A History of Ancient Egypt by
Call Number: DT83 .R66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
The first volume of a history of the earliest days of ancient Egypt challenges popular archaeological understandings to chronicle the ancient world's first agricultural practices through the construction of the pyramids.
Ancient Greece and Rome: an encyclopedia for students by
Call Number: REF DE5 .A57 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
Presenting the history, mythology and culture of the great civilizations of Greece and Rome, this work covers such areas as philosophy, technology, literature and art.
The Titans and Olympians by
Call Number: BL722.A44 1997x
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
A dramatic series that captures, culture by culture, the information that never makes it into the history books: strange stories, mystic rites, angry gods, vision quests.
Daily life of the ancient Greeks by
Call Number: DF78.G276 1998
Publication Date: 1998-08-27
Ancient Greece comes alive in this recreation of the daily lives of ordinary people - men and women, children and the elderly, slaves and foreigners, rich and poor. Taking account of the most up-to-date discoveries, the author provides a wealth of information on such varied facets of Greek life as food and drink, dress, housing, literacy, juvenile delinquency, the plight of the elderly, the treatment of slaves, and much more. Readers can gain an in-depth understanding of what it was like to live in one of the greatest eras of human history. Garland provides answers to such questions as: What were the Ancient Greeks' attitudes toward foreigners? What was their life expectancy? How were women treated? Passages from ancient authors enhance the text of this reference work.
Athletries: the untold history of ancient Greek women athletes by
Call Number: GV21.R44 2002
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
From women bull-jumping in Minoan Crete and ancient Sparta -- where girls wrestled in the nude alongside boys -- to women competing in full armour in chariot races, this book presents ancient women as much more than sisters, wives, and mothers. Focusing on an area that has long been dominated by men, this book documents women's participation in the ancient Greek world of sports in an effort to reconstruct and present a full and equitable picture of women in history as capable, independent thinkers and valuable contributors to ancient Greek society. Included is a complete list gathered from ancient texts, inscriptions, art, and artefacts of women winners and the festivals and events in which they were victorious.
The Peloponnesian War by
Call Number: DF229 .K34 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-12
The classical scholar takes a new look at the war between Athens and Sparta, examining the conflict that devastated Ancient Greece in the fifth century B.C.
The Histories by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
"The father of history," as Cicero called him, and a writer possessed of remarkable narrative gifts, enormous scope, and considerable charm, Herodotus has always been beloved by readers well-versed in the classics. Compelled by his desire to "prevent the traces of human events from being erased by time," Herotodus recounts the incidents preceding and following the Persian Wars. He gives us much more than military history, though, providing the fullest portrait of the classical world of the 5th and 6th centuries.
The Romans: from village to empire by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
ntroduces ancient Rome offering a concise understanding of its political, social, and cultural history. This book traces Rome's remarkable evolution from monarchy, to republic, to one-man rule by an emperor whose power stretched from Scotland to Iraq, and far up the Nile valley.
Persians: maters of empire by
Call Number: DS261 .P47 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Explores ancient Persia, using the finds of archaeologists and other scientists to bring the people and culture of ancient Persia to life.
God Against the Gods by
Call Number: BL221.K57 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-25
This is the epic story of how classical paganism, with its tolerance for many deities and beliefs, lost a centuries-long struggle with monotheism and its chauvinistic insistence on belief in one God. With his trademark blend of wit and scholarship, Kirsch traces the war of God against the gods from its roots in Ancient Egypt to its climax during the last stand of paganism the tumultuous fourth century, when two passionate, charismatic, and revolutionary Roman emperors, the Christian Constantine and the pagan Julian, changed the course of history and shaped the world we live in today.
Alexander the Great: Themes and Issues by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-06-06
Alexander the Great's life and career are here examined through the major issues surrounding his reign. What were Alexander's ultimate ambitions? Why did he pursue his own deification while alive? How did he administer his conquests? Did he actually set the world in 'a new groove' as has been claimed by some scholars? Each of the key themes, arranged as chapters, will be presented in approximately chronological order so that readers unfamiliar with the life of Alexander will be able to follow the narrative. The themes are tied to the major controversies and questions surrounding Alexander's career and legacy. Each chapter includes a discussion of the major academic positions on each issue, and includes a full and up-to-date bibliography and an evaluation of the historical evidence. All source material is in translation. Designed to bring new clarity to the contentious history of Alexander the Great, this is an ideal introduction to one of history's most controversial figures.
Celtic Myths by
Call Number: BL900.G729 1995
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Celtic Myths explores the mythology and beliefs of the pagan Celts between about 600 B.C. and A.D. 400. At their peak, the Celtic peoples inhabited a vast area of Europe, Great Britain, and Ireland. As non-literates, they have left no written record of their lives, their beliefs, and the stories which were such an important part of their culture; however, contemporary commentators from the Classical world, later Christian scribes recording oral traditions, and the archaeological evidence can give us fascinating, though fragmented, glimpses. Dr. Green draws on all these sources to discuss the myths and the religious beliefs and ritual which she believes inform them. The heroic and magical tales of the Book of Invasions, the Fionn stories, the Ulster Cycle, and the Mabinogi are the subject of the first chapters. These stirring stories, though recorded in medieval times by Christian writers, preserve fascinating evidence of their pagan origins. Dr. Green then goes on to look at the evidence for Celtic religious beliefs and raises some interesting questions as to how far we can establish links and recognize common features between the story material and the archaeological record.
The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt by
Call Number: DT68.8 .W55 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
The temples of ancient Egypt include the largest and perhaps most impressive religious monuments the world has ever known. This book traces their development from the earliest times, looking at every aspect of their construction, decoration, symbolism and function.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion and theology.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers religion and philosophy topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers world history topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Origins of great ancient civilizations : pt. 1 by
Call Number: Audio Visual DS62.2 .O75 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Professor Harl begins during the Bronze Age and the emergence of urban-based literate civilizations and carries the story forward until the demise of Persia's great empire at the hands of the Greeks, who embraced many of the achievements of these Near East civilizations but clearly represented a different kind of civilization, built on different institutions. Along the way, he examines advances like the invention and evolution of writing; the development of vast empires dependent not only on military might but on laws and administration; the growth of trade; and the contributions of the Hebrews to the religious and ethical future of Western civilization.
Mesopotamia: I have conquered the river by
Call Number: Audio Visual CB311 .M47 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Literally "the land between the rivers," Mesopotamia was host to some of the worlds earliest and most powerful civilizations. Shot on location, this program seeks to understand how the Sumerian city-states, cradled by the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers, built a vibrant agricultural economy and why, after centuries, the wheat crop suddenly failed.
Carthage and the Phoenicians
Call Number: Audio Visual DS81 .C37 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Archaeological evidence has shown that the Phoenician civilization began to develop around 3000 BC and that it was trading with the Egyptians shortly after that. But it wasn't until about 1200 BC that the Phoenicians began to establish the great commercial empire that has made them celebrated. Their ships, equipped for both commerce and war, dominated the Mediterranean; some say that they sailed as far as Britain and may have even voyaged all the way around Africa.
Call Number: Audio Visual DF221 .M9 M93 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Mycenaeans' legends and deeds became the subjects of the finest works of literature to be handed down from antiquity, Homer's Iliad and Odyssey, and the dramas of the great Greek playwrights. In addition, archaeologists have unearthed the remains of the great fortified cities of the Mycenaeans. Viewers will see an age of powerful military dynasties that ruled large areas of land, conducted trade, and established industries. Their influence reached as far as Egypt and Sicily.
Roman City by
Call Number: Audio Visual TA80 .R6 R65 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The glories of Ancient Rome are explored in ROMAN CITY, based on David Macaulay's acclaimed book. This animated and live-action video recounts life in Verbonia, a fictional city in Gaul. A well-planned town with all modern conveniences, it is threatened by conflict between conquerors and conquered. Macaulay also visits Pompeii, Herculaneum, Ostia, Nimes, Orange, and Rome, to view actual Roman architecture and engineering greatness.
Great ancient civilizations of Asia Minor by
Call Number: Audio Visual DR431 .H37 2001d
Publication Date: 2001
Twenty-four lectures on the history of Asia Minor, from its origins as a civilization in Anatolia to the Ottoman Empire.
Call Number: Audio Visual DT63 .P9 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Explore the process of building an ancient Egyptian pyramid and visit various historic sites and rare artifacts, including the mummy of Ramses II.
Byzantium: The Lost Empire by
Call Number: Audio Visual DR 481. B99 2007
Publication Date: 2007
For more than 1,000 years, the Byzantine Empire was the eye of the entire world. The origin of great literature, fine art, and modern government, it was also the first Christian empire. Pass through the gates of Constantinople, explore the magnificent mosque of Hagia Sophia and see the looted treasures of the empire now located in St. Marks, Venice.
BBC Ancient History
Sections cover prehistory and archaeology to ancient civilizations and empires with topics from monuments and construction to daily life and language. Includes extensive photo galleries, multimedia content, and links to additional source material. Courtesy of BBC.
Fordham's Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
A comprehensive collection of links to references, full-text primary sources, audio files, and film on Ancient history. Courtesy of Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
Virtual Tour of the Oriental Institute Museum
"The Oriental Institute Museum is a showcase of the history, art, and archaeology of the ancient Near East. An integral part of the University of Chicago's Oriental Institute, the Museum displays objects recovered by Oriental Institute excavations in permanent galleries devoted to ancient Egypt, Nubia, Persia, Mesopotamia, Syria, Anatolia, and the ancient site of Megiddo, as well as rotating special exhibits. This tour provides viewers a chance to preview our galleries and includes a number of archival images of highlighted objects from our collections."
USHistory.org - Ancient Civilizations
Covers topics in Ancient Civilizations. Each section also includes links to primary source documents, audio and video content, and additional online references. Sponsored by the Independence Hall Association.
Find Books, E-books, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Looking for more Tips and Tricks of what you can do? Check our Primo Guide