Research Guides: Children's Literature: Suggested Resources

Suggested Resources

Best Books for Children by John T. Gillespie; Catherine Barr
Call Number: Ref Z1037 .G48 2010
ISBN: 9781591585756
Publication Date: 2010-01-28
This book is the newest edition of the acclaimed guide to the best recreational and educational reading for children in preschool through grade 6. * 25,000 annotated entries on recommended children's books * Helpful indexes, including author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level * Thousands of new entries since the previous edition
Best Books for Children, Preschool Through Grade 6 by Catherine Barr
Call Number: Ref Z1037 .G48 2013
ISBN: 9781598847802
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Identify the best books of 2010 to early 2012 with this supplement to the acclaimed guide to recreational and educational reading for children in preschool through sixth grade.
Children's Literature: a reader's history, from Aesop to Harry Potter by Seth Lerer
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780226473000
Publication Date: 2008-06-15
Ever since children have learned to read, there has been children's literature. Children's Literature charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop's fables to Mother Goose, from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to Peter Pan, from Where the Wild Things Are to Harry Potter. The only single-volume work to capture the rich and diverse history of children’s literature in its full panorama, this extraordinary book reveals why J. R. R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Beatrix Potter, and many others, despite their divergent styles and subject matter, have all resonated with generations of readers.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Bernice E. Cullinan (Editor); Diane G. Person (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN1008.5 .C66 2001
ISBN: 0826412718
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
With 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date reference source ever produced on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: the United States, Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, continental Europe, Israel, Africa, and the Far East. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. The board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped to make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly. Also featured are photographs of the best-known figures and samples of classic artwork, many in full color.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Jack Zipes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN1008.5 .O94 2006
ISBN: 9780195146561
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
For much of its history, children's literature has been overlooked or looked down on by scholars. But in recent years children's literature has assumed greater importance, as literary critics, psychologists, anthropologists, and historians have begun to discover what children and parents have known for centuries: that this is a literature of extraordinary richness, depth, and delight. The Encyclopedia captures and elucidates this richness in four volumes and 3,200 signed entries. It offers comprehensive coverage of children's literature, from medieval chapbooks of moral instruction for children to J. K. Rowling's immensely popular Harry Potter books.
A to Zoo by Carolyn W. Lima; Rebecca L. Thomas
Call Number: Ref Z 1037 .L715 2010
ISBN: 9781598844061
Publication Date: 2010-06-17
Stay abreast of the latest children's picture books with this update of your favorite reference tool. * Carefully revised, focusing on more recent titles from the past ten years while keeping popular and available titles from the past, including classics and award winners * Includes a subject guide, a bibliographic guide, and title and illustrator indexes
A to Zoo by Rebecca L. Thomas; Catherine Barr (Editor)
Call Number: Ref Z1037 .L715 2012
ISBN: 9781610693325
Publication Date: 2012-10-08
This supplement to the eighth edition of A to Zoo updates the comprehensive subject guide that explores the wealth of new fiction and nonfiction picture books for young children.

Primo Search

Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

General Search Tips

Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.