Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indian from the Inside by
Call Number: E98.P5M47 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-18
Native American philosophy discussed at length from a wide range of topics including: colonialism, the phenomenology of the vision quest, the continuity of Native values, land and the integrity of person, the role of cognitive science in supporting Native narrative traditions, language in Indian life, landscape and other-than-human persons, the teaching of Native American philosophy and the value of various research methods.
A Short History of African Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
This book discusses the major ideas, figures, and schools of thought in African philosophy. The book focuses specifically on the African contributions to cultural universalism, cultural relativism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, and Marxism. Hallen also examines African challenges to Western conceptions of philosophy by taking on questions such as whether philosophy can exist in cultures that are significantly based in oral traditions and what may or may not constitute philosophical texts.
Hindu Philosophy by
Call Number: B131 .B45 1968
Publication Date: 1968-08-01
The book outlines six classic systems of Hindu Philosophy: Nyaya, Vaisesika, Samkhya, Yoga, Mimamsa and Vedanta. The book also includes Kasmir Saivism, a system fully understood after understanding the aforementioned systems.
Chinese Philosophy A-Z by
A guide to concepts, philosophers, and topics that shaped Chinese philosophy for last three thousand years. The eBook is organized alphabetically with each entry elucidating important and relevant terms in Chinese Philosophy.
Subject Best Bets
Covers a wide range of subjects, including important philosophers, concepts, and arguments.
Contains full text, citations, and indexing for over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Covers religion and philosophy topics with full text, citations, and indexing.
The Big Questions by
Call Number: BJ1595.5 .M37 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-16
From the author of the international bestseller Plato Not Prozac!, a vital guide to the art of living. Professor Lou Marinoff's first book drew on the wisdom of the great philosophers to solve our everyday problems, launching a movement that restored philosophy to what it once was: useful in all walks of life. Now, in The Big Questions, he takes the concept to the next level, applying centuries of philosophy and great literature to answer central questions of modern existence. Urging us not to accept victimhood as the by-product of modern life, Professor Marinoff uses specific case studies from his counseling practice to show how wisdom from the great thinkers can help us define our own philosophy, and thereby reclaim our sense of well-being. He asks and answers questions that go to the heart of the human condition: How do we know what is right? How can we cope with change? Why can't we all get along? And, most centrally, how can we use the centuries of wisdom that have come before us to help us answer these questions and feel at ease in the world? Accessible, entertaining, and profoundly useful, The Big Questions mixes wisdom from the great thinkers with specific case studies to illuminate how a shift in perspective can truly be life changing.
The Deepest Human Life by
Call Number: B74.S26 2015
Publication Date: 2014-04-03
"In The Deepest Human Life [Scott Samuelson] takes philosophy back from the specialists and restores it to its proper place at the center of our humanity, rediscovering it as our most profound effort toward understanding, as a way of life that anyone can live."
The Many Faces of Philosophy by
Call Number: B72.M346 2003
Publication Date: 2003-02-06
Philosophy is a dangerous profession, risking censorship, prison, even death. And no wonder: philosophers have questioned traditional pieties and threatened the established political order. Some claimed to know what was thought unknowable; others doubted what was believed to be certain. Some attacked religion in the name of science; others attacked science in the name of mystical poetry; some served tyrants; others were radical revolutionaries. This historically based collection of philosophers' reflections--the letters, journals, prefaces that reveal their hopes and hesitations, their triumphs and struggles, their deepest doubts and convictions--allow us to witness philosophical thought-in-process. It sheds light on the many--and conflicting--aims of philosophy: to express skepticism or overcome it, to support theology or attack it, to develop an ethical system or reduce it to practical politics. As their audiences differed, philosophers experimented with distinctive rhetorical strategies, writing dialogues, meditations, treatises, aphorisms. Ranging from Plato to Hannah Arendt, with contributions from 44 philosophers (Augustine, Maimonides, AlGhazali, Descartes, Pascal, Leibniz, Voltaire, Rousseau, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, Wittgenstein, among others) this remarkable collection documents philosophers' claim that they change as well as understand the world. In her introductory essay, "Witnessing Philosophers," Amelie Rorty locates philosophers' reflections in the larger context of the many facets of their other activities and commitments.
Publication Date: 2010-02-23
Philosophy: An Innovative Introduction features a unique, engaging approach to introduce students to philosophy. It combines traditional readings and exercises with fictive narratives starring central figures in the history of the field from Plato to Martin Luther King, Jr. The book makes innovative use of compelling short stories from two writers who have prominently combined philosophy and fiction in their work. These narratives illuminate pivotal aspects of the carefully selected classic readings that follow. This gives students two ways to understand the philosophical positions: through indirect argument in fiction and through direct, deductive presentations. Study questions and writing exercises accompany each set of readings and help students grasp the material and create their own arguments.
What Philosophy Can Do by
Call Number: B53 .G88 2015
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
How can we have meaningful debates with political opponents? How can we distinguish reliable science from over-hyped media reports? How can we talk sensibly about God? In What Philosophy Can Do, Gary Gutting takes a philosopher's scalpel to modern life's biggest questions and the most powerful forces in our society--politics, science, religion, education, and capitalism--to show how we can improve our discussions of contentious contemporary issues. Gutting introduces readers to powerful analytic tools in the philosopher's arsenal that they can use to make new sense of current debates. One such tool is a crucial distinction between inductive and deductive reasoning that explains why both sides on a disputed issue often are sure they have compelling cases for their views. Another is the Principle of Charity, which requires opposing parties to present each other's arguments in their strongest forms--a tool that would make critiques both more respectful and more effective. Gutting also shows how concepts introduced by philosophers from Plato and Aristotle to Michel Foucault and John Rawls can clarify public discussions about morality, the economy, and medicine. From informed assessments of scientific claims to careful analyses of arguments for and against religious belief, Gutting brings a calm, clear-headed approach to some of the most divisive issues on the table today. He scrutinizes our relationship to work and freedom in capitalism; our modern understanding of happiness and the good life; the value of liberal arts education and the humanities; the role of science and politics in shaping public policy today; and the value of art and popular culture. Perhaps most meaningfully, Gutting shows how we can talk about our own deepest beliefs clearly and directly, while listening to what others have to say to us. What Philosophy Can Do makes a powerful case for philosophy's importance to public discussions, and shows us that this ancient tradition of inquiry may yet have much to say about our future.
During the 16th century, a new breed of thinker arose, equal parts philosopher and scientist, that threw off the received wisdom of the past and started afresh. In this program, Paul Guyer, of the University of Pennsylvania; Rutgers University’s Colin McGinn; and Princeton University’s Kwame Anthony Appiah and Daniel Garber address the major philosophical currents of that era—and the explosive controversies surrounding them. Bacon’s Novum Organum, Descartes’s “Discourse on the Method,” Hobbes’s Leviathan, Spinoza’s Ethics, and other germane works are cited. Part of the series Great Ideas of Philosophy II. (42 minutes)
Philosophy podcast that interviews various contemporary philosophers and scholars covering the gamut of philosophical subjects.
Podcast: Philosophize This!
Podcast dedicated to discussing Philosophers and their time periods, dissecting philosophical arguments, and divulging details in informative and entertaining episodes.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers a variety of concepts, arguments, and philosophers from Pre-Socratic to Contemporary Analytic and Continental Philosophy . The site is maintained and kept up-to-date regularly.
The Stone: Issues in Philosophy
Forum from the New York Times covering classical and contemporary subjects in Philosophy.
Dr. Pressler's Suggested Materials
Octavio Paz: Labyrinth of Solitude
A section of Mexican poet and critic Octavio Paz's essay Labyrinth of Solitude titled "Mexican Mask." This portion of his essay discusses Mexican identity and philosophical concepts: solitude, death, femininity, masculinity, history.
Birth of Islamic Science: Philosophy, Algebra and Trigonometry
Segment of a documentary discussing the advancements of ideas from Arabic scholars after digesting the writings of ancient Greeks.
The Buddha: A Film by David Grubin
The documentary details the life of the Buddha from sculptures and paintings, to contemporary society and the influences of his teachings.
Confucious: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Article provides information about Confucius: his life, ethics, political philosophy, and education.
An essay that explains the history of the Négritude movement in 1930s Paris. The essay outlines the roots of the movement, key individuals, criticism of the movement, and visions of future studies for the movement.
A Separate Peace: Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, and Shintoism
Documentary analyzes the major tenets of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, and Shintoism.