Research Guides: Panther PATHways: Start Here

Getting Started Identifying the QEP

A Successful QEP
PowerPoint presented by Cathy Almquest
Be Part of an SFSC Focus Group
SFSC Daily Connections post from May 13, 2020
QEP Committee Requests Your Input on Improving Student Learning Outcomes and Success
SFSC Daily Connections post from June 10, 2020

QEP Refine & Define Workshop
PowerPoint of phase 1 of QEP development
QEP Refine & Define Workshop Attendees
List of attendees at the Dec. 11, 2020 workshop
Recap of QEP Define & Refine Workshop
Results of Fishbone diagram
QEP chat

Defining & Refining ACCESS
Results from Ishikawa (Cause & Effect) Breakout Groups
Five Whys - Root Cause Analysis
Results of Five Whys Breakout Groups

QEP Topic Selection Workshop
PowerPoint going through phase 2 of QEP development
QEP Topic Selection Workshop Attendees
List of attendees at the Feb. 5, 2021 workshop
QEP Whiteboard Notes
From the Define the Problem activity

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source: Your shortcut to education class success! Access full-text articles from 350+ journals since 1996, with citations back to 1983. Perfect for papers on teaching methods, classroom management, and more. From preschool to college, find everything you need for your education courses. Future teachers, start your journey to becoming the cool educator here!
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers educational topics. Contains full text coverage of 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education), in addition to the ERIC index and database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science, mathematics, and teacher education. Contains citations and indexing.

General Search Tips

Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.