Research Guides: Chopin, Kate: Books

Books

"The Storm" in Short Stories for Students by Gale Cengage Publishing (Created by)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780787689049
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Contains concise synopses of the story's plot, characters and themes; a brief author biography; a discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance; excerpted criticism; and more.
"The Story of an Hour" In Short Stories for Students by Ira Mark Milne (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2000-03-17
Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance and criticism.
The Awakening by Salem Press (Editor); Robert C. Evans (General Editor)
Call Number: PS1294.C63A6432 2014
ISBN: 9781619252288
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Collections of contemporary essays about Chopin's landmark short story.
The Awakening in Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice
Publication Date: 2006
Critical discussions of prejudice in literature concerning race, religion, gender, ethnicity, social status, mental and physical health, and personal beliefs and behaviors. Includes concise synopses of plot, discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance, and excerpted criticism.
Critical Essays on Kate Chopin by Alice H. Petry
Call Number: PS1294.C63 C75 1996
ISBN: 9780783800325
Publication Date: 1996-11-13
Features a collection of contemporary essays, as well as reviews and reactions by the subject's contemporaries, previously unpublished materials, and a bibliography of the author’s writings.
Kate Chopin: a study of the short fiction by Bernard Koloski
Call Number: PS1294.C63 K65 1996E
ISBN: 0805708650
Publication Date: 1996-11-20
In Kate Chopin: A Study of the Short Fiction, Bernard Koloski, who has explored the works of Kate Chopin for more than 25 years, argues that the writer's biculturalism, bilingualism, and life among intelligent, questioning people are the sources of her extraordinary vision, originality, and compassion as a short story writer. The first full-length treatment devoted exclusively to Chopin's stories, and the first since the 1930s to look at the stories outside - though not at all in opposition to - their place of honor among the works about women, the volume provides fresh insights into the writer's fiction.
Unveiling Kate Chopin by Emily Toth; Kate Chopin
Call Number: PS1294.C63T684 1999
ISBN: 1578061016
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
This is the true, unvarnished life story of the girl who grew up to write The Awakening, a masterpiece published 100 years ago. With its portrayal of a woman whose sexual desires take her outside marriage, it rocked American literature's cozy conception of womanhood.

Primo Search

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

General Search Tips

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.