Any collection of data, or information, that is specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer.
Source: Encyclopaedia Britannica
A library database is an organized collection of electronic resources, such as journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, magazines, images, and other multimedia content, typically accessible through a digital platform. These databases are used by libraries to store, manage, and provide access to these resources for patrons, students, researchers, and other users.
Library databases often cater to specific subject areas, academic disciplines, or content types, which helps users find relevant information more efficiently. They typically require a subscription or affiliation with an educational institution, library, or organization, granting users access to a vast array of resources that may not be freely available on the internet.
Some databases offer advanced search features, allowing users to filter and refine their search results based on various criteria such as date, language, publication type, or subject. Additionally, library databases often provide citation tools, making it easier for users to reference the materials they access.
In summary, a library database is a valuable resource for accessing a wide range of electronic materials in a structured and organized manner, facilitating research and information discovery.
Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.
If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.