In this book, Handfuls of History: Stories About Florida's Past, Dr. Milanich discusses pre-Columbian Florida, Colonial Period people and events, and the nineteenth century shipwreck of the steamship City of Vera Cruz. Dr. Milanich explores the origins of archaeology in Florida with Clarence B. Moore, and offers advice to future archaeologists. He may even stir up some controversy as he questions the authenticity of the Miami Circle. Written in an engaging and conversational style, Handfuls of History: Stories about Florida's Past is accessible to the general public as well as professional historians and archaeologists.
Originally prepared as a report for the National Park Service in 1988, Griffin's work places the human occupation of the Everglades within the context of South Florida's unique natural environmental systems. He documents, for the first time, the little known but relatively extensive precolumbian occupation of the interior portion of the region and surveys the material culture of the Glades area. He also provides an account of the evolution of the region's climate and landscape and a history of previous archaeological research in the area and fuses ecological and material evidence into a discussion of the sequence and distribution of cultures, social organization, and lifeways of the Everglades inhabitants. Milanich and Miller have transformed Griffin's report into an accessible, comprehensive overview of Everglades archaeology for specialists and the general public. Management plans have been removed, maps redrawn, and updates added. The result is a synthesis of the archaeology of a region that is taking center stage as various state and federal agencies cooperate to restore the health of this important ecosystem, one of the nation's most renowned natural areas and one that has been designated a World Heritage Site and a Wetland of International Importance. This book will make a key work in Florida archaeology more readily available as a springboard for future research and will also, at last, allow John Griffin's contribution to south Florida archaeology to be more widely appreciated.
In January 2001, Rachel Wentz walked away from a career as a firefighter/paramedic in Orlando to pursue a PhD in anthropology, specializing in the analysis of human remains. Her studies at Florida State University focused on the ancient skeletons from the Windover site, but took her into the darker world of forensics and beyond. Travel with Dr. Wentz to the famed museums of London, Paris, and Italy, the fragrant landscapes of Ukraine, the beautiful shores of the Caribbean, and back to Florida. The engaging and fast-paced memoir provides the reader a first-hand glimpse into the fascinating world of bioarchaeology, where skeletons hold the clues to past lives and the ancient civilizations from which they came.
This heavily illustrated book is written by top archaeologists who study Florida's sunken heritage in unique underwater sites. Learn from them the secrets at the bottom of springs and rivers, discover drowned prehistoric waterfront neighborhoods, paddle into the past on ancient canoes, swim across wrecked Spanish galleons and slave ships, record the contents of a Civil War troop transport, and study waterlogged artifacts in the laboratory. Submerged History takes readers on professionally guided tours along the broad spectrum of Florida's hidden, watery past to illustrate what these fascinating sites can reveal about the people who came before us.
This volume aims to bring the archaeological study of Florida's Pre-Columbian past up to date, using new techniques, technologies and data to reveal that the Pre-Columbian natives were not isolated and environmentally segregated, as was previously thought.
Prehistoric Florida societies, particularly those of the peninsula, have been largely ignored or given only minor consideration in overviews of the Mississippian southeast (A.D. 1000-1600). This groundbreaking volume lifts the veil of uniformity frequently draped over these regions in the literature, providing the first comprehensive examination of Mississippi-period archaeology in the state. Featuring contributions from some of the most prominent researchers in the field, this collection describes and synthesizes the latest data from excavations throughout Florida. In doing so, it reveals a diverse and vibrant collection of cleared-field maize farmers, part-time gardeners, hunter-gatherers, and coastal and riverine fisher/shellfish collectors who formed a distinctive part of the Mississippian southeast.
In 1982, a backhoe operator working at what would become the new Windover Farms housing development in Titusville, Florida, uncovered a human skull. The bones of several other individuals soon emerged from the peat bog. It would be determined that the human remains uncovered at Windover were between 7,000 and 8,000 years old, making them 3,200 years older than King Tutankhamen and 2,000 years older than the Great Pyramids of Egypt. This was just the beginning of an archaeological adventure that continues today.
The pace of change of Miami since its incorporation in 1896 is staggering. The seaside land that once was home to several thousand Tequesta is now congested with roads and millions of people while skyscrapers and artificial lights dominate the landscape.
Two of the most famous archaeological monuments in the southeastern United States--excavated first a century ago--are in Florida. Both Crystal River (near the Gulf Coast in Citrus County) and Mount Royal (on the St. Johns River just north of Lake George) help shape our appreciation of precolumbian Native American cultures. This volume, written by some of the most notable American archaeologists, presents for the first time the most extensive literature on fieldwork at the sites, including descriptions of the extraordinary artifacts from each.
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Contains archival digital collections including nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches.
This film examines the characteristics and origins of premodern and modern humans by charting evolution and dispersal using the human fossil record. Consider the process of cultural and technological development of premodern and modern human populations.
Archaeology is the study of humans through skeletal remains, fossils, and preserved artifacts using techniques such as mapping and excavation. Guenther explains ethnoarchaeology and experimental archaeology. Martin states that archaeology asks questions about former societies; excavation in context is important.
In this episode of A History of Central Florida we spoke with Drs. Glen Doran, Jerald Milanich, and Rachel K. Wentz about the Windover Burial Site available in replica form at The Brevard Museum of History and Natural Science.
Artifacts in the State of Florida’s collections facility belong to the people of the state, and Florida History in 3D brings these unique historical artifacts and their stories to you on your computer or mobile device at any time, from almost anywhere.