Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We suggest using the recommended databases first, but Google Scholar can offer additional sources.
General Subject Databases
Offer broad subject coverage in a variety of subject areas.
Academic Search Complete
Covers most fields. Contains full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and abstracts.
Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Florida Specific Databases
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War
Contains archival digital collections including nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Contains full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2007.
History Reference Center
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.