It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida history, culture, wildlife, fiction, and other topics.
These are 52 first-person accoutns of what happened or is happening in Avon Park as it pertains to the storytellers--a living, ongoing oral history. The storytellers are a diverse mix of race, sex, and socioeconomic backgrounds, from ages 14 to 90.
In 1911, Ohio entrepreneur George E. Sebring was drawn to the raw south-central Florida peninsular wilderness, known for bountiful fishing and game. After cofounding Sebring, Ohio, in 1898, he envisaged another eponymous town that would attract new residents to this largely unsettled area located 30 miles from the nearest railroad depot. The businessman purchased 9,000 acres on the shore of Lake Jackson, and his new town was designed and surveyed between October 1911 and April 1912. By virtue of its location along the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, the community of Sebring emerged as a novel tourist and golfing destination and was established as the seat of newly formed Highlands County in 1921. Cultural and technological advances have transformed the once-rural community into a thriving modern city that today retains its small-town atmosphere as the City on the Circle.
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
FORUM offers lively, insightful looks at the Florida people, events, and ideas that shaped our past, affect our present, and influence our future. Each colorful, beautifully illustrated issue offers historical and cultural perspectives that help provide context to life in Florida today. To search, use the "search this collection" search box.
The Florida Anthropologist is the quarterly journal of the Florida Anthropological Society, and was first published in May 1948. The journal publishes on a wide variety of anthropological topics relative to Florida. One of its principle publishing interests is Pre-Columbian societies. Articles also document colonial establishments and colonization of Florida, early modern Florida, etc.
The academic journal of the Florida Historical Society promotes scholarly research and appreciation for the peoples, places, themes, and diversity of Florida's past. Archives are from 1908 through 2007.
This is a 15-minute video hosted by Highlands Hammock State Park manager Peter Anderson. It introduces viewers to the Civilian Conservation Corps and the park's remodeled State of Florida CCC Museum, with alumni chapter members telling their Depression and CCC stories.
Established in 1856, the Florida Historical Society is dedicated to preserving Florida's past through the collection and archival maintenance of historical documents and photographs, the publication of scholarly research on Florida history, and educating the public about Florida history through a variety of public history projects and programs. We maintain an extensive archive at the Library of Florida History, publish the Florida Historical Quarterly and books through the Florida Historical Society Press, manage the Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens, and operate the Florida Historical Society Archaeological Institute at the Brevard Museum of History and Natural Science. We produce "Florida Frontiers: The Weekly Radio Magazine of the Florida Historical Society" and documentaries for public television.