Provides content on the core authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum. Students will find exactly what they need without having to wade through an uncurated search. Educators will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important curriculum tools to help with lesson plans, assignments, and independent study.
Contains full text literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Contains full text reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Excellent for finding information on a specific work of literature, or an author. Search using the title of the work to get a complete overview including characters, plot summaries, cultural context, and criticism of the work.
Contains more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more.
A twenty-first century version of Roger Fowler's 1973 Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms, this latest edition of The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is the most up-to-date guide to critical and theoretical concepts available to students of literature at all levels. With over forty newly commissioned entries, this essential reference book includes: an exhaustive range of entries, covering such topics as genre, form, cultural theory and literary technique new definitions of contemporary critical issues such as Cybercriticism and Globalization complete coverage of traditional and radical approaches to the study and production of literature thorough accounts of critical terminology and analyses of key academic debates full cross-referencing throughout and suggestions for further reading.
Find More Books and eBooks in the SFSC Library Catalog
This multimedia resource invites viewers to appreciate and - most importantly - read these ancient and modern works. The 13 texts are introduced on video by a wide-ranging cast including scholars, translators, artists, and writers. Excerpts of the texts are found on an extensive Web site along with background material and reading support; an interactive timeline and a feature on translation; and resources for teaching and further study.
Contains essays and criticisms of various authors and literary forms. Historical discussions illustrate how they evolved with the times. Topics range from discussions on early oral histories and poetry, debates over the evolution and influence of drama, journalism, and fiction.
In-dept discussions of literature and culture on topics from exploration of the New World through the 20th century. Includes timelines, audio glossaries, interactive maps, study guides, quizzes, and topic clusters for research and writing. Companion resource to the print editions of The Norton Anthology of World Literature, 3rd edition.
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.