Research Guides: Art of Oceania: Books

Oceania

African and Oceanic Art by Margaret Trowell & Hans Nevermann
Call Number: N7397 .W4 T7
Publication Date: 1968
Form and content of African art & the art of Oceania.
The Pacific Arts of Polynesia and Micronesia by Adrienne Lois Kaeppler
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780191539992
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Pacific Ocean covers one-third of the earth's surface. Comprising thousands of islands and hundreds of cultural groups, Polynesia and Micronesia cover a large part of this vast ocean, from the dramatic mountains of Hawaii to the small, flat coral islands of Kiribati. Including both traditional and contemporary arts, this book introduces the rich artistic traditions of these two regions, traditions that have had a considerable impact on western art in the twentieth century through the influence of artists such as Gauguin. Instead of looking at Polynesia and Micronesia separately, the book focuses on the artistic types, styles, and concepts that they share, placing each in its wider cultural context. From the textiles of Tonga to the canoes of Tahiti, Adrienne Kaeppler looks at religious and sacred rituals and objects, carving, architecture, tattooing, personal ornaments, basket-making, clothing, textiles, fashion, the oral arts, dance, music and musical instruments - even canoe-construction - to provide the ultimate introduction to the rich and vibrant artistic cultures of the Polynesian and Micronesian islands.
Discovering Cook's Collection by Howord Morphy
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781921953071
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Discovering Cooks Collections focuses on the collections of art and material culture brought back from the Pacific on Captain Cooks voyages and contains essays by some of the worlds leading and most innovative historians and anthropologists. The book celebrates the richness of Pacific Island cultures in the initial years of European contact as well as the collections contemporary relevance to historians and the Indigenous communities who produced them. The essays in this book explore the history of the collections, their dispersal through the museums and private collections of Europe and the different ways in which they have been interpreted over time.
Art and Social Change: Contemporary Art in Asia and the Pacific by Caroline Turner
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1740760468
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
An illustrated survey of contemporary art in the Asia Pacific. Art and Social Change maps the dynamic development in art, often reflecting social and political events. It includes essays on India, China, New Zealand, Korea, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam, and Taiwan.
Prehistoric Art of Australia by Dacre Stubbs
Call Number: N5310.5.A83 S85
ISBN: 068414123X
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
The Dealer Is the Devil: An Insider's History of the Aboriginal Art Trade by Adrian Newstead
ISBN: 9781921556456
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Traces the history of the aboriginal art movement, the rise of the artists in the community, and the economics of the aboriginal art trade.
Tribal Art by Judith Miller; Graham Rae (Photographer); Philip Keith (As told to)
Call Number: N5311 .M55 2006
ISBN: 9780756618841
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
The only guide that features art from tribes and cultural groups from all around the world, not just one region, Tribal Art features historical, cultural, and price guide information on the art of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas and is the definitive collector's guide for tribal art enthusiasts.

Primo Search

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

General Search Tips

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.