Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Disappearing Spoon by
Call Number: QD466 .K37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-12
From New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean comes incredible stories of science, history, finance, mythology, the arts, medicine, and more, as told by the Periodic Table. Why did Gandhi hate iodine (I, 53)? How did radium (Ra, 88) nearly ruin Marie Curie's reputation? And why is gallium (Ga, 31) the go-to element for laboratory pranksters?* The Periodic Table is a crowning scientific achievement, but it's also a treasure trove of adventure, betrayal, and obsession. These fascinating tales follow every element on the table as they play out their parts in human history, and in the lives of the (frequently) mad scientists who discovered them. THE DISAPPEARING SPOON masterfully fuses science with the classic lore of invention, investigation, and discovery--from the Big Bang through the end of time. *Though solid at room temperature, gallium is a moldable metal that melts at 84 degrees Fahrenheit. A classic science prank is to mold gallium spoons, serve them with tea, and watch guests recoil as their utensils disappear.
The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry by
Call Number: Graphic Novel QD37 .G625 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-03
If you have ever suspected that "heavy water" is the title of a bootleg Pink Floyd album, believed that surface tension is an anxiety disorder, or imagined that a noble gas is the result of a heavy meal at Buckingham Palace, then you need The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry to set you on the road to chemical literacy. You don't need to be a scientist to grasp these and many other complex ideas, because The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry explains them all: the history and basics of chemistry, atomic theory, combustion, solubility, reaction stoichiometry, the mole, entropy, and much more--all explained in simple, clear, and yes, funny illustrations. Chemistry will never be the same!
Schaum's outline of theory and problems of beginning chemistry by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
This clear and complete guide to the fundamentals of chemistry features course material in a succinct outline form, together with hundreds of detailed, fully solved problems. A perfect companion to most standard texts, this third edition has been updated to include the latest pedagogic approaches; more than 670 fully worked problems of varying difficulty, designed to lead you safely through the pitfalls of the course; and hundreds more practice problems.
Applied Science and Technology Source
Contains trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.
Science (Gale OneFile)
Covers general science topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Springer eJournal Collection
Covers mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Contains full text and indexing for most titles beginning in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title.
Essential Chemistry Series
Filmed at Widener University and the Chemical Heritage Foundation, this five-part series spotlights foundational aspects of chemistry that every science student needs to know. Footage of laboratory experiments reinforcing important concepts, sophisticated animations illustrating technical points of discussion, and commentary by experts passionate about science make Essential Chemistry an indispensable educational tool. Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. A Films for the Humanities & Sciences Production. 5-part series, 22-28 minutes each.
Mystery of Matter: Search For the Elements Series
The Mystery of Matter is an exciting PBS series about one of the great adventures in the history of science: the long (and continuing) quest to understand what the world is made of--to identify, understand and organize the basic building blocks of matter. (55 to 56 minutes each)
Chemistry in Action Series
This series is designed to relate basic concepts of chemistry to commercial chemical process technologies and to link textbook learning to the production of commonly used materials. 10-part series, 20 minutes each.
Ever Wondered? The Cutting Edge of Science and Technology (Series 2) Series
Ever Wondered? The Cutting Edge of Science and Technology is a ten-part series that explores virtual worlds, forensic science, mysteries of the deep, and much, much more. 10-part series, 22 minutes each.
More Subject Videos from
(Please get Link from Claire)
Periodic Table of Elements - Royal Society of Chemistry
The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Use the buttons above to change your view of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson’s stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click each element to read detailed information.
Khan Academy Chemistry
Content includes subject-specific overviews, videos, practice questions, and quizzes in both Chemistry and Organic Chemistry.
Bitsize Chemistry (BBC)
All about the fundamentals of chemistry, including short overviews, video clips, and practice quizzes to help reinforce classroom learning.
Periodical Table of Elements (technology focus)
Shows how elements are used to create modern technology.
General Search Tips
General Search Tips
- Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
- Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
- Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
- Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
- If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
- Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
- Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.