Mathematics: Textbooks & Study Aids

*Currently only available online.

For students who are intimidated by all forms of math, here is a set of easy steps that lead to an understanding of elementary algebra. The author defines all terms, points out potential pitfalls in algebraic calculation, and makes problem solving a fun activity. New in this edition are painless approaches to understanding and graphing linear equations, solving systems of linear inequalities, and graphing quadratic equations. Barron's popular Painless Series of study guides for middle school and high school students offer a lighthearted, often humorous approach to their subjects, transforming details that might once have seemed boring or difficult into a series of interesting and mentally challenging ideas. Most titles in the series feature many fun-to-solve "Brain Tickler" problems with answers at the end of each chapter.

Plot graphs, solve equations, and write code in a flash! If you work in a STEM field, chances are you'll be using MATLAB on a daily basis. MATLAB is a popular and powerful computational tool and this book provides everything you need to start manipulating and plotting your data. MATLAB has rapidly become the premier data tool, and MATLAB For Dummies is a comprehensive guide to the fundamentals. MATLAB For Dummies guides you through this complex computational language from installation to visualization to automation. Learn MATLAB's language fundamentals including syntax, operators, and data types Understand how to use the most important window in MATLAB ? the Command Window Get the basics of linear algebra to get up and running with vectors, matrices, and hyperspace Automate your work with programming scripts and functions Plot graphs in 2D and 3D to visualize your data Includes a handy guide for MATLAB's functions and plotting routines MATLAB is an essential part of the analysis arsenal and MATLAB For Dummies provides clear, thorough guidance to get the most out of your data.

Master pre-calculus from the comfort of home Want to "know it ALL" when it comes to pre-calculus? This book gives you the expert, one-on-one instruction you need, whether you're new to pre-calculus or you're looking to ramp up your skills. Providing easy-to-understand concepts and thoroughly explained exercises, math whiz Stan Gibilisco serves as your own private tutor--without the expense His clear, friendly guidance helps you tackle the concepts and problems that confuse you the most and work through them at your own pace. Train your brain with ease Pre-Calculus Know-It-ALL features: Checkpoints to help you track your knowledge and skill level Problem/solution pairs and chapter-ending quizzes to reinforce learning Fully explained answers to all practice exercises A multiple-choice exam to prepare you for standardized tests "Extra Credit" and "Challenge" problems to stretch your mind Stan's expert guidance gives you the know-how to: Calculate distance in Cartesian two-and three-space Perform vector multiplication Work with cylindrical and spherical coordinates Understand relations and functions Learn the properties of conic sections Graph exponential, logarithmic, and trigonometric curves Define curves with parametric equations Work with sequences, series, and limits Take college entrance examinations with confidence And much more

Features the techniques, methods, and applications of calculus using real-world examples from business and economics as well as the life and social sciences An introduction to differential and integral calculus, Fundamentals of Calculus presents key topics suited for a variety of readers in fields ranging from entrepreneurship and economics to environmental and social sciences. Practical examples from a variety of subject areas are featured throughout each chapter and step-by-step explanations for the solutions are presented. Specific techniques are also applied to highlight important information in each section, including symbols interspersed throughout to further reader comprehension. In addition, the book illustrates the elements of finite calculus with the varied formulas for power, quotient, and product rules that correlate markedly with traditional calculus. Featuring calculus as the "mathematics of change," each chapter concludes with a historical notes section.  Fundamentals of Calculus chapter coverage includes: Linear Equations and Functions The Derivative Using the Derivative Exponents and Logarithms Differentiation Techniques Integral Calculus Integrations Techniques Functions of Several Variables Series and Summations Applications to Probability Supplemented with online instructional support materials, Fundamentals of Calculus is an ideal textbook for undergraduate students majoring in business, economics, biology, chemistry, and environmental science.

Master cartoonist Larry Gonick has already given readers the history of the world in cartoon form. Now, Gonick, a Harvard-trained mathematician, offers a comprehensive and up-to-date illustrated course in first-year calculus that demystifies the world of functions, limits, derivatives, and integrals. Using clear and helpful graphics—and delightful humor to lighten what is frequently a tough subject—he teaches all of the essentials, with numerous examples and problem sets. For the curious and confused alike, The Cartoon Guide to Calculus is the perfect combination of entertainment and education—a valuable supplement for any student, teacher, parent, or professional.

Contains diagnostic tests to show areas of weakness, worked examples with explanations of concepts, exercises with pre-tests and post-tests, and includes the answers to all exercises and test problems.

ased on mathematician George Polya's proven four-step process, this practical guide helps you master the basic procedures and develop a plan of action you can use to solve many different types of word problems. Tips for using systems of equations and quadratic equations are included. Detailed examples and concise explanations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning.

The key to conquering the most-feared type of standardized test questions This is an indispensable resource for the parents of the more than 16 million school children nationwide who, each year, take standardized assessment tests of basic math and language skills. It focuses on the category of test question that students dread the most and in which they do least well: mathematics word problems. Written by a national expert in mathematics education, it takes the fear and frustration out of mathematics word problems by providing a simple, step-by-step approach that emphasizes the mechanics and grammar of problem solving and that is guaranteed to make solving all types of math word problems a breeze, even for math-phobic students. Covers all types of mathematics word problems found on standardized tests and identifies the value of each type on the tests Features dozens of examples and practice problems, with step-by-step solutions and key mathematics concepts clearly explained Includes a 50-question drill using problems drawn from actual tests, with answers provided at the back of the book

The self-teaching manual that makes learning statistics E-Z ; An in-depth subject review to help you achieve a higher grade in statistics ; Filled with practice questions with answers explained ; Includes charts, graphs, diagrams, and instructive illustrations

Focused coverage for the 2014 GED Mathematical Reasoning test ; Get comfortable with all the new question types ; Hundres of hints, shortcuts, and exercises reinforce key points ; 2 full-length GED Math practice exams

All-new lesson-by-lesson instruction in the math skills that students need to earn a passing grade on the latest version of the GED test McGraw-Hill Education Strategies for the GED Test in Mathematical Reasoning focuses on developing the specific math skills required to succeed on the Mathematical Reasoning section of the test. Students get intensive, lesson-by-lesson instruction in all of the topic areas covered by the Common Core State Standards that are now the basis of the GED exam. Drills and exercises--many in the question formats now used on the real exam--reinforce learning and assess student progress A full-length Posttest provides a simulated test-taking experience to build student confidence in advance of test day

This guide is organized based on the test plan for the TEAS with a section for each subject area and a chapter for each objective. Each chapter provides an overview of the objective, the most important concepts, key terms, study recommendations, practice questions, and study exercises.