Research Guides: Panther PATHways: Articles and Reports

Education Subject Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers education related topics. Contains full text of from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, and citations and indexing of education periodicals as far back as 1983.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers educational topics. Contains full text coverage of 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education), in addition to the ERIC index and database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science, mathematics, and teacher education. Contains citations and indexing.

General Reports

Follow this advice for an effective guided pathways program
Byline: Joan Hope NEW ORLEANS - Guided pathways have led to increased completion numbers for community colleges that have implemented them. The pathways provide students with a clear map to completion. But just providing a list of courses for students to take is not enough. Effective guided pathways require "long-term, large-scale institutional change," said Kay McClenney, senior advisor to the president and chief executive officer at the American Association of Community Colleges.
How Community Colleges Can Bring Back Black, Hispanic, and Native American Adults Back to Campus and Help Them Earn Valuable Credentials
In a new set of studies, the Community College Research Center explores what
states and community colleges can do to address the needs of racially minoritized adult learners who want to return to college to retrain for a new job, pursue a better job, or earn more money—especially in light of job losses during the COVID-19 pandemic.
more...less...
Ganga, E. & Glatter, H. (2021). How community colleges can bring back black, Hispanic, and Native American adults back to campus and help them earn valuable credentials. Columbia University. Teachers College. Community College Research Center. https://ccrc.tc.columbia.edu/media/k2/attachments/adult-students-press-release.pdf
Provide guided pathways to maximize adult completion
Byline: Halley Sutton CHICAGO - How do you ensure that students at your community college are making the most of their time, money, and effort and successfully leveraging your resources to complete their goals while at your institution? It was a problem facing the Alamo Colleges, five community colleges located in the San Antonio, Texas, area, whose students were falling behind the state averages for transfer and completion rates.

Creating a Culture of Caring - Faculty Resource
Practical approaches for college and university faculty to support student wellbeing and mental health.

Active Minds and ACUE (2020)

General Subject Databases

General subject databases offer broad subject coverage in a variety of subject areas.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Unlock the world of knowledge with Gale Academic OneFile, your go-to resource for academic research. This comprehensive database offers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and authoritative sources, including peer-reviewed journals, full-text articles, and multimedia content like podcasts and videos from renowned outlets such as NPR, CNN, and BBC Worldwide Learning. Whether you're diving into biology, chemistry, history, or psychology, you'll find up-to-date information in both PDF and HTML formats. With Gale Academic OneFile, accessing a vast collection of resources, including The Economist, The New York Times, and major reference sets, is straightforward and efficient. Perfect for students seeking reliable, in-depth material for their academic pursuits.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, ranked second largest in the Academic Search suite, is an essential resource for scholarly research. This multidisciplinary database offers access to more than 5,000 active full-text journals. It supports advanced research across a broad range of academic disciplines. The database is notable for its thorough curation and indexing of active open access (OA) journals from around the world. Once validated and certified, these journals receive high-quality subject indexing and precise full-text linking, enhancing the utility and accessibility of the database for academic users.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Types of Articles

Empirical Research Articles: usually around 5-20 pages and are complete descriptions of original research findings.
Literary Analysis Articles: provide analysis of a particular work from a specific critical or theoretical point of view.
Literature Review Articles: do not cover original research but instead look at results of multiple articles on a particular topic. These articles are valuable as overviews of the research on a particular topic.
Letters/Communications: Short descriptions of the latest study or research findings which are usually considered urgent for immediate publication.
Book Reviews: review recently published books in a particular field. Often contain critique or praise for newly published books.