Library Databases

What is a Database?

Any collection of data, or information, that is specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer.

Source: Encyclopaedia Britannica

What is a Library Database?

A library database is an organized collection of electronic resources, such as journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, magazines, images, and other multimedia content, typically accessible through a digital platform. These databases are used by libraries to store, manage, and provide access to these resources for patrons, students, researchers, and other users.

Library databases often cater to specific subject areas, academic disciplines, or content types, which helps users find relevant information more efficiently. They typically require a subscription or affiliation with an educational institution, library, or organization, granting users access to a vast array of resources that may not be freely available on the internet.

Some databases offer advanced search features, allowing users to filter and refine their search results based on various criteria such as date, language, publication type, or subject. Additionally, library databases often provide citation tools, making it easier for users to reference the materials they access.

In summary, a library database is a valuable resource for accessing a wide range of electronic materials in a structured and organized manner, facilitating research and information discovery.

Visit our Primo Research Guide if you have any questions.

• Begin your research with an initial search in Primo, and then explore subject-specific databases for more targeted results.
• Utilize Boolean search terms to enhance your search effectiveness: AND narrows results to those containing both search terms; OR expands results to include either search term (not necessarily both); and NOT eliminates results containing the specified term.
• Commence with a general search, refining it to become more specific as needed. If you possess a basic understanding of your desired focus, search using a broad term and narrow it down based on available resources.
• Examine the subject terms and keywords used in the articles you discover. If they appear relevant, consider incorporating them into your search terms. Should your results be too extensive, add supplementary search terms to refine your inquiry further.
• To search for a specific phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. This ensures the search engine looks for the exact phrase, rather than each word individually. For instance, searching "To be or not to be" will yield that precise phrase, rather than individual words.
• To locate a word or phrase within an article PDF, e-book, or webpage, use the CTRL and F keys to open a search box that scans the text within a document. Remember to maintain a formal tone and employ an informative writing style in English throughout your research process.

If you need more, check our advanced guide to Database Search Tips.