Research Guides: O'Connor, Flannery: Books

Books

"A Good Man Is Hard to Find" in Short Stories for Students
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 1997
Contains concise synopses of the story's plots, characters and themes along with a brief author biography, a discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance and excerpted criticism.
"Wise Blood" in Novels for Students
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 1998
Includes concise synopses of plot, characters and themes, a brief author biography, discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance, and excerpted criticism.
Flannery O'Connor by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3565 .C57 Z6678 1986
ISBN: 0877546320
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Flannery O'Connor's devil / John Hawkes -- The countryside and the true country ; Everything that rises must converge / Robert Fitzgerald -- The perfect deformity : Wise blood / Lewis A. Lawson -- The visionary art of Flannery O'Connor / Joyce Carol Oates -- From fashionable tolerance to unfashionable redemption / Ralph C. Wood -- Epiphany / Carol Schloss -- Rural gothic / Ronald Schleifer -- The double / Frederick Asals -- Proust, Flannery O'Connor, and the aesthetic of violence / Jefferson Humphries -- What you can't talk about / John Burt.
Flannery O'Connor by Charles E. May; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: PS3565.C57Z667845 2012 (in print & online)
ISBN: 1587658313
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
This volume includes previously published essays that clarify her religious ideas, her narrative technique, her use of humor, and the regional and social context of her fiction.
A Good Man Is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor; Frederick Asals (Editor)
Call Number: PS3565.C57 G6 1993
ISBN: 0813519772
Publication Date: 1993-07-01
"A Good Man Is Hard to Find" is Flannery O'Connor's most famous and most discussed story. O'Connor herself singled it out by making it the title piece of her first collection and the story she most often chose for readings or talks to students. It is an unforgettable tale, both riveting and comic, of the confrontation of a family with violence and sudden death. More than anything else O'Connor ever wrote, this story mixes the comedy, violence, and religious concerns that characterize her fiction. This casebook for the story includes an introduction by the editor, a chronology of the author's life, the authoritative text of the story itself, comments and letters by O'Connor about the story, critical essays, and a bibliography. The critical essays span more than twenty years of commentary and suggest several approaches to the story--formalistic, thematic, deconstructionist-- all within the grasp of the undergraduate, while the introduction also points interested students toward still other resources. Useful for both beginning and advanced students, this casebook provides an in-depth introduction to one of America's most gifted modern writers.
Wise Blood: a re-consideration by John J. Han (Volume Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789042033894
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Wise Blood: A Re-Consideration is a collection of nineteen new essays on Flannery O'Connor's 1952 novel about the spiritual journey of a young man raised in a fundamentalist Christian family. Following the pattern of previous books in the Dialogue series, it offers analyses by established and emerging scholars in North America. The volume comprises five sections: Religious and Philosophical Thought; Comedy, Humor, and Animality in Wise Blood; Influences on Wise Blood; Structural Issues; and Gender, Culture, and Genre. An intensely religious novel by a Catholic author, Wise Blood continues to draw keen attention from literary scholars, theologians, preachers, and lay readers. This volume encompasses many new critical perspectives that will encourage greater insights, deeper understandings, and further investigations of the complexities of O'Connor's modern classic set in the Deep South.

Primo Search

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

General Search Tips

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.