Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BBC History: Bristish - Black Death
Essay and timeline concerning the onset and spread of the Black Plague during the Middle Ages.
Offers commentary and full-text digital translations of Dante's Divine Comedy with additional gallery images, bibliographies, and suggested readings.
The Gutenberg Bible: The Invention
Only a few documents exist that shed light on Gutenberg and the early history of printing. No records are available to explain how the book was created, the exact date of its completion, and how it was sold and used. Scholars closely examine material evidence found in surviving Bibles to unravel these mysteries. By investigating details of the paper, type, and earliest handwritten additions, parts of the story of the book and the printing process can be revealed, even though much remains unknown.
Catalog Quick Search
Find Books, eBooks, Articles, Videos, and More
History Reference Center
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
World History (Gale OneFile)
Covers world history topics with full text, citations, and indexing.