Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Oversize -- QB982.S65 U55 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Includes a comprehensive star atlas that covers all the constellations and planetary charts showing their positions right up to 2019, with entries on each of the 88 constellations and notable celestial objects that lie within them, and a monthly sky guide showing the night sky as it appears throughout the year. Includes a comprehensive star atlas that covers all the constellations and planetary charts showing their positions right up to 2019, with entries on each of the 88 constellations and notable celestial objects that lie within them, and a monthly sky guide showing the night sky as it appears throughout the year.
First Magnitude by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
"First Magnitude" is an entry-level book for readers with brightly lit skies. Its purpose is to show them that all is not lost, that they can still enjoy personal astronomy and have an appreciation of the heavens no matter where they live. It concentrates on the Sun, Moon, the five bright planets, and on the 23 brightest stars, which are visible from just about anywhere. The book concludes with bright ephemeral phenomena: meteors, comets, and exploding stars.
Astronomer's Stars by
Call Number: QB801 .M64 1989
Publication Date: 1989-08-01
Sixteen different kinds of stars are introduced in this overview of astronomy.
Norton's Star Atlas and Reference Handbook by
Call Number: QB64.R43 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-07
First published in 1910, coinciding with the first of two appearances by Halley's Comet last century, Norton's owes much of its legendary success to its unique maps, arranged in slices or gores, each covering approximately one-fifth of the sky. Apart from being presented more accessibly than ever before, the text and tables have been revised and updated to account for the new and exciting developments in our observation of the cosmos. The star maps themselves were plotted using advanced computer techniques yielding outstanding accuracy and legibility. Every heavenly object visible to the naked eye is included-stars to magnitude 6, star clusters, and galaxies, as well as other celestial objects. Presented with an authority that has stood for generations, observation hints, technical explanations, and pointers to specialized information sources make this the only essential guide to the night sky. The updated and revised hardcover 20th edition also has new moon maps, clearer tables, new diagrams and a section on the latest computer driven telescopes-today's perfect home reference for curious minds from beginners to dedicated star gazers!
The Florida Night Sky by
Call Number: QB63.D4 2002 Florida
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
An ideal starting point for those who want to learn about the Florida night sky and enjoy its treasures, this book also serves as a helpful reference for serious amateur astronomers.
Sirius Matters by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-05-24
Since very early times Sirius was a point of attraction in the night sky. It served to synchronize calendars in antiquity and was the subject of many myths and legends, including some modern ones. It was perceived as a red star for more than 400 years, but such reports were relegated to the Mediterranean region. Astronomically, Sirius is a very bright star. This, and its present close distance to us, argues in favor of it being the target of detailed studies of stellar structure and evolution. Its binary nature, with a companion that is one of the more massive white dwarfs, is an additional reason for such studies. This book collects the published information on Sirius in an attempt to derive a coherent picture of how this system came to look as it does.
The Cambridge Illustrated History of Astronomy by
Call Number: QB15.C36 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-28
Expertly written and lavishly illustrated, The Cambridge Illustrated History of Astronomy offers a unique account of astronomical theory and practice from antiquity to the present day. How did Moslems of the Middle Ages use astronomy to calculate the direction of Mecca from far-flung corners of the Islamic world? Who was the only ancient Greek to suspect that the earth might revolve around the sun? How did Christopher Columbus abuse his knowledge of a lunar eclipse predicted by an astronomical almanac? Packed with anecdotes and intriguing detail, this book describes how we observed the sky and interpreted what we saw at different periods of history; how this influenced our beliefs and mythology; and how great astronomers contributed to what we now know. The result is a lively and highly visual history of astronomy - a compelling read for specialists and non-specialists alike.
The Cambridge Guide to the Solar System by
Call Number: QB501 .L24 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-25
The books begins with a short introduction to the history of planetary observation and discovery. The major planets and their moons are then introduced by presenting common properties, processes, and themes. This is followed by chapters which focus on individual planets and other solar system objects, including a comprehensive treatment of the various space missions; from the Apollo missions to the Moon, to recent missions to Jupiter and Mars. Filled with vital facts and information, and illustrated throughout, this book will also appeal to professionals as well as general readers with an interest in planetary science.
Cosmic Catastrophes: Exploding Stars, Black Holes, and Mapping the Universe by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007-01-04
From supernovae and gamma-ray bursts to the accelerating Universe, this is an exploration of the intellectual threads that lead to some of the most exciting ideas in modern astrophysics and cosmology. This fully updated second edition incorporates new material on binary stars, black holes, gamma-ray bursts, worm-holes, quantum gravity and string theory. It covers the origins of stars and their evolution, the mechanisms responsible for supernovae, and their progeny, neutron stars and black holes. It examines the theoretical ideas behind black holes and their manifestation in observational astronomy and presents neutron stars in all their variety known today. This book also covers the physics of the twentieth century, discussing quantum theory and Einstein's gravity, how these two theories collide, and the prospects for their reconciliation in the twenty-first century. This will be essential reading for undergraduate students in astronomy and astrophysics, and an excellent, accessible introduction for a wider audience.
Call Number: QB500.268.K477 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-12
The latest photos from Hubble's recent discoveries, with fascinating new and updated information. After 17 years, 25,000 astronomical targets and more than 700,000 images, the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) continues to return images and data that amaze astronomers. Within the past few months alone, the Hubble has revealed a gold mine of just-formed star systems in the newborn Universe, provided detailed views of a second red spot emerging on Jupiter, and confirmed that monster black holes lurk at the center of galaxies. This brand new and updated edition features: 80 new full-color images A new introduction that reveals Hubble's future The data behind Pluto's recent demotion to non-planetary status Hubble's most important and fascinating new discoveries Explanations of how these new discoveries are revising scientific understanding of the Universe. New photographs reveal astonishing and previously unseen details of what once appeared only as gray blurs or dots on a star map. Examples include the Eagle Nebula and the birth of a star; newly formed stars blowing a cavity in the center of the Small Magellanic Cloud; colliding Antennae galaxies; and a massive galaxy just under assembly. Hubble transports readers beyond our solar system to galaxies millions -- even billions -- of light years away. These dramatic, unforgettable new images bring into sharp focus the ways in which the Universe is unfolding in new and astonishing ways.
Nature Astronomy is a monthly, online-only journal, launched in January 2017. We publish the most significant research, review and comment at the cutting edge of astronomy, astrophysics, and planetary science in order to represent and foster closer interaction between all key astronomy-relevant disciplines.
Frontiers in Astronomy and Space Sciences
Frontiers in Astronomy and Space Sciences publishes rigorously peer-reviewed research across a range of specialties including cosmology, space robotics and planetary materials.
Galaxies is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology. It publishes reviews, research articles, communications and technical notes.
Advances in Astronomy
Advances in Astronomy is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles, in all areas of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology.
Journal of Astrobiology & Outreach
Journal of Astrobiology & Outreach involves the search for habitable environment in and around our solar system. The scope of the evolution of the extraterrestrial life includes Astronomy, General space biology, Molecular biology, Planetary science, Ecology and Planetary quarantine.
Seven Ages of Starlight series
Stars are at the heart of all life. Humans and all other life forms on our planet—from bacteria in the top of our atmosphere to the creatures in the darkest depths of our oceans—depend on our very own star, the Sun. Much of the matter that makes up the known universe comes from stars and is put into motion by their enormous gravity. Even our planet and our bodies are made from stardust forged in the thermonuclear furnace of brightly burning stars. Using innovative graphics and imagery as well as the latest stunning images from the Hubble Space Telescope and high tech imaging satellites, this series tells the definitive and inspiring story of the most brilliant objects in the universe. Each chapter deals with the different stages that a star goes through during its lifetime—from birth in dense clouds of interstellar gas to fiery and spectacular deaths—with emphasis on our Sun and what these changes mean for Earth. (2 parts, approx. 46 minutes each).
The Beginning and the End of the Universe Series
In this 2-part series Professor Jim Al-Khalili tackles the biggest subject of all --- the universe. Through a series of critical observations and experiments that revolutionized our understanding of our world, Jim tells the greatest cosmic detective story of all time taking us from the beginning of the universe to the end of time. He also explores the question: where did we (the universe) come from and where is it going (and how will it end)? (2 videos, 59 minutes each)
Find Books, E-books, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Looking for more Tips and Tricks of what you can do? Check our Primo Guide
SFSC Library Facebook Feed