Molecular Biology

This volume provides readers with the important information they need to understand the basic concepts, philosophical and ethical arguments, possibilities, and consequences of biotechnology.
*Available full-text through Salem Online

Molecular Cloning has served as the foundation of technical expertise in labs worldwide for 30 years. No other manual has been so popular, or so influential. ... The theoretical and historical underpinnings of techniques are prominent features of the presentation throughout, information that does much to help trouble-shoot experimental problems. For the fourth edition of this classic work, the content has been entirely recast to include nucleic-acid based methods selected as the most widely used and valuable in molecular and cellular biology laboratories. Core chapters from the third edition have been revised to feature current strategies and approaches to the preparation and cloning of nucleic acids, gene transfer, and expression analysis. They are augmented by 12 new chapters which show how DNA, RNA, and proteins should be prepared, evaluated, and manipulated, and how data generation and analysis can be handled. The new content includes methods for studying interactions between cellular components, such as microarrays, next-generation sequencing technologies, RNA interference, and epigenetic analysis using DNA methylation techniques and chromatin immunoprecipitation. To make sense of the wealth of data produced by these techniques, a bioinformatics chapter describes the use of analytical tools for comparing sequences of genes and proteins and identifying common expression patterns among sets of genes.

Known world-wide as the standard introductory text to this important and exciting area, the seventh edition of Gene Cloning and DNA Analysis addresses new and growing areas of research whilst retaining the philosophy of the previous editions. Assuming the reader has little prior knowledge of the subject, its importance, the principles of the techniques used and their applications are all carefully laid out, with over 250 clearly presented four-colour illustrations.

We humans have been tinkering with genes for a long, long time. In Shrinking the Cat, Sue Hubbell shows how this tinkering is the definition of humanness by telling the stories of four important species we created. She tells how we made cats easier to live with by making them smaller and their brains less complicated, taking out much of the alertness that natural selection had packed in. How ancient farmers turned a wild grass into corn, a tremendously important crop that can't live without us. How silkworms were smuggled from China to the West and bred to be completely dependent on us. How silk traders picked up wild apples in their travels and how we manipulated the apple's complex genetics to grow only the best-tasting ones - and then made them taste worse. Today's tools are new, but we were engineering genes even before we knew about them, and we made some mistakes along the way. For example, the gypsy moths that regularly defoliate trees arrived through efforts to breed silkworms suitable to North America. Genetic engineering is controversial today. Some see it as a source of great benefit and great profits; others see it as a nightmare. Sue Hubbell shows that if we ignore our own history, pretending that genetic engineering is something completely new and dangerous, we are condemned to repeat the mistakes of the past.

A preeminent geneticist hunts the Neanderthal genome to answer the biggest question of them all: what does it mean to be human? What can we learn from the genes of our closest evolutionary relatives? Neanderthal Man tells the story of geneticist Svante Pääbo’s mission to answer that question, beginning with the study of DNA in Egyptian mummies in the early 1980s and culminating in his sequencing of the Neanderthal genome in 2009. From Pääbo, we learn how Neanderthal genes offer a unique window into the lives of our hominin relatives and may hold the key to unlocking the mystery of why humans survived while Neanderthals went extinct. Drawing on genetic and fossil clues, Pääbo explores what is known about the origin of modern humans and their relationship to the Neanderthals and describes the fierce debate surrounding the nature of the two species’ interactions. A riveting story about a visionary researcher and the nature of scientific inquiry, Neanderthal Man offers rich insight into the fundamental question of who we are.

The book is a narrative of the unfolding of the Ebola virus disease outbreak from a scientific view point. The author provides an analysis of the scientific basis of public health policies that have influenced the public's, and the medical community's, abilities to understand the virus and the disease. This is done in the context of providing insights into the biology of the virus, and exploring open questions, including its likely modes of transmission. The author has included citations from the scientific literature and the press, as well as quotes from expert interviews. The book will help sort out the fact from fiction, given the confusion that arose after the virus arrived in the US. The author used his objective research skills and knowledge of evolutionary genetics and molecular biology to find out what was known, and what questions remained unanswered, and even what questions remained unasked.Written in an accessible style, it is intended for the educated general public, scientists, policy makers, health care workers, and politicians. It delves into the problems of trying to derive a logic-based understanding of a highly lethal emerging disease in 2014, when research funding cuts have gutted research institutions, and when public health institutions really were woefully unprepared. It is a highly distinct narrative analysis that is sure to stimulate new research and thinking in public policy. It will inform thousands of people of the nature of the virus, how it works, in terms they are likely to be able to understand. It will allow others to rapidly catch up with the story of Ebola.

Cell and Molecular Biology and Imaging of Stem Cells features original and review articles written by experts who have made significant contributions to stem cell biology and imaging. Chapters cover a broad spectrum of aspects of the field, including Stem cells from the Amniotic Fluid and Placenta, Biomaterials as Artificial Niches for Pluripotent Stem Cell Engineering, Low-Intensity Ultrasound in Stem Cells and Tissue Engineering, Mammalian Neo-Oogenesis from Ovarian Stem Cells, Oct4-EGFP Transgenic Pigs as a New Tool for Visualization of Pluripotent and Reprogrammed Cells, Regulation of Adult Intestinal Stem Cells, Stem Cell Therapy for Veterinary Orthopedic Lesions, Sex Steroid Combinations in Regenerative Medicine for Brain and Heart Diseases, Hair Follicle Stem Cells, The Potential of Using Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells in Skin Diseases, Mitochondrial Differentiation in Early Embryo Cells and Pluripotent Stem Cells, and The Role of Centrosomes in Cancer Stem Cell Functions.

This volume is a timely and comprehensive description of the many facets of DNA and RNA modification-editing processes and to some extent repair mechanisms. Each chapter offers fundamental principles as well as up to date information on recent advances in the field (up to end 2008). They ended by a short ‘conclusion and future prospect'section and an exhaustive list of 35 to up to 257 references (in average 87). Contributors are geneticists, structural enzymologists and molecular biologists working at the forefront of this exciting, fast-moving and diverse field of researches.

Reverse genetics, the genetic manipulation of RNA viruses to create a wild-type or modified virus, has led to important advances in our understanding of viral gene function and interaction with host cells. Since many severe viral human and animal pathogens are RNA viruses, including those responsible for polio, measles, rotaviral diarrhoea and influenza infections, it is also an extremely powerful technique with important potential application for the prevention and control of a range of human and animal viral diseases. Reverse Genetics of RNA Viruses provides a comprehensive account of the very latest developments in reverse genetics of RNA viruses through a wide range of applications within each of the core virus groups including; positive sense, negative sense and double stranded RNA viruses. Written by a team of international experts in the field, it provides a unique insight into how the field has developed, what problems are being addressed now and where applications may lead in the future.

DNA evidence is widely used in the modern justice system. Statistical methodology plays a key role in ensuring that this evidence is collected, interpreted, analysed and presented correctly. This book is a guide to assessing DNA evidence and presenting that evidence in a courtroom setting. It offers practical guidance to forensic scientists with little dependence on mathematical ability, and provides the scientist with the understanding they require to apply the methods in their work. Since the publication of the first edition of this book in 2005 there have been many incremental changes, and one dramatic change which is the emergence of low template DNA (LTDNA) profiles.

Molecular typing of foodborne pathogens has become an indispensable tool in epidemiological studies. Thanks to these techniques, we now have a better understanding of the distribution and appearance of bacterial foodborne diseases and have a deeper knowledge of the type of food products associated with the major foodborne pathogens. Within the molecular techniques, DNA-based techniques have prospered for more than 40 years and have been incorporated in the first surveillance systems to monitor bacterial foodborne pathogens in the United States and other countries. However, DNA techniques vary widely and many microbiology laboratory personnel working with food and/or water face the dilemma of which method to incorporate. DNA Methods in Food Safety: Molecular Typing of Foodborne and Waterborne Bacterial Pathogens succinctly reviews more than 25 years of data on a variety of DNA typing techniques, summarizing the different mathematical models for analysis and interpretation of results, and detailing their efficacy in typing different foodborne and waterborne bacterial pathogens, such as Campylobacter, Clostridium perfringens, Listeria, Salmonella, among others. Section I describes the different DNA techniques used in the typing of bacterial foodborne pathogens, whilst Section II deals with the application of these techniques to type the most important bacterial foodborne pathogens. In Section II the emphasis is placed on the pathogen, and each chapter describes some of the most appropriate techniques for typing each bacterial pathogen. The techniques presented in this book are the most significant in the study of the molecular epidemiology of bacterial foodborne pathogens to date. It therefore provides a unique reference for students and professionals in the field of microbiology, food and water safety and epidemiology and molecular epidemiology.