Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oral Communications Best Bets
Description: Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Contains subject based reports on issues ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Reports include charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also offers access to the archive of Editorial Research Reports.
Florida News Sources
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
New York Times - Current (Gale General OneFile)
Covers January 1, 1985 Current issues of the New York Times. Contains national and international news, opinion and commentary. Also includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Contains full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times, covering the period from 1851-2007.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Covers information on social issues and controversies. Contains continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
TED Talks by
Call Number: PN4129.15.A53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
A New York Times Bestseller For anyone who has ever been inspired by a TED talk... ...this is an insider's guide to creating talks that are unforgettable. Since taking over TED in the early 2000s, Chris Anderson has shown how carefully crafted short talks can be the key to unlocking empathy, stirring excitement, spreading knowledge, and promoting a shared dream. Done right, a talk can electrify a room and transform an audience's worldview. Done right, a talk is more powerful than anything in written form. This book explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot. There is no set formula; no two talks should be the same. The goal is for you to give the talk that only you can give. But don't be intimidated. You may find it more natural than you think. Chris Anderson has worked behind the scenes with all the TED speakers who have inspired us the most, and here he shares insights from such favorites as Sir Ken Robinson, Amy Cuddy, Bill Gates, Elizabeth Gilbert, Salman Khan, Dan Gilbert, Mary Roach, Matt Ridley, and dozens more -- everything from how to craft your talk's content to how you can be most effective on stage. This is the 21st-century's new manual for truly effective communication and it is a must-read for anyone who is ready to create impact with their ideas.
Talk Like TED by
Call Number: HF5718.22.G353 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Ideas are the currency of the twenty-first century. In order to succeed, you need to be able to sell your ideas persuasively. This ability is the single greatest skill that will help you accomplish your dreams. Many people have a fear of public speaking or are insecure about their ability to give a successful presentation. Now public speaking coach and bestselling author Carmine Gallo explores what makes a great presentation by examining the widely acclaimed TED Talks, which have redefined the elements of a successful presentation and become the gold standard for public speaking. TED ? which stands for technology, entertainment, and design ? brings together the world's leading thinkers. These are the presentations that set the world on fire, and the techniques that top TED speakers use will make any presentation more dynamic, fire up any team, and give anyone the confidence to overcome their fear of public speaking. In his book, Carmine Gallo has broken down hundreds of TED talks and interviewed the most popular TED presenters, as well as the top researchers in the fields of psychology, communications, and neuroscience to reveal the nine secrets of all successful TED presentations. Gallo's step-by-step method makes it possible for anyone to deliver a presentation that is engaging, persuasive, and memorable. Carmine Gallo's top 10Wall Street Journal BestsellerTalk Like TED will give anyone who is insecure about their public speaking abilities the tools to communicate the ideas that matter most to them, the skill to win over hearts and minds, and the confidence to deliver the talk of their lives. The opinions expressed by Carmine Gallo in TALK LIKE TED are his own. His book is not endorsed, sponsored or authorized by TED Conferences, LLC or its affiliates.
The Francis Effect by
Call Number: HF5718.22.F46 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-24
Provides all the tools readers need to overcome anxiety and become willing, confident, successful speakers. Step-by-step instructions show how to eliminate dry mouth, sweaty palms, and shaking knees and never again worry about forgetting what to say. Also covers how to quickly and thoroughly prepare for any talk, persuade and motivate any audience, and handle even tough questions with confidence.
Smart Talk by
Call Number: PN4129.15 .M365 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
Have you ever lost out on a promotion? Struggled with a difficult conversation? Been put on the spot and blanked? Imagine if......you were better at persuading others and negotiating for what you want...you were more fluent at introducing yourself, making conversation, and following up...you were better at delivering feedback, receiving criticism, and using positive language...you were perceived as more diplomatic and charismatic.Smart Talk applies up-to-date communication research to everyday situations and gives smart, practical, step-by-step directions to achieve results. Smart Talk is no ordinary book - it's the Swiss Army Knife of communication - a comprehensive set of tools to build strong relationships and avoid communication breakdowns.With proven strategies and practical action plans, Smart Talk will help you resolve conflicts, strengthen your natural charisma, and master the art of persuasion. Never again will you dread a holiday party or be rendered speechless at a business meeting. Backed by solid research and written in an engaging narrative style with a warm sense of humor, communication expert Lisa B. Marshall translates her wealth of experience into practical, fresh advice to help you navigate any complex situation, and achieve professional success.
Public Speaking by
Call Number: Audio Visual -- PN4121.P83 2005
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Does the idea of speaking in front of an audience fill you with dread? Relax! the Standard Deviants will help you overcome your fear of public speaking and help you deliver your message with style and flair! Using proven attention-getters, illustrations and delivery suggestions, this DVD will help you organize your thoughts and present them in a clear and persuasive manner.
Fear of Public Speaking
Dana Bennett's phobia of public speaking is shared by many people. She attends a public speaking course where students must give 5 speeches in 3 weeks. Psychologists discuss the source of this particular fear.
Public Speaking—Informative and Persuasive Speeches
In this video, learn different strategies for writing and delivering two types of speeches: persuasive and informative. Though the speeches are similar in composition, tools like multimedia clips and emotional appeals are used in different ways to wow audiences.
Public Speaking: Principles of Public Speaking—Audience and Listening Skills
In this video, learn about listening skills that influence both the delivery and reception of speeches. Critical listening skills allow audiences to understand and analyze speeches, while audience feedback provides speakers with valuable information about the reception of material.
wide range of type of speeches and speech topics; some audio and visuals
features easy-to-understand tips and guides to help find a good informative speech topic and also improve public speaking skills through the stages of planning, preparation and execution.
My Speech Class
designed to help you with making a public speech: from selecting a topic, to writing and delivering
provides a wealth of information on controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan pro-con format.
Topics for Persuasive Speeches
lists of topics from the textbook in the Company of Others: An Introduction to Communication, 4th ed., by J. Dan Rothwell; published by Oxford University Press
10 Public Speaking Tips for Introverts
from the author of "Quiet: The Power of Introverts: How to Thrive in a World That Can't Stop Talking."
Toastmasters International is a non-profit educational organization that teaches public speaking and leadership skills through a worldwide network of meeting locations.
provides a wealth of information on beating the fear of public speaking, topics for different types of speeches, and how to actually deliver the speech.
General Search Tips
General Search Tips
- Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
- Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
- Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
- Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
- If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
- Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
- Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.