Children's Literature

A must for every family bookshelf. Highly regarded as one of the most popular poetry anthologies ever published, this collection includes poems by Blake, Emerson, Dickinson, Longfellow, Stevenson, et al.

Musician, botanist, baseball player, pilot--the Latinos featured in this collection,Bravo!,come from many different countries and from many different backgrounds. Celebrate their accomplishments and their contributions to a collective history and a community that continues to evolve and thrive today! Biographical poems include: Aida de Acosta, Arnold Rojas, Baruj Benacerraf, César Chávez, Fabiola Cabeza de Baca, Félix Varela, George Meléndez, José Martí, Juan de Miralles, Juana Briones, Julia de Burgos, Louis Agassiz Fuertes, Paulina Pedroso, Pura Belpré, Roberto Clemente, Tito Puente, Ynes Mexia, Tomás Rivera

A version in Cajun dialect of the famous poem, "The Night Before Christmas," set in a Louisiana bayou.

William Blake, Kate Greenaway, Emily Dickinson: the writers in this charming anthology of 200 poems--first published in 1969--are among literature's most beloved. And Gyo Fujikawa's appealing illustrations depict children of all races sweetly interacting, as well as an engagingly rendered menagerie of animals and the natural world in all its wonderment. Among the verses that children will love are Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's "Christmas Bells," Lewis Carroll's "The Melancholy Pig," and Eugene Fields' "Wynken, Blynken, and Nod," along with proverbs, limericks, nursery rhymes, and folk songs.

From New York Times bestselling Shel Silverstein, celebrated creator of Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, and Falling Up, comes an amazing collection of never-before-published poems and drawings. Have you ever read a book with everything on it? Well, here it is! You will say Hi-ho for the toilet troll, get tongue-tied with Stick-a-Tongue-Out-Sid, play a highly unusual horn, and experience the joys of growing down. What's that? You have a case of the Lovetobutcants? Impossible! Just come on in and let the magic of Shel Silverstein bend your brain and open your heart. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!

From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the classic creator of Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, and Every Thing On It, comes a wondrous book of poems and drawings. Filled with unforgettable characters like Screamin' Millie; Allison Beals and her twenty-five eels; Danny O'Dare, the dancin' bear; the Human Balloon; and Headphone Harold, this collection by the celebrated Shel Silverstein will charm young readers and make them want to trip on their shoelaces and fall up too! So come, wander through the Nose Garden, ride the Little Hoarse, eat in the Strange Restaurant, and let the magic of Shel Silverstein open your eyes and tickle your mind. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!

Superb treasury of time-honored poetic gems includes Lewis Carroll's "The Walrus and the Carpenter," Edward Lear's "The Owl and the Pussy-Cat," Eugene Field's "Wynken, Blynken and Nod," Emily Dickinson's "I'm Nobody! Who are you?," Robert Louis Stevenson's "The Swing," many more. Printed in large, easy-to-read type.

A NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER AND INCLUDED IN THE BOOKLISTTOP 10 ART BOOKS FOR YOUTH! Perfect for fans of A B to Jay-Zand Nikki Giovanni who are seeking modern hip hop poetry books for kids. Our consensus is Hip Hop Speaks to Childrenis the most essential poetry purchase to make this year. The poetry is enough. The illustrations are enough. The CD is enough. Together, this book is a treasure of which you cannot get enough. We shall accomplish much this year. Children will be encouraged to put their words to poetry and beats. Teachers will be encouraged to allow the artists to speak to children. --Diane Chen, School Library Journal blog "Practically Paradise" Hip Hop Speaks to Children is a celebration ofpoetry with a beat. Poetry can have both a rhyme and a rhythm. Sometimes it is obvious; sometimes it is hidden. But either way, make no mistake, poetry is as vibrant and exciting as it gets. And when you find yourself clapping your hands or tapping your feet, you know you''ve found poetry with a beat! Like Poetry Speaks to Children, the New York Times Bestselling classic poetry book and CD that started it all, Hip Hop Speaks toChildrenis meant to be the beginning of a journey of discovery. READ more than 50 remarkable poems and songs! HEARpoetry''s rhymes and rhythms from Queen Latifah to Gwendolyn Brooks, Langston Hughes to A Tribe Called Quest and more! * Also hear part of Martin Luther Kind''s original "I Have a Dream" speech, followed by the remarkable live performance of the speech by Nikki Giovanni, Oni Lasanaand Val Gray Ward. * TheHip Hop Speaks to Children CD contains more than 30 performances, either by the artists who created them, or as unique interpretations by admiring poets and artists. DISCOVERLangston Hughes''s elegant gospel "The Negro Speaks of Rivers," A Tribe Called Quest''s playful "Ham ''N'' Eggs," Sterling A. Brown''s hard-luck "Long Track Blues," Gwendolyn Brooks''s wake-up call "We Real Cool," Kanye West''s lovely "Hey Mama," and Martin Luther King Jr.''s awe-inspiring "I Have a Dream." This is a collection of rhymes and rhythms unlike any other poetry book! Celebrate with remarkable poets, including: Eloise Greenfield Mos Def Lucille Clifton Oscar Brown Jr. Tupac Shakur Maya Angelou Queen Latifah Nikki Grimes Walter Dean Myers Common and, of course, Nikki Giovanni Poems Include: Ego Tripping Rapper''s Delight The Negro Speaks of Rivers Hey Mama Ham ''N'' Eggs Everything Is Everything Ladies First MORE PRAISE FOR HIP HOP SPEAKS TO CHILDREN "With its archival recordings of poems read by the poets themselves, [Hip Hop] reminds everyone that poetry springs from an oral tradition."--Publishers Weekly "This is the way to get children interested in reading and loving poetry. ... A great book for both teachers and parents."-- Valerie Lewis, owner of Hicklebee''s children''s bookstore "The poems, the artwork, the CD...all complement each other to create a wonderful experience."--Becky Laney, Becky Laney''s Books blog "Love this book. I think it is a K-8 must-have for classrooms and libraries.Like I said it is packed and it may be (at first) intimidating to young readers. But, once they hear some of the audio, spend time with the illustrations, and experience some of the poetry, I think it will become a favorite."--Franki Sibberson, A Year of Reading blog "Hip Hop Speaks to Childrenis a wonderfully composed collection of poems from writers like Eloise Greenfield to late rapper and poet, Tupac Shakur. ... Whether youreadpoetry or you hear it in a rap song, Giovanni''s genius endeavor will inspire children of all ages to have fun while listening to poetry.Rapispoetry, right?"--Amy Bowllan, Amy Bowllan''s Blog (a School Library Journal Blog) "I highly recommend this one for all collections. If the title didn''t include the word "children" it''d be an excellent book all the way to high school. My coworkers and I are already talking about doing a Hip Hop poetry story time for our elementary school kids."--Jennifer Rothschild, Biblio File blog

This rich and intricate collection of poems chronicles the various experiences of American slaves. Drawn together through imagery drawn from quilting and fiber arts, each poem is spoken from a different perspective: a house slave, a mother losing her daughter to the auction block, a blacksmith, a slave fleeing on the Underground Railroad. This moving and eloquent set of poems, brought to life by vivid and colorful artwork from Michele Wood, offers a timeless witness to the hardship endured by America's slaves. Each poem is supplemented by a historical note.

From the Newbery Medal winning author of Seedfolks, Paul Fleischman, Joyful Noise is a collection of irresistible poems that celebrates the insect world. Funny, sad, loud, and quiet, each of these poems resounds with a booming, boisterous, joyful noise. The poems resound with the pulse of the cicada and the drone of the honeybee. Eric Beddows′s vibrant drawings send each insect soaring, spinning, or creeping off the page in its own unique way. Paul Fleischman has created not only a fascinating guide to the insect world but an exultant celebration of life.

Maya Angelou's brave poem is illustrated by the paintings of Jean-Michel Basquiat. Angelou is well-known for her autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Biographies of the artists are included.

From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings--a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old. This special edition contains 12 never-before-published poems. A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again. Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!  

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people--from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series. "The illustrations bring the frivolity to a fever pitch."--School Library Journal. Open this book to any page to begin your exploration. Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken. You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party.... This playful collection is a wonderful introduction to the pleasures of poetry and word play from a master of the genre, Jack Prelutsky. "It's the author's joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page."--Horn Book (starred review)

The 2018 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner A Newbery Medalist and a Caldecott Honoree's New York Times best-selling ode to poets who have sparked a sense of wonder. Out of gratitude for the poet's art form, Newbery Award-winning author and poet Kwame Alexander, along with Chris Colderley and Marjory Wentworth, present original poems that pay homage to twenty famed poets who have made the authors' hearts sing and their minds wonder. Stunning mixed-media images by Ekua Holmes, winner of a Caldecott Honor and a John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award, complete the celebration and invite the reader to listen, wonder, and perhaps even pick up a pen.

Over the River and Through the Wood is the first and only collection of its kind, offering readers an unequaled view of the quality and diversity of nineteenth-century American children's poetry. Most American poets wrote for children--from famous names such as Ralph Waldo Emerson to less familiar figures like Christina Moody, an African American author who published her first book at sixteen. In its excellence, relevance, and abundance, much of this work rivals or surpasses poetry written for adults, yet it has languished--inaccessible and unread--in old periodicals, gift books, and primers. This groundbreaking anthology remedies that loss, presenting material that is both critical to the tradition of American poetry and also a delight to read. Complemented by period illustrations, this definitive collection includes work by poets from all geographical regions, as well as rarely seen poems by immigrant and ethnic writers and by children themselves. Karen L. Kilcup and Angela Sorby have combed the archives to present an extensive selection of rediscoveries along with traditional favorites. By turns playful, contemplative, humorous, and subversive, these poems appeal to modern sensibilities while giving scholars a revised picture of the nineteenth-century literary landscape.

Jack Prelutsky is widely acknowledged as the poet laureate of the younger generation. (And many people would happily see him crowned with no age qualification.) The New Kid on the Block and Something Big Has Been Here are household words wherever there are kids. Here is another wondrously rich, varied, clever - and always funny - collection. Meet Miss Misinformation, Swami Gourami, and Gladiola Gloppe (and her Soup Shoppe), and delight in a backwards poem, a poem that ever ends, and scores of others that will be changed, read, and loved by readers of every age. The Prelutsky-Stevenson duo is irresistible. Whether you begin at the beginning or just open the book at random, you won't stop smiling.

Now beautifully redesigned, this Poetry for Young People collection brings us into the world of Emily Dickinson, where even the most ordinary things can turn magical. In addition to a brief biography of Dickinson, more than 35 much-loved poems include “I'm nobody, who are you?” and “I started early, took my dog." Superb, yet always child-friendly, images make this a volume not to be missed.

WINNER OF THE 2007 CORETTA SCOTT KING ILLUSTRATOR HONOR AWARD!   A fresh design and appealing new cover enliven this award-winning collection in the acclaimed Poetry for Young People series. Showcasing the extraordinary Langston Hughes, its edited by two leading poetry experts and features gallery-quality art by Benny Andrews that adds rich dimension to the words. Hughess magnificent, powerful words still resonate today, and the anthologized poems in this splendid volume include his best-loved works: "The Negro Speaks of Rivers"; "My People"; "Words Like Freedom"; "Harlem"; and "I, Too"--his sharp, pointed response to Walt Whitmans "I Hear America Singing."  

An acclaimed anthology receives a new design and cover! Award-winning writer, historian, and civil rights activist Dr. Maya Angelou is a true American icon. Twenty-five of her finest poems capture a range of emotions and experiences, from the playful "Harlem Hopscotch" to the prideful "Me and My Work" to the soul-stirring "Still I Rise." Award-winning artist Jerome Lagarrigue masterfully illustrates each verse, and renowned academic Dr. Edwin Graves Wilson, a longtime colleague of Dr. Angelou, has written the books introduction, introductions to the poems, and annotations.

Discover the mingling of past and present in this rich African story following Shadow--featuring delightfully spooky art by Caldecott Medal winner Marcia Brown. Shadow itself has no shadow... It goes forth at night to prowl around the fires. It even likes to mingle with the dancers. Thus it is both prowler and dancer. Discover the eerie translation of the poem by Blaise Cendrars about the rich history of African storytellers and shamans passing into memory. Marcia Brown's stunning illustrations in collage, inspired by her travels in Africa, evoke the atmosphere and drama of a life now haunted and enchanted by Shadow--the beliefs of the present and the spirits of the past.

A beautiful collection of poems from around the world selected by renowned anthologist Naomi Shihab Nye. This award-winning multicultural compilation of poetry introduces more than 125 poems from sixty-eight countries around the world, many translated into English for the first time, and offers glimpses of similarities across people despite cultural differences.

Since its original publication in 1985, Tomie dePaola's Mother Goose has become a staple on children's bookshelves everywhere, and features over two hundred Mother Goose rhymes charmingly illustrated by one of today's most beloved artists. This special anniversary edition includes a framable print with brand-new art and an author's note from Tomie, and is sure to continue as a family favorite for generations to come.

Inspired by William Blake's Songs of Innocence andSongs of Experience,this delightful collection of poetry for children brings to life Blake's imaginary inn and its unusual guests.

Shel Silverstein, the New York Times bestselling author of The Giving Tree, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, has created a poetry collection that is outrageously funny and deeply profound. Come in...for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein's world begins. This special edition contains 12 extra poems. You'll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist. Shel Silverstein's masterful collection of poems and drawings stretches the bounds of imagination and will be cherished by readers of all ages. This is a collection that belongs on everyone's bookshelf. Makes a great gift for special occasions such as holidays, birthdays, and graduation. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book by Shel Silverstein!