Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Textbook Collections
The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation and use of books which are openly licensed -- in short, free and editable. These textbooks are also openly licensed with a Creative Commons meaning that dependent on the license, they may be legally displayed/uploaded/hosted, distributed, modified, etc. without fee, permission, or conducting a fair use analysis. (See Creative Commons for more information on the various CC open licenses.)
Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each collection has items unique to their collection.
Additional books that are not technically "open" are also listed. They may be "free online" but subject to copyright, or they may be low cost options.
Books in the Public Domain
Open Lectures, Tutorials, and More
E-Books from the Library
Some supplemental materials and textbooks are available through the SFSC Library. Looking for something specific? We can help! Email your friendly librarians!
Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO)
Contains reference, academic and general interest e-books, featuring complete texts all searchable by keyword, subject, author, title, or any Boolean search method.
Excellent for finding information on a specific work of literature, or an author. Search using the title of the work to get a complete overview including characters, plot summaries, cultural context, and criticism of the work.
Contains more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more.
Contains full text literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
Contains eBooks on a variety of academic subject areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Allows a variable number of concurrent users, mostly up to 10 students at a time. However, one can download up to 60 pages of any book. This could make a great supplemental resource.
Covers literature, history, science, and health subjects with full text reference resources.
Fully licensed streaming materials that can even be embedded in D2L.
Streaming video of "Miracle of the Human Body", "Visualizing Cell Processes", and "Visualizing Human Physiology".
Films on Demand
Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Open Textbooks (free and openly licensed)
BCcampus Open ED
Openly licensed textbooks created by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia.
Freely available, open-licensed educational materials in a wide variety of fields (electrical engineering, music, psychology etc.). Rice University.
Digital Public Library of America
Contains links to a wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States. The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources. However, many items are public domain or available for re-use, and there is information in a "rights" field for each item.
Directory of Open Access Books
Openly accessible (and many openly licensed) electronic books. Nearly 2,500 books as of January 2015. Includes search and browse finding features. Many times from international publishers and strong focus on humanities and social sciences.
The Global Text Project
Publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available. They focus on content development and Web distribution, and work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks globally available to the many who cannot afford them.
A collection of U.S. Government created public domain language eBooks and a/v resources for almost every language.
Free online peer-reviewed publication service for medical resources such as teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development.
Promotes educational collaboration through the open exchange of scholarly educational resources.
Users can download and utilize any and all of the published resources for educational purposes without legal infringements.
MERLOT contains links to freely available online textbooks from a variety of sources. MERLOT II is a project of the California State University System.
- Search instructions: (Filter "material type" by "open textbook").
Milne Open Textbooks
A growing collection of openly licensed textbooks in a wide variety of topics.
Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools. Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.
OER Commons indexes a wide variety of openly licensed educational materials. Licenses vary by item.
Search instructions: (Under "material type" select "textbook")
Open Course Library
Range of manterials including syllabi, course activities, and assessments created by faculty, instructional designers, librarians, other experts. Some of these materials are intended to be paired with textbooks. This is a smaller collection, but is sponsored by the Washington State Board of Education and therefore the materials have undergone testing for accessibility and assessed for quality. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.and are available for download and editing via Google Docs.
Open Learning Initiative
Free online courses and course materials offered by Carnegie Mellon University.
Open Stax College (Rice University)
A collection of professional quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed, editable intro-level textbooks. All textbooks are licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution license (CC BY) and are freely available in PDF, HTML, ePub, and customizable via Connexions (cnx.org). iBook versions are $4.99. Hardcover print versions range from $30-50 depending on the size of the book.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of over 140 peer-reviewed and freely available electronic textbooks licensed under one of six Creative Commons licenses.
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
Each of the books in the Saylor Academy bookshelf is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing under one of various open licenses.
A repository of OER supported by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program that lets you browse by material type, discipline, credential type and more.
A showcase of high-quality open educational resources from leading universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
UMass Amherst Libraries
A listing of discipline specific and multi-subject open textbooks.
A collection of openly licensed eBooks on a variety of academic and non-academic topics.
University of Hawaii OER
Assortment of OER materials including textbooks for human nutrition, mathematics for elementary teachers, and more.
An evolving online community intended for the planning of education projects linked with the development of free content and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.
Low-Cost Textbooks (low cost, copyright constraints)
Flat World Knowledge
- Provides faculty-customizable online, PDF and print-on-demand books for $24-134.
- Many of their original books are available under a CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 license http://2012books.lardbucket.org For the press release of their move "from free to fair" see: https://web.archive.org/web/20121110093534/http://www.flatworldknowledge.com/free2fair?