Research Guides: R. U. R. (Rossum's Universal Robots): eBooks

Electronic Books

Imagining Slaves and Robots in Literature, Film, and Popular Culture: Reinventing Yesterday's Slave with Tomorrow's Robot by Hampton, Gregory Jerome
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0739191462
Publication Date: 2015
Imagining Slaves and Robots in Literature, Film, and Popular Culture: Reinventing Yesterday's Slave with Tomorrow's Robot is an interdisciplinary study that seeks to investigate and speculate about the relationship between technology and human nature. It is a timely and creative analysis of the ways in which we domesticate technology and the manner in which the history of slavery continues to be utilized in contemporary society. This text interrogates how the domestic slaves of the past are being re-imaged as domestic robots of the future. Hampton asserts that the rhetoric used to persuade an entire nation to become dependent on the institution of chattel slavery will be employed to promote the enslavement of technology in the form of humanoid robots with Artificial Intelligence.
A History of Modern Drama, Volume I by David Krasner
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781405157575
Publication Date: 2011-11-07
Covering the period 1879 to 1959, and taking in everything from Ibsen to Beckett, this book is volume one of a two-part comprehensive examination of the plays, dramatists, and movements that comprise modern world drama. Contains detailed analysis of plays and playwrights, connecting themes and offering original interpretations Includes coverage of non-English works and traditions to create a global view of modern drama Considers the influence of modernism in art, music, literature, architecture, society, and politics on the formation of modern dramatic literature Takes an interpretative and analytical approach to modern dramatic texts rather than focusing on production history Includes coverage of the ways in which staging practices, design concepts, and acting styles informed the construction of the dramas
Companion Encyclopedia of Science in the Twentieth Century by John Krige (Editor); Dominique Pestre (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781315015606
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
With over forty chapters, written by leading scholars, this comprehensive volume represents the best work in America, Europe and Asia. Geographical diversity of the authors is reflected in the different perspectives devoted to the subject, and all major disciplinary developments are covered. There are also sections concerning the countries that have made the most significant contributions, the relationship between science and industry, the importance of instrumentation, and the cultural influence of scientific modes of thought. Students and professionals will come to appreciate how, and why, science has developed - as with any other human activity, it is subject to the dynamics of society and politics.

Primo Search

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

General Search Tips

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.