Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental and Pollution Science by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
The book covers key topics such as the fate and transport of contaminants, monitoring and remediation of pollution, sources and characteristics of pollution, and risk assessment and management.
Climate Change by
Call Number: QC903.R65 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-03
This book offers the most up-to-date examination of climate change's foundational science, implications for our future, and clean energy solutions that can mitigate its effects.
Water - All That Matters by
Call Number: GB661.2.Y68 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
The world's population is increasing; but its supply of water is not. Empires have grown and declined due to discovery and exhaustion of their water sources, and now the West is at last catching on to the fact that abundance of water can no longer be taken for granted. For the last fifty years, wars have been fought over oil; for the next fifty, they may be fought over water (in fact, some local wars already have been). Remarkably, this new book is the first to bring together the ecological, geographical, political and scientific aspects of water. Its author, Professor Paul Younger, is one of the UK's leading experts on water - a substance of which we consume 150 litres of a day, and in its bottled form are willing to pay more for than for petrol.
Sacrifice Zones by
Call Number: RA1226 .L47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-30
In Sacrifice Zones, Steve Lerner tells the stories of twelve communities, from Brooklyn to Pensacola, that rose up to fight the industries and military bases causing disproportionately high levels of chemical pollution. He calls these low-income neighborhoods "sacrifice zones"—repurposing a Cold War term coined by U.S. government officials to designate areas contaminated with radioactive pollutants during the manufacture of nuclear weapons. And he argues that residents of a new generation of sacrifice zones, tainted with chemical pollutants, need additional regulatory protections. Studies show that poor and minority neighborhoods are more polluted than wealthier areas located farther away from heavy industry. Sacrifice Zones goes beyond these disheartening statistics and gives us the voices of the residents themselves.
Invasive Species by
Call Number: QH353.S56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
This book studies the ecology of invasive species, examining the effects that such invasions have on various types of ecosystems
Nuclear Energy by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Originally perceived as a cheap and plentiful source of power, the commercial use of nuclear energy has been controversial for decades. Worries about the dangers that nuclear plants and their radioactive waste posed to nearby communities grew over time, and plant construction in the United States virtually died after the early 1980s. The 1986 disaster at Chernobyl only reinforced nuclear power's negative image. Yet in the decade prior to the Japanese nuclear crisis of 2011, sentiment about nuclear power underwent a marked change. The alarming acceleration of global warming due to the burning of fossil fuels and concern about dependence on foreign fuel has led policymakers, climate scientists, and energy experts to look once again at nuclear power as a source of energy. In this accessible overview, Charles D. Ferguson provides an authoritative account of the key facts about nuclear energy. What is the origin of nuclear energy? What countries use commercial nuclear power, and how much electricity do they obtain from it? How can future nuclear power plants be made safer? What can countries do to protect their nuclear facilities from military attacks? How hazardous is radioactive waste? Is nuclear energy a renewable energy source? Featuring a discussion of the recent nuclear crisis in Japan and its ramifications, Ferguson addresses these questions and more in a book that is essential for anyone looking to learn more about this important issue.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)
Covers environmental issues and policy with full text, citations, and indexing.
Contains information on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Contains full text, citations, and indexing for scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Covers information on social issues and controversies. Contains continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Cargill: Feast or Famine?
American mulitnational, Cargill, trades in food commodities. The corporation is at the center of a controversy regarding destruction of food crops and local jobs, pollution, and deforestation. In France, the U.S., and Amazonia, farmers and residents sound the alarm about the negative consequences of the global agri-business. This program investigates the multinational and its business practices. (53 minutes)
The Habitable Planet: A Systems Approach to Environmental Science Series
The Earth is probably unique in our solar system—a rare platform for complex life forms. The conditions present on Earth are maintained within a reasonable range by a series of global cycles linking geological systems with diverse forms of life present in almost every available niche. This course asks: What makes Earth unique among planets? How are life forms, namely human beings, sustained by the Earth's overall ecosystem, and, in turn, what effects do humans have on its natural systems? What does Earth's future look like? Given current trends, what can be predicted and what might be expected if we acted in concert to mitigate our impacts on the planet itself? This series begins with an overview of the Earth's systems — geophysical, atmospheric, oceanic, and ecosystems — as they exist independently of human influence. Following this introduction, the series explores the effect that human activities have on the different natural systems. Topics include human population growth and resource use, increasing competition for fresh water, and climate change. Each of the 13 programs features two case studies following top scientists in the field. (28 minutes each)
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
The lead agency for environmental management and stewardship, is one of the more diverse agencies in state government - protecting our air, water and land. DEP is divided into three primary areas: Regulatory Programs, Land and Recreation, and Water Policy and Ecosystem Restoration
From Canals to Conservation: An Exhibit of the Historical Everglades (UFDC)
Cover exploration of the Everglades at the turn of the 19th-century to vital conservation efforts the 1950s. Related links to special collections are located throughout the exhibit.
How the Tech Community is Combating Climate Change + Free Environmentally Friendly Resources and GitHub Projects
Throughout this article, you will gain a greater understanding of climate change and its effects and learn how the tech community is fighting climate change through carbon-efficient, green digital, and software solutions. They conclude by sharing a list of technology resources you can use to take action, including GitHub projects, libraries, APIs, open data sets, and more.
NASA: Climate Change and Global Warming
Climate Change is discussed using an evidence-based approach. Content includes interactive modules that present facts about climate change, the cause and effects of climate change, including global warming, scientific data on the subject, and some solutions and resources to the problems developing across the Planet.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The main job of the EPA is working to ensure Americans have clean air, land and water across the nation; that tasks such as enforcing Federal laws, monitoring clean-up efforts, and maintaining its stewardship of the country's natural resources. This site includes information on environmental issues, as well as specific policies, laws, and regulations to including monitoring, enforcement, and compliance.