Humanities Resources

Incorporating the latest scholarly research, the third edition of A History of the Ancient Near East ca. 3000-323 BC presents a comprehensive overview of the multicultural civilizations of the ancient Near East. Integrates the most up-to-date research, and includes a richer selection of supplementary materials, the text addresses the wide variety of political, social, and cultural developments in the ancient Near East Updated features include new "Key Debate" boxes at the end of each chapter to engage students with various perspectives on a range of critical issues; a comprehensive timeline of events; 46 new illustrations, including 12 color photos; and features a new chapter addressing governance and continuity in the region during the Persian Empire; and offers in-depth, accessible discussions of key texts and sources, including the Bible and the Epic of Gilgamesh.

The political, religious, and social life of one of the world's oldest societies are described by a leading Sumerologist

Mesopotamia produced one of the best-known ancient civilizations, with a literate, urban culture and highly-developed political institutions. Writing primarily for a non-specialist audience but drawing on the most up-to-date historical and archaeological sources, Harriet Crawford reviews the extraordinary social and technological developments in the region over a period of two millennia, from 3800 to 2000 BC. She describes the physical environment and discusses architecture, trade and industry, the development of writing, and changes in social and political structures. The final chapter examines the shift in power during this period from the 'temple' to the 'palace'.

Picture-text survey that reconstructs the history, politics, religion and cultural achievements of ancient Sumer, Babylonia and Assyria.

Ancient Mesopotamia was a rich, varied and highly complex culture whose achievements included the invention of writing and the development of sophisticated urban society. This book offers an introductory guide to the beliefs and customs of the ancient Mesopotamians, as revealed in their art and their writings between about 3000 B.C. and the advent of the Christian era. Gods, goddesses, demons, monsters, magic, myths, religious symbolism, ritual, and the spiritual world are all discussed in alphabetical entries ranging from short accounts to extended essays. Names are given in both their Sumerian and Akkadian forms, and all entries are fully cross-referenced. A useful introduction provides historical and geographical background and describes the sources of our knowledge about the religion, mythology and magic of "the cradle of civilisation".

With the publication of this book, we have for the first time in any modern literary form one of the most vital of ancient myths- that of Inanna (known to the Semites as Ishtar), the world's first goddess of recorded history and the beloved deity of the ancient Sumerians. In this groundbreaking work, Samuel Noah Kramer, the preeminent living expert on Sumer, and Diane Wolkstein have retranslated, ordered, and combined the fragmented cuneiform tablets comprising the Cycle of Inanna to created an authentic portrait of the goddess from her adolescence to her completed womanhood and "godship."

An exploration into the geography, history, archaeology and anthropology of the Near East from pre-history to 330 BC. Coverage includes early farming, the move towards civilization, the urban explosion, warring states, trade, international empires and conquerors from East and West.

Incorporating the latest scholarly research, the third edition of A History of the Ancient Near East ca. 3000-323 BC presents a comprehensive overview of the multicultural civilizations of the ancient Near East. Integrates the most up-to-date research, and includes a richer selection of supplementary materials, the text addresses the wide variety of political, social, and cultural developments in the ancient Near East Updated features include new "Key Debate" boxes at the end of each chapter to engage students with various perspectives on a range of critical issues; a comprehensive timeline of events; 46 new illustrations, including 12 color photos; and features a new chapter addressing governance and continuity in the region during the Persian Empire; and offers in-depth, accessible discussions of key texts and sources, including the Bible and the Epic of Gilgamesh.

Picture-text survey that reconstructs the history, politics, religion and cultural achievements of ancient Sumer, Babylonia and Assyria.

An exploration into the geography, history, archaeology and anthropology of the Near East from pre-history to 330 BC. Coverage includes early farming, the move towards civilization, the urban explosion, warring states, trade, international empires and conquerors from East and West.

Ancient Mesopotamia was a rich, varied and highly complex culture whose achievements included the invention of writing and the development of sophisticated urban society. This book offers an introductory guide to the beliefs and customs of the ancient Mesopotamians, as revealed in their art and their writings between about 3000 B.C. and the advent of the Christian era. Gods, goddesses, demons, monsters, magic, myths, religious symbolism, ritual, and the spiritual world are all discussed in alphabetical entries ranging from short accounts to extended essays. Names are given in both their Sumerian and Akkadian forms, and all entries are fully cross-referenced. A useful introduction provides historical and geographical background and describes the sources of our knowledge about the religion, mythology and magic of "the cradle of civilisation".

Students can learn much about a country or an era by examining its styles of clothing.

Incorporating the latest scholarly research, the third edition of A History of the Ancient Near East ca. 3000-323 BC presents a comprehensive overview of the multicultural civilizations of the ancient Near East. Integrates the most up-to-date research, and includes a richer selection of supplementary materials, the text addresses the wide variety of political, social, and cultural developments in the ancient Near East Updated features include new "Key Debate" boxes at the end of each chapter to engage students with various perspectives on a range of critical issues; a comprehensive timeline of events; 46 new illustrations, including 12 color photos; and features a new chapter addressing governance and continuity in the region during the Persian Empire; and offers in-depth, accessible discussions of key texts and sources, including the Bible and the Epic of Gilgamesh.
***PART III: Empire

Picture-text survey that reconstructs the history, politics, religion and cultural achievements of ancient Sumer, Babylonia and Assyria.

An exploration into the geography, history, archaeology and anthropology of the Near East from pre-history to 330 BC. Coverage includes early farming, the move towards civilization, the urban explosion, warring states, trade, international empires and conquerors from East and West.

Ancient Mesopotamia was a rich, varied and highly complex culture whose achievements included the invention of writing and the development of sophisticated urban society. This book offers an introductory guide to the beliefs and customs of the ancient Mesopotamians, as revealed in their art and their writings between about 3000 B.C. and the advent of the Christian era. Gods, goddesses, demons, monsters, magic, myths, religious symbolism, ritual, and the spiritual world are all discussed in alphabetical entries ranging from short accounts to extended essays. Names are given in both their Sumerian and Akkadian forms, and all entries are fully cross-referenced. A useful introduction provides historical and geographical background and describes the sources of our knowledge about the religion, mythology and magic of "the cradle of civilisation".

Students can learn much about a country or an era by examining its styles of clothing.

In a highly acclaimed account, now brought up to date for the revised edition, Dr. Oates describes the rise of Babylon from Sargon of Agade to Hammurapi, the great law-giver under whom in the 18th century BC the city first attained pre-eminence. She charts its progress under his successors, its greatest period of empire during the reigns of Nebuchadrezzar and Nabonidus in the 6th century BC, and its decay and final abandonment as Persians and Greeks turned Mesopotamia into a battleground. Also includes information on administration, Alexander the Great, Elam, Epic of Gilgamesh, Euphrates, glass, gold, Hanging Gardens, Herodotus, Inanna, irrigation, Isin, kingship, Kish, Marduk, Mari, music, mythology, Nimrud, Nineveh, omens, Palestine, Parthian Empire, plough, Romans, sealings and seal impressions, Seleucid calendar, Semitic languages, Sin (Nanna, moon god), Sippar, slaves, Sumer, technology, trade, Uruk (Warka), vaulting, warfare, writing, ziggurrat, zodiac, etc.

Incorporating the latest scholarly research, the third edition of A History of the Ancient Near East ca. 3000-323 BC presents a comprehensive overview of the multicultural civilizations of the ancient Near East. Integrates the most up-to-date research, and includes a richer selection of supplementary materials, the text addresses the wide variety of political, social, and cultural developments in the ancient Near East Updated features include new "Key Debate" boxes at the end of each chapter to engage students with various perspectives on a range of critical issues; a comprehensive timeline of events; 46 new illustrations, including 12 color photos; and features a new chapter addressing governance and continuity in the region during the Persian Empire; and offers in-depth, accessible discussions of key texts and sources, including the Bible and the Epic of Gilgamesh.
***PART III: Empires includes in-depth discussions about the The Medes people and the Persian empire.

Explores ancient Persia, using the finds of archaeologists and other scientists to bring the people and culture of ancient Persia to life.

Persepolis: Discovery and Afterlife of a World Wonder presents the first full study of the history of archaeological exploration at Persepolis after its destruction in 330 BC. Based in part on archival evidence, anecdotal information, and unpublished documents, this book describes in detail the history of archaeological exploration, visual documentation, and excavations at one of the most celebrated sites of the ancient world.

An exploration into the geography, history, archaeology and anthropology of the Near East from pre-history to 330 BC. Coverage includes early farming, the move towards civilization, the urban explosion, warring states, trade, international empires and conquerors from East and West.

Students can learn much about a country or an era by examining its styles of clothing.

Covers the traditions and evolution of Persian painting and illumination through the 17th century.

eBook

eBook

This book, compiled from basic Hindu writings, is an exploration of the essential meaning of the Hindu tradition, the way of thinking and acting that has dominated life in India for the last three thousand years. Selections from religious, literary and philosophic works are preceded by introductory material that summarizes historical developments and cultural movements.

A History of Israel provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of ancient Israel--from the creation account to the events just prior to the New Testament era. This thoroughly revised edition focuses on Old Testament texts as well as ancient Near Eastern literary and archaeological sources to highlight the important modern controversies surrounding this portion of Scripture. Topics treated include current approaches to the study of Israel's history, common fallacies in modern, secular biblical studies, and the evidence for the historical authenticity of the Old Testament accounts. Kaiser and Wegner thus present an up-to-date, conservative position on matters relating to ancient Israel's past.

This title encompasses the history of Israel from its very beginnings up to the destruction of the First Temple of Jerusalem in 586 BC. The successive parts are (1) The Dawn of Israel, dealing with the Israelite proto-history, Mari and early Israel as well as the tribal societies and genealogies. (2) Forming a Nation, The Exodus and Conquest of Canaan, the period of the Judges and the charismatic nature of the Judges, the Danite migration. (3) The Rise of the Davidic Dynasty, a political view of the kingdom of David and Solomon, the diplomatic, international marriages of the latter, organs of statecraft in the Israelite monarchy. (4) King Amon and Josiah and their final fate, twilight of Judah and the destruction of Jerusalem. (5) This part is dedicated to historical episodes in the Former Prophets and in the Prophetical Books.

Detailed essays, extensive photos, and informative sidebars describe life in the ancient Holy Land, focusing on Jerusalem, Ashkelon, the Qumran, Herod, and the significant places of Jesus' life, showing the results of significant archaeological digs; also includes a time line and a bibliography