Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology Search Tips
- When searching in general databases, try adding “Sociology” to your search terms to refine your search.
- When searching for articles using a particular sociological theory, include the theory in your search terms (For example: “network theory” or “rational choice theory”)
Sociology Best Bets
Academic Search Complete
Covers most fields. Contains full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and abstracts.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business)
Contains marketing data, including demographics and extensive market level information.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Covers diversity studies with full text, citations, and indexing.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Covers gender studies topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)
Covers pop culture topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Covers scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Covers psychology topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
Search the online catalog for books and ebooks.
Encyclopedia of American Social History by
Call Number: HN57.E58 1992
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
Culture Matters by
Call Number: HM681.C85 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-18
The world at the beginning of the 21st century is more divided than ever between the rich and the poor, between those living in freedom and those under oppression. Even in prosperous democracies, troubling gaps in well-being persist. As the credibility of traditional explanations - colonialism, dependency, racism - declines, many now believe that the principal reason why some countries and ethnic groups are better off than others lies in the cultural values that powerfully shape nations and people's political, economic, and social performance.
Sociological Worlds by
Call Number: HM51 .S66332 1995
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
This reissue of the now classic Sociological Worlds (originally published in 1995) attempts to present a comprehensive picture of human social life--from the perspective of the "comparative-historical revolution" in sociology and presents some of the best theoretical and empirical work that is now being done by comparative-historical sociologists, as well as work by their close cousins, socio-cultural anthropologists. From this perspective, readers gain a picture of the major ways in which human societies differ. For this new library edition, Professor Sanderson has provided both a new preface and three contributions that did not appear in the original edition.
Talking Sociology by
Call Number: HM51.S6634148 1997
Publication Date: 1996-07-19
This book examines twelve controversial issues in sociology and in public policy and focuses on philosophical questions about human nature and the nature of social organization. Immigration policies; gender, race and ethnicity; culture; social movements; human sexuality; culture; and socialization.
The Sociology of Childhood by
Call Number: HQ767.9 .C675 2018
Publication Date: 2017-07-17
William A. Corsaro's groundbreaking text, The Sociology of Childhood, discusses children and childhood from a sociological perspective. Corsaro provides in-depth coverage of the social theories of childhood, the peer cultures and social issues of children and youth, children and childhood within the frameworks of culture and history, and social problems and the future of childhood. The Fifth Edition has been thoroughly updated to incorporate the latest research and the most pertinent information so readers can engage in powerful discussions on a wide array of topics.
Call Number: HM51.S6634148 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Core Concepts in Sociology
Sociology, in a nutshell, is about why people behave in the ways that they do, and the key premise is that behavior is shaped by the contexts in which people live. Filmed in Britain and New Guinea, this multi-segment program introduces the sociological concepts of personal, social, and role identity; of primary and secondary socialization; and of culture, with its associated concepts of learned norms and values, ethnocentrism, cultural diversity, and cultural change.
Making Sense of Sociological Theory
This multi-section program explains the role of sociological theory, distinguishes between structure and action, and sheds light on three major perspectives in sociology—societies as organic structures, societies as economic structures, and societies as social action—by looking at their origins and key ideas and then showing how they can be applied.
Understanding Sociology Series
This seven-part series discusses origins, core concepts, and applications of sociological theory, sociology’s relationship to evolving societal frameworks, the conducting of sociological research, and much more.
Fitting in by
Call Number: Audio Visual -- HM621 .F58 2005
Publication Date: 2005
"Humans are born without any culture. For virtually anyone the process of socialization begins with the family and continues through other social agents such as school, peer groups and mass media. The popularity of reality television shows that offer "extreme makeovers" [of persons] is highlighted in this lesson as an example of the desire to fit in."
Films on Demand
Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
American Sociological Association Topics
provides various lenses through which to explore studies on these topics, their findings and the questions that they trigger.
CIA World Factbook
provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Great Social Theorists
A university professor's Web site collecting writings by and commentary about a number of prominent social theorists.
Institute for Research on Poverty - Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
A comprehensive site for information about all aspects of poverty maintained by the University of Wisconsin's Institute for Research on Poverty
provides a list of professional organizations, open courseware, open access journals, books, online industry magazines, blogs, and who to follow on Twitter.
U.S. Census Bureau
Contains a wealth of information about the population of the United States. It also provides links to International Statistical Agencies and State Data Centers.
Find Books, E-books, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Looking for more Tips and Tricks of what you can do? Check our Primo Guide
Google Scholar Search
We suggest using the recommended databases first, but Google Scholar can offer additional sources.
General Search Tips
General Search Tips
- Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
- Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
- Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
- Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
- If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
- Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
- Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.