Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature: Short Stories A-L

Short Stories Currently Available by Title or Genre

Need a Little Help?

"A & P" by John Updike


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Araby" by James Joyce


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Barn Burning" by William Faulkner


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Birth-Mark" by Nathaniel Hawthorne


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Boys and Girls" by Alice Munro


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Brownies" by ZZ Packer


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Cathedral" by Raymond Carver


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"A Clean, Well-Lighted Place" by Ernest Hemingway


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Death of a Naturalist" by Seamus Heaney


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Deep River" by Bessie Head


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Death Constant Beyond Love" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

"Everyday Use" by Alice Walker


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Gift of the Magi" by O. Henry


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Girl" by Jamaica Kincaid


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"A Good Man is Hard to Find" by Flannery O'Connor


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Greasy Lake" by T. Coraghessan Boyle


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Grasshopper and the Bell Cricket" by Kawabata Yasunari

"Happy Endings" by Margaret Atwood

"Harrison Bergeron" by Kurt Vonnegut


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Hills Like White Elephants" by Ernest Hemingway


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Izu Dancer" or "The Dancing Girl of Izu" by Ysasunari Kawabata


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Jilting of Granny Weatherall" by Katherine Anne Porter


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Lady with the Dog" by Anton Chekhov

Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"The Lottery" by Shirley Jackson


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.

"Love Medicine" by Louise Erdrich


Looking for more critical articles? Start with a quick catalog search below, or try one of our literature databases.