Research Guides: Folklore: Home

General Subject Databases

Offer broad subject coverage in a variety of subject areas.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile: Your one-stop shop for acing those papers! Dive into millions of articles from top journals and magazines on practically any subject. Whether you're cramming for a history exam or need sources for your English essay, this database has your back. Easy to search, packed with reliable info, and always up-to-date. Say goodbye to stressing over finding good sources – Academic OneFile makes research a breeze!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete: Your secret weapon for crushing college assignments! This mega-database is packed with tons of full-text articles on just about everything. Need info for your psychology paper? Check. Looking for sources on climate change? Got it. With easy searching and loads of peer-reviewed content, you'll find exactly what you need to nail your projects. Don't waste time Googling - Academic Search Complete is your shortcut to academic success!
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.