Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Open Academic Library
Ancient History by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002-09-09
Ancient History: Key Themes and Approaches is a sourcebook of writings on ancient history. It presents over 500 of the most important stimulating and provocative arguments by modern writers on the subject, and as such constitutes an invaluable reference resource. The first section deals with different aspects of life in the ancient world, such as democracy, imperialism, slavery and sexuality, while the second section covers the ideas of key ancient historians and other writers on classical antiquity. Overall this book offers an invaluable introduction to the most important ideas, theories and controversies in ancient history, and a thought-provoking survey of the range of views and approaches to the subject.
Written in Bones by
Call Number: CC79.5 .H95 W75 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
This book brings together a team of international experts to show how the careful study of bones and other ancient remains using modern scientific techniques, known as forensic archaeology, can reveal a picture of the lives, cultures and beliefs of ancient societies. Includes the Chinchorro mummies of Chile, Ötzi the Iceman, headless men and giant wolves from a Mesolithic cemetery in Siberia, burials from Han dynasty China, bog bodies from Denmark, and many others.
Women in the Classical World by
Call Number: HQ1127 .W652 1994 *available in print & eBook forms
Publication Date: 1995-03-30
Written by leading experts in the fields of ancient history and art history, women's studies, and Greek and Roman literature, the book's chronological arrangement allows the changing roles of women to unfold over a thousand year period, beginning in the eighth century B.C.E. The authors seek out literature that preserves women's own voices. Both the art and the literature highlight women's creativity, sexuality and coming of age, marriage and childrearing, religious and public roles, and other themes. Fascinating chapters probe revealing aspects of the classical world: the ubiquitous reports of wild behavior on the part of Spartan and Etruscan women and the mythical Amazons; the changing views of the female body presented in male-authored gynecological treatises; the "new woman" represented by the love poetry of the late Republic and Augustan Age; and the traces of upper and lower-class life in Pompeii, miraculously preserved by the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 C.E.
American, African, and Old European Mythologies by
Call Number: BL430.D5313 1993
Publication Date: 1993-05-15
This volume gathers eighty articles on mythologies from around the world. A section on the Americas and the South Pacific covers myths of native Americans, from the Inuit to the Mesoamericans, about such topics as the cosmos, fire, and the creation of the world. Essays on African mythology range from the 266 basic signs of West Africa to themes such as twins, the placenta, and masks. The final section, covering Celtic, Norse, and Slavic traditions opens with an overview of the Indo-Europeans and concludes with an essay on the religion and myths of Armenia.
The Great Transformation by
Call Number: BL430 .A76 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
n the ninth century BCE, the peoples of four distinct regions of the civilized world created the religious and philosophical traditions that have continued to nourish humanity to the present day: Confucianism and Daoism in China, Hinduism and Buddhism in India, monotheism in Israel, and philosophical rationalism in Greece. Later generations further developed these initial insights, but we have never grown beyond them. Now, Karen Armstrong reveals how the sages of this pivotal "Axial Age" can speak clearly and helpfully to the violence and desperation that we experience in our own times. The Axial Age faiths began in recoil from the unprecedented violence of their time. There was a remarkable consensus in their call for an abandonment of selfishness and a spirituality of compassion. The traditions of the Axial Age were not about dogma--all insisted on the primacy of compassion even in the midst of suffering.
A World Lit Only by Fire by
Call Number: CB369 .M36 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
From tales of chivalry and valor to the barbarity of the Inquisition and the devastation of the plague, no era has been a greater source of fascination and horror than the Middle Ages. With extraordinarily crafted prose, acclaimed historian William Manchester takes us on a vividly painted journey into the medieval mind. We travel from the depths of the Dark Ages to the heights of the rebirth that spawned some of history's greatest artists and thinkers--and that eventually ushered the West into the brilliance of the Renaissance. For Manchester, the man who best epitomized this new quest for knowledge in a changing world was Ferdinand Magellan, the great circumnavigator, whose inspiring story Manchester dramatically recounts, along with the stories of countless medieval men and women from every walk of life who influenced and changed the course of history.
The Art of the Italian Renaissance by
Call Number: N6945 .A78 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
Provides and overview of the artistic diversity of the Italian Renaissance written by renowned authors from the fields of history, architecture and art history.
The Secret Lives of Buildings by
Call Number: NA2543 .H55 H66 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
Concrete, marble, steel, brick: little else made by human hands seems as stable, as immutable, as a building. Yet the life of any structure is neither fixed nor timeless. Outliving their original contexts and purposes, buildings are forced to adapt to each succeeding age. To survive, they must become shape-shifters. In an inspired refashioning of architectural history, Edward Hollis recounts more than a dozen stories of such metamorphosis, highlighting the way in which even the most familiar structures all change over time into “something rich and strange.
Without Copyrights by
Call Number: KF2994 .S65 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
The names of James Joyce and Ezra Pound ring out in the annals of literary modernism--that of Samuel Roth, less so. A Jewish immigrant from Eastern Europe, Roth attended Columbia University and both wrote and published poetry. In the 1920s he founded literary and men's magazines. He publishedselections from foreign novels-including the risque parts, and without permission. When he reprinted segments of Ulysses, James Joyce took him to court. Their battle, writes Robert Spoo, influenced both American copyright law and modernism itself. Spoo, professor of law at the University of Tulsa and former editor of James Joyce Quarterly, tells the story in Without Copyrights. From its inception in 1790, he writes, American copyright law offered noor less-than-perfect protection for works published abroad - to the fury of Charles Dickens, among others, who often received no money from sales in the United States. American publishers avoided ruinous competition with each other through "courtesy of the trade," a code of etiquette that gaveinformal, exclusive rights to the first house to announce plans to issue a foreign work. American piracy and copyright law deeply affected transatlantic modernist writers. Spoo draws on previously unknown legal archives to recount Joyce's lawsuit, his campaign to discredit Roth through an international protest, and efforts to free Ulysses from an obscenity ban that prevented alegitimate release by an American publisher. Ezra Pound plays a role in the story with his attempts to reform U.S. copyright law, as does Bennett Cerf, founder of Random House, who finally issued an authorized edition of Ulysses in 1934, reviving trade courtesy to protect it from pirates. More thanthe tale of one book, Without Copyrights offers a new look at the history of the American public domain, a commons shaped by custom as much as by law, and of piracy's crucial role in literary history.
The Second Life Herald by
Call Number: GV1469.25.S425L83 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
Ludlow and journalist Wallace, the editor of a highly acclaimed blog (3pointD.com), trace the trajectory of a "virtual tabloid" that deals with many issues now confronting virtual worlds like The Sims Online and Second Life, such as ethical responsibilities of the service providers, rights of the avatar, virtual crime, intellectual property abuses, and, of course, cybersex. This journalistic work has met with stiff opposition from some of the corporations that host these virtual worlds, and Ludlow and Wallace are more than happy to comment on their tribulations, including being banned from The Sims Online. This is an effort to bring an understanding of online culture to the general public.
Find Books, eBooks, Articles, Videos, and More
The Art Atlas by
Call Number: Reference Oversize N5300 .A85 2004
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
The Art Atlas is the first work to present the art of the entire world from ancient to modern times through extensive use of specially commissioned maps. Covering painting, sculpture, and architecture as well as other arts and artifacts, the volume provides an entirely new vision of the history of the world’s art by showing how physical and political geography has shaped its developments.
Ancient Religions by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Religious beliefs and practices, which permeated all aspects of life in antiquity, traveled well-worn routes throughout the Mediterranean: itinerant charismatic practitioners peddled their skills as healers, purifiers, cursers, and initiators; and vessels decorated with illustrations of myths traveled with them. This collection of essays, drawn from the groundbreaking reference work Religion in the Ancient World, offers an expansive, comparative perspective on this complex spiritual world.
Ancient Greece and Rome: an encyclopedia for students by
Call Number: Reference DE5 .A57 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
Presenting the history, mythology and culture of the great civilizations of Greece and Rome, this work covers such areas as philosophy, technology, literature and art.
Larousse Encyclopedia of Ancient and Medieval History by
Call Number: D59.H553
Publication Date: 1963
This text covers early people and civilizations, the rise and fall of empires, the expansion of Europe through the 15th century including an introduction to Pre-Columbian peoples.
Encyclopedia of American Social History by
Call Number: Reference HN57 .E58 1992
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
This 3 volume encyclopedia is the first major reference work to combine the scholarship of historians with work in ethnology, gender study, geography, literature, religion, anthropology, and sociology. The 180 essays highlight the processes and the people of the American social structure.
Great Buildings by
Call Number: NA200.W56 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
From the mysterious Great Pyramid of Egypt and Turkey's exquisite Hagia Sofia, to the splendid palace at Versailles and Frank Lloyd Wright's graceful Fallingwater in Pennsylvania, Great Buildings explores the world's most stunning buildings and other iconic architectural creations in fabulous visual tours. The history of each building is explained, from the commissioning to how they were built, and is supplemented with 3-D cutaway artworks and pullouts of the exterior, as well as key details of the interior. With features on prominent architects, construction and style, Great Buildings is a comprehensive and excellent introduction to architecture's greatest achievements.
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
History Reference Center
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
World History (Gale OneFile)
Covers world history topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Includes Critical Insights and Grey House publications with links to essays covering topics such as social justice, immigration, environmentalism, and a multi-volume set with snapshots of Working Americans.
Dan Cruickshank's Adventures in Architecture Series
Art historian Dan Cruickshank celebrates architecture as an expression of human aspirations and beliefs when he visits the world’s most fascinating buildings in this eight-part series. Each program illuminates a different theme—power, death, beauty, paradise, disaster, connections, dreams, and pleasure—as Dan tells the story behind sites ranging from a Russian palace to a desert monastery to Mayan pyramids and igloos in Greenland, and reveals the unexpected connections between them. A BBC Production. Portions with English subtitles, 8-part series, 50 minutes each.
Art of the Western World by
Call Number: Audio Visual N5300 .A77 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Historian Michael Wood leads a nine-part tour through 2,500 years of Western painting, sculpture, and architecture, filmed at over 150 locations in eight countries and featuring commentary by historians and scholars.
Great Empires of the Past
This video clip library of 36 two-minute segments provides a concise survey of 12 history-changing empires. Each empire is given an overview segment, including a timeline graphic to place it within the context of world history, and two additional segments that delve deeper into areas of particular importance. Connections to modern life and society are emphasized throughout, to help viewers see ancient history as a living presence in today’s world. (84 minutes)
Fordham's Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
A comprehensive collection of links to references, full-text resources, audio files, and film on Ancient history. Courtesy of Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
World Digital Library
Contains detailed timelines, interactive maps, and digitized print and multimedia collection, including links to related resources. Sponsored by LoC and UNESCO.
TimeMaps World History Timeline
Interactive map offers a detailed perspective on ancient world history, culture, and society from 3500 BCE to 250 AD. Includes hyperlinks to a comprehensive collection of related reference material.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History @ the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Includes in-depth, searchable timelines, maps, essays and bibliographies.
Teaching History With 100 Objects
Great resource in which objects can be sorted according to topic, time period, place, and theme. Clicking on an object reveals detailed content descriptions, including related collection images, links, and themes. Courtesy of the British Museum and the UK Dept. of Education.
BBC - Religions
Includes links to in-depth discussions on the various aspects of 20 religions and belief systems such as Judaism, Taoism, and Atheism.