Ovids nursing offerings span traditional specialty areas like pain management, maternity care, surgical nursing, nursing management and evidence-based nursing. They include clinically-relevant tools in diagnosis and care procedures, practitioner journals, references for nurse education and CME, resources for nursing administrators, and foundational research literature.
Covers medical information, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Contains full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965, and citations and indexing for over 4, 000 current biomedical journals
Legal and ethical policies are becoming more and more complicated in the medical field, and their impact on today’s health care provider is an essential topic in nurse training. This four-part series serves as a guide to standardized codes of ethics in the nursing profession.
Since childhood is, by definition, a state of constant change and development, the pediatric nursing field requires trainees to expand the scope of their understanding while still being able to focus on the individual patient. This four-part series examines the stages of child development from infancy to adolescence, showing how to address both immediate health concerns and a wide range of equally important issues—including a child’s growth patterns, his or her position within a family, and the family’s unique cultural background.
Wherever people need wellness services, acute care for an illness or injury, or medical support when bedridden or shut-in, nurses are standing by. This video introduces students to the rewarding career of nursing, the largest health care profession in America. Incorporating interviews with working nurses from a range of medical specialties, the program describes the challenges that nurses face in a variety of work environments—including hospitals, clinics, schools, and homes—and outlines the education and licensing process that nurses must complete. The importance of organization, coping with stress, and the personal and emotional benefits of nursing are also communicated.
The demands of nursing can affect an individual physically, mentally, and emotionally. This program is designed to teach nursing staff members how to cope with the unique demands of their duties, examining specific stressors and highlighting strategies nurses can use to decrease the possibility of stress-related disorders. Identifying negative coping mechanisms commonly used by nursing personnel, the video discusses their health impact and describes positive stress-management techniques.
Progressing from the late 18th century to the present day, this program offers a capsule summary of nursing in America. The tireless work of the U.S. Army and Navy nursing corps, the American Red Cross, and the countless nurses affiliated with hospitals and other organizations is celebrated while honoring the courage and self-sacrifice of those who put themselves in harm’s way in order to help the helpless. Dorothea Dix, Clara Barton, Harriet Tubman, Sojourner Truth, Clara Maass, Lillian Wald, and Lavinia Dock are only a few of the nurses singled out by history—and this video—for special commendation.
The R2 Digital Library is an eBook database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health eBook content from key health science publishers.
Survive clinical skills training with this essential guide for all student nurses. Providing words of wisdom and advice from real-life student nurses, Care Skills for Nurses is an easy-to-read, quick-reference guide to all the key care skills you need to know - boosting your confidence and competence both in the clinical skills lab and on your clinical placements. Special features: Developed by students, for students. Clear, straightforward, and jargon-free. Ties in with the NMC standards for pre-registration education and the Essential Skills Clusters. Examples and questions based on real life nursing and healthcare situations.
Specifically designed for student nurses, Clinical Skills for Nurses provides a handy, portable introduction to both the knowledge and practical procedures that first year nursing students require. Giving you the knowledge behind the skill, this book will boost your confidence and competence for your clinical placements and time in the clinical skills lab. Clinical Skills for Nurses covers the skills and procedures used most frequently in clinical practice, and includes Point of Care training; blood transfusion and tracheotomy care; continence and bowel care; and early patient assessment and response. This book uniquely incorporates words of wisdom and advice from real-life student nurses; in other words: developed by students, for students!
Healthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics. Caring for Patients from Different Cultures has been a vital resource for nurses and physicians for more than twenty years, offering hundreds of case studies that illustrate crosscultural conflicts or misunderstandings as well as examples of culturally competent health care. Now in its fifth edition, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures covers a wide range of topics, including birth, end of life, communication, traditional medicine, mental health, pain, religion, and multicultural staff challenges. This edition includes more than sixty new cases with an expanded appendix, introduces a new chapter on improving adherence, and updates the concluding chapter with examples of changes various hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences. Grounded in concepts from the fields of cultural diversity and medical anthropology, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural differences and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Survive placements and practice with this essential guide for all student nurses. Providing words of wisdom and advice from real-life student nurses, Communication Skills for Nurses is a handy, portable, and fun introduction to the key communication and interpersonal skills you'll need on placement and as a registered nurse.
Written by a nurse and a philosopher, Ethics in Nursing blends the concrete detail of recurring problems in nursing practice with the perspectives, methods, and resources of philosophical ethics. It stresses the aspects of the nurses role and relations with others -- physicians, patients,administrators, other nurses -- that give ethical problems in nursing their special focus. Among the issues addressed are deception, parentalism, confidentiality, conscientious refusal, nurse autonomy, compromise, and personal responsibility for institutional and public policy. The third edition hasbeen enlarged with new cases and case discussions related to AIDS and an additional chapter on the expanding scope of nursing ethics as it addresses issues related to scarce resources, cost containment, justice, and the possibilities of health care rationing.
Find Books, eBooks, Articles, DVDs, and Streaming Videos
Start your search in the library catalog, then look in subject specific databases for more specific results.
Boolean Search terms: AND gives you only results with both of your search terms, OR gives you results with either one of your search terms (but not necessarily both of them), NOT excludes results with that search term.
Start general, and refine to a specific search. If you have a general idea of what you would like to focus on, search a broad term, and then refine as you discover what is available.
Look at the subject terms and keywords that the articles you find are using. If they seem relevant, you may wish to incorporate them into your search terms.
If your results are too broad, add additional search terms to refine your search.
Searching for a specific phrase? Place it in quotation marks to search for those exact works in that order. For example: “To be or not to be” will find that specific phrase, rather than each word individually.
Need to find a word or phrase in an article PDF, an e-book, or on a webpage? Use CTRL and F to open a search box that will search the text within a document.