Research Guides: Nursing Resources: 7 C's of Caring Library

Special Print Book Collection

Care Nursing Collection

7 C's of Caring Selected Resources

Uncovering meaning through the aesthetic turn: A pedagogy of caring.
Authors: C. D. Barry & M. Purnell
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 12(2), 19-23
Teaching caring nursing to RN-BSN students using simulation technology.
Authors: C. A. Blum, C. Hickman, D. A. Parcells, & R. C. Locsin.
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2010, 14(2), 41-50
Caring within nursing education: A metasynthesis .
Author: C. T. Beck
Journal: Journal of Nursing Education
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2001, 40(3), 101-109
Caring as a core concept in educating midwifery learners: A qualitative study.
Authors: Mmajapi E. Chokwe & Susan C.D. Wright
Journal: Health SA Gesondheid: Journal of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2012, Vol.17(1), Article 653, 1-7
An integral-caring-science RN-BS nursing curriculum: Outcomes from fostering consciousness evolution .
Author: C. Clark
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(2), 67-76
Essay: Reflections of a student nurse educator.
Author: D. Cohn-Temkins
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(1), 88
Caring as an imperative for nursing education.
Author: P. R. Cook, & J. A. Cullen
Journal: Nursing Education Perspectives
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2003, 24(4), 192-197
The phenomenon of caring: Perspectives of nurse educators.
Author: P. Coyle-Rogers & M. Kramer
Journal: Journal for Nurses in Staff Development
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2005, 21(4), 160-170
Grounding nursing simulations in caring: An innovative approach
Authors: T.L. Eggenberger & K.B. Keller
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 12(2), 42-46
Exploring pre-nursing students' perceptions of caring and nursing: A phenomenological study
Authors: C.M. Grobbel & L. Rowe
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2014, 18(1), 8-16
Strategies for teaching aesthetics to undergraduate nursing students .
Authors: K.S. Hegedus & A.L. Kenefick
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2006, 10(3), 65-68
Developing and sustaining a study abroad program as viewed through a caring lens .
Authors: K.S. Hegedus, J. McNulty, L-M. Griffiths, A. Engler, L. Cabrera, & V. Rose
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(1), 24-32
Teaching end-of-life nursing using simulation.
Authors: C. Ladd, K. Grimley, C. Hickman, & T.A. Touhy
Journal: Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 15(1), 41-51
FIT to Care: An Action Research Study Exploring the Use of Communication Theory to Strengthen Caring Relationships between Teachers and Students.
Authors: Pamela K. Lake, Barbara K. Haas, & Marsha Matthews
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2014, 18(3), 15-25
Professional caring: descriptions from student nurses' perspectives midway through their educational program.
Authors: M.G. Landers, E. Weathers, G. McCarthy, & J.J. Fitzpatrick
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2014, 18(4), 52-58
Application and evaluation of a caring code in clinical nursing education .
Authors: J. Lee-Hsieh, C.L. Kuo, & H.F. Tseng
Journal: Journal of Nursing Education
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2005, 44(4), 177-184
Reprint. The Phenomenon of Caring, Part V: Caring: The essence and central focus of nursing .
Author: M. Leininger
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring. Reprinted from Nursing Research Report, 1977,12(2),14
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2012, 16(2), 57-58
Student Paper. Caring for novice nurses applying Swanson's theory of caring.
Author: C. Moffa
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2015, 19(1), 63-66
Role modeling: A method for teaching caring in nursing education.
Authors: T.P. Nelms, J.M. Jones, & D.P. Gray
Journal: Journal of Nursing Education
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1993, 32(1), 18-23
The focus of the discipline revisited.
Authors: M.A. Newman, M.C. Smith, M. Dexheimer Pharris, & D. Jones
Journal: Advances in Nursing Science
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 31(1) E16-E27
Moral education in an age of globalization.
Author: N. Noddings
Journal: Educational Philosophy and Theory
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2010, 42(4), 390-396
Development and psychometric testing of the Technological Competency as Caring in Nursing instrument.
Authors: D.A. Parcells & R.C. Locsin
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2011, 15(4), 8-13
Gleaning wisdom in the research on caring .
Author: M.J. Purnell
Journal: Nursing Science Quarterly
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2009, 22(2), 109-115
Caring behaviors of preceptors as perceived by new nursing graduate orientees.
Author: D.L. Schumacher
Journal: Journal for Nurses in Staff Development
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2007, 23(4), 186-192
Relationships among student and graduate caring ability and professional school climate.
Author: P.R. Simmons & S.H. Cavanaugh
Journal: Journal of Professional Nursing
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2000, 16(2), 76-83
Student-preferred caring behaviors for online nursing education.
Author: K. Sitzman
Journal: Nursing Education Perspectives
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2010, 31(3), 171-178
The relationship between caring ability and competency with caring behaviors of nursing students.
Author: K. Sokola
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(1), 45-55
Dementia, personhood, and nursing: Learning from a nursing situation.
Author: T.A. Touhy
Journal: Nursing Science Quarterly
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2004, 17(1), 43-49
Caring as the central domain in nursing education.
Authors: T.A. Touhy & A. Boykin
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 12(2), 8-15
Nursing students' perceptions of instructor caring: An instrument based on Watson's theory of transpersonal caring.
Authors: G.H. Wade & N. Kasper
Journal: Journal of Nursing Education
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2006, 45(5), 162-168
Embracing the difference caring makes: Implementing caring groups in a new graduate orientation program.
Authors: C.B. Wilson, K. Martin, & J. Esposito
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2015, 19(1), 27-23
The lived experience of BSN students in caring groups: Priceless.
Authors: C. Wilson & K. Grams
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(3), 13-19
Using the Six Cs as a caring tool to evaluate the simulation experience.
Authors: J. Winland-Brown, S. Garnett, J. Weiss, & D. Newman
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2013, 17(2), 9-15
Understanding homelessness using a simulated nursing experience.

Authors: C. Barry, C.A. Blum, T.L. Eggenberger, C. Hickman, & R. Mosley
Journal: Holistic Nursing Practice
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2009, 23(4), 230-237

Qualitative convergence of three nursing concepts: art of nursing, presence, and caring.

Author: D. Finfgeld-Connett
Journal: Journal of Advanced Nursing
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 63(5), 527-534

Stories as integrated patterns of knowing in nursing education.

Author: L.A. Hunter
Journal: International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2008, 5(1), Article 38, 1-16

Using clinical caring journaling: Nursing student and instructor experiences.
Authors: C-L. Kuo, M. Turton, S-F. Cheng, & J. Lee-Hsieh
Journal: The Journal of Nursing Research
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2011, 19(2), 141-149; *article is in Chinese
Graduate students' perceptions: Feeling the passion of caring online.
Authors: D. W. Leners & K. Sitzman
Journal: Nursing Education Perspectives
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2006, 27(6), 315-319
Caring: Theoretical perspectives relevant to nursing.
Authors: T.V. McCance, H.P. McKenna, & J.M.P Boore.
Journal: Journal of Advanced Nursing
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1999, 30, 1388-1395
Living a caring presence in nursing: A Heideggerian hermeneutical analysis
Author: T. Nelms
Journal: Journal of Advanced Nursing
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1996, 24, 368-374

Caring: a relational approach to ethics & moral education by Nel Noddings
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780520957343

Publication Date: 2013-09-14

With numerous examples to supplement her rich theoretical discussion, Nel Noddings builds a compelling philosophical argument for an ethics based on natural caring, as in the care of a mother for her child. In Caring--now updated with a new preface and afterword reflecting on the ongoing relevance of the subject matter--the author provides a wide-ranging consideration of whether organizations, which operate at a remove from the caring relationship, can truly be called ethical. She discusses the extent to which we may truly care for plants, animals, or ideas. Finally, she proposes a realignment of education to encourage and reward not just rationality and trained intelligence, but also enhanced sensitivity in moral matters.

Also available in print Call Number Care Nursing Collection BJ1475 .N62 2013
The Caring Imperative in Education by Madeleine Leininger (Editor); Jean Watson (Editor)
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT73.C32 1990

ISBN: 0887374700

Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Includes papers from conference cosponsored by the Center for Human Caring and the International Association for Human Caring.
"Pub. no. 41-2308."
Caring in Nursing Classics by Smith; Smith; Marlaine C. Smith (Editor); Marian C. Turkel (Editor); Zane Robinson Wolf (Editor)
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT85.5.C373 2013

ISBN: 0826171117

Publication Date: 2012-12-12

This is a core resource for nursing educators and students at all levels who seek fundamental perspectives on the art and science of caring. The text comprises 37 classic book chapters and journal articles written by leaders in the field and illuminate the evolution of the caring paradigm--from its beginnings as a philosophical/ethical/theoretical guide to nursing, to implications for the future development of caring science.
Creating a Caring Science Curriculum by Marcia Hills; Jean Watson
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780826105899

Publication Date: 2011-04-01

The hallmark text for nursing faculty seeking to promote the transformative teaching of caring science, this book reflects the paramount scholarship of caring science educators. The volume intertwines visionary thinking with blueprints, living exemplars, and dynamic directions for the application of fundamental principles. It features emancipatory teaching/learning scholarship, and student/teacher, relation/evaluation models for adoption into education and practice regimens. Divided into five units, the text addresses the history of the caring curriculum revolution and its reemergence as a powerful presence within nursing.

Also available in print Call Number Care Nursing Collection RT71 .H545 2011
Nursing, Caring, and Complexity Science by Alice Ware Davidson; Marilyn Anne Ray; Marian C. Turkel
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780826125880

Publication Date: 2011-01-01

This innovative volume explores nursing and complexity science, and investigates how they relate in research, education, and practice. The book examines best methods for using complex systems, with expert contributing authors drawn from nursing, sociology, informatics, and mathematics. Each author is actively involved in studying and applying complexity science in diverse populations and various settings-especially in terms of nursing, chronic care, health care organizations, and community health networks. Chapters conclude with a response written by a nursing scholar, administrator, or practitioner, focusing on chapter concepts relevant to the complex systems seen in nursing. Chapters also include models that relate how these concepts can be used in practice, management, education, and research-from micro to macro scales.
Nursing as Caring: A model for transforming practice by Anne Boykin; Savina O. Schoenhofer
Call Number: Project Gutenberg PDF copy

ISBN: 076371643X

Publication Date: 2001-01-09

Caring is an essential value in the personal and professional lives of nurses. This book is a response to the call for a theory of nursing as caring. The Nursing as Caring theory is about a unique way of living, caring in the world. This theory provides a view that can be lived in all nursing situations and can be practiced alone or in combination with other theories.

Also available in print Call Number Caring Nursing Collection RT84.5 .B69 2001
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Marlaine Smith; Marilyn E. Parker
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 0803633122

Publication Date: 2015-01-27

The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today.

Also available in print Call Number Care Nursing Collection RT84.5 .N8793 2015
Perspectives on Nursing Theory by Pamela G. Reed; Nelma B. Crawford Shearer
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT84.5 .P47 2012

ISBN: 1609137485

Publication Date: 2011-10-14

This text is a comprehensive anthology of important articles addressing diverse theoretical and philosophical perspectives on the nature of theory and knowledge development in nursing. This resource features cited articles that facilitate thought and discussion among nurses, researchers, students, and teachers. It features 52 of the most widely read and frequently cited articles reflecting seminal, modern, and futuristic perspectives on nursing theory and includes new articles reflecting current views of nursing theory and trends. It also includes biographical information about each author that provides insight into the author's perspective.
Toward a Caring Curriculum by Em Olivia Bevis; Jean Watson
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT71.R48 1989

ISBN: 0887374409

Publication Date: 1989-01-01

This landmark book presents a challenging curriculum paradigm for nursing education that empowers nurses to create a healthcare system true to its name. It has emerged as a turning point in the ongoing curriculum revolution, continuing to inspire faculty and nursing graduates and affecting nursing practice. Ultimately, this book transforms our conception of nurses and nursing and has a profound effect on the health of individuals and communities.
Transforming Presence: the difference that nursing makes by Margaret A. Newman; Margaret Newman
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 0803617526

Publication Date: 2007-11-27

Margaret Newman's theory is covered in every nursing theories course and it is the theory specified by the American Holistic Nurses Association as consistent with their criteria for certification. This primary work by one of nursing's foremost theorists will present examples of application of the theory in several practice settings including clinical, research, education and administration, clearly demonstrating its useful link to practice.

Also available in print Call Number Care Nursing Collection RT84.5 .N483 2008

Nursing as Caring: A Model for Transforming Practice by Anne Boykin and Savina O. Schoenhofer

A scientific publication likely written in the late 20th century. This work articulates a new theory of nursing that emphasizes the concept of caring as essential to the practice and discipline of nursing. The authors aim to redefine nursing through the lens of caring, making it clear that understanding oneself as a caring person is crucial for effective nursing practice. At the start of the text, the authors lay the foundation for their theory by discussing the unique nature of nursing and the importance of human connection and caring in the nursing profession. They argue that caring is not just a set of actions but a fundamental aspect of being human that should inform every nursing situation. The authors introduce the concept of the "nursing situation" as a shared experience where the nurse and patient engage together in a meaningful, caring relationship. By focusing on nurturing individuals as they live and grow in caring, the authors set the stage for a transformative model of nursing practice that seeks to enhance both the caregiver and the cared-for. (This is an automatically generated summary.)

Chapter 5: Implications for nursing education.
Page: 41

This is a Copyrighted Project Gutenberg eBook.

Living a Caring-Based Program by Boykin, A. (Ed).
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 1994

This timely publication offers a description of community building within the College of Nursing at Florida Atlantic University. Nursing education programs have a reputation of being demanding, difficult, and exhausting. Since the education process is the way students are socialized into the culture of nursing,it is the obligation of faculty to create an environment in which students come to know each other as colleagues who are free to express their uniqueness. This book describes the evolution and living of a caring-based program grounded in foundational beliefs and values of person and centered in caring.

Creating a caring environment for nursing education.
Author: Anne Boykin
Page: 11-25
The experience of being a student in a caring-based program.
Author: Anita Beckerman, Anne Boykin, & Jill Winland-Brown
Page: 79-92
Prizing, valuing, and growing in a caring-based program.
Author: Savina Schoenhofer & Sherrilyn Coffman
Page: 127-165

Ethical and Moral Dimensions of Care by Madeleine M. Leininger (Editor)
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT85 .E77 1990

ISBN: 0814323324

Publication Date: 1986-08-01
Caring - An Essential Human Need by Madeleine M. Leininger (Editor)
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT86 .N37 1988

ISBN: 0814319939

Publication Date: 1988-08-01
Florence Prescription: From accountability to ownership : the next frontier for patient satisfaction, workplace productivity, and employee loyalty by Joe Tye
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RA971.35 .T84 2009

ISBN: 9781887511278

Publication Date: 2009-04-01

The Florence Prescription is a heartwarming fictional story with a powerful real-world message for today's hospitals. Dozens of practical strategies for fostering a more positive and productive organization are woven into the story.
Nightingales by Gillian Gill
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT37 .N5 G556 2004

ISBN: 0345451872

Publication Date: 2004-08-31

Nightingales is a dazzling portrait of an amazing woman, her difficult but loving family, and the high Victorian era they so perfectly epitomized. Beautifully written, witty, and irresistible, Nightingales is truly a tour de force.
A Handbook for Caring Science: Expanding the Paradigm by William Rosa; Sara Horton-Deutsch; Jean Watson
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT84.5 .H36 2019

ISBN: 9780826133885

Publication Date: 2018-09-01

A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future. This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science.
Inspired Nurse by Rich Bluni
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT84.5 .B585 2009

ISBN: 9780974998671

Publication Date: 2009-02-01

Few other professions afford the opportunity to impact lives on such a profound level, not only physically but emotionally and spiritually as well. Yet the same qualities that make nursing so deeply rewarding can also make it a challenge, over time, to sustain your energy and passion. Inspired Nurse helps us maintain and recapture those elusive qualities.
Quality-Caring in Nursing and Health Systems by Joanne R. Duffy
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT85.5 .D82 2013

ISBN: 9780826110145

Publication Date: 2013-03-01

Joanne Duffy makes a compelling argument in this book that relationships have been marginalized and no longer serve as the central organizing principle of health services.
Holistic Nursing by Barbara Montgomery Dossey; Lynn Keegan; Cynthia C. Barrere; Mary A. Blaszko Helming
Call Number: Care Nursing Collection RT42 .H65 2016

ISBN: 9781284072679

Publication Date: 2015-06-11

Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Seventh Edition continues as the definitive resource for holistic nursing for both students and professionals. Completely updated and revised, it includes seven new chapters on creative expressions in healing, herbs and dietary supplements, holistic leadership, holistic nursing education, self-care and self-development, advanced holistic nursing practice, and advanced integrative health and well-being practice demonstrated through case study exemplars. With an ideal blend of theoretical and practical content, the Seventh Edition features Dr. Dossey's Theory of Integral Nursing, including an update on global nursing and the UN Millennium goals.

Preparing to Care: Creating a culture of caring in problem based learning tutorial groups. by Tracy A. Oosterbroek
Publication Date: 2009

Abstract: "The purpose of this study was to explore with fourth year nursing baccalaureate students, their perceptions of experiences of caring using ethnographic design, and examine the phenomenon of caring and whether the development of caring relationships occurs among students and faculty members. Furthermore, the study sought to understand how
nursing students perceive these relationships as influential in their learning, and ability to cope with stress."
*Graduate Thesis
A mixed methods case study exploring simulation and caring in nursing education by C. A. Harmon
Call Number: e-resource

Publication Date: 2016

Abstract: "Current research in nursing education suggests a shift from traditional didactic transmission methods to student-centered pedagogies to prepare nursing students with substantive knowledge necessary for competent practice in a complex healthcare environment. Simulation has emerged as a pedagogy that offers students the opportunity to critically think, solve problems, and care for diverse patients in a nonthreatening, safe environment. As the use of simulation increases, a concern is whether or not it can hinder the development of caring behaviors necessary for competent and compassionate nursing practice. This research was a study of nursing students’ descriptions of the simulation experience, and perceptions of caring in nursing along with the display of caring behaviors in the simulated environment."
*Doctoral Dissertation

International Journal for Human Caring
A scholarly forum for nurses to advance the knowledge of care & caring within the discipline of nursing, collaboration with other disciplines that also use care & caring knowledge in human relationships, & investigation of care & caring knowledge.
Full text available in CINAHL Complete starting in 2003 through present
Nursing Science Quarterly
Nursing Science Quarterly (NSQ) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal publishing original manuscripts focusing on nursing theory development, nursing theory-based practice and quantitative and qualitative research related to existing nursing frameworks, contributed by the leading theorists, researchers and nurse executives. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Full-text available from 1991 to current issue through SAGE Journals
American Journal of Nursing
AJN is the oldest and largest circulating nursing journal in the world. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing.
Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 1996 issue.

Articles in Print Only

If you want to read these articles, contact us at SFSC-Library@southflorida.edu or 863-784-7304 to order through interlibrary loan.

How students perceive faculty caring: A phenomenological study.

Author: C.T. Beck
Journal: Nurse Educator
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1991, 16(5), 18-22

Caring in nursing: Analysis of extant theory.
Authors: A. Boykin & S.O. Schoenhofer
Journal: Nursing Science Quarterly
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1990, 3(14), 149-155
Story as link between nursing practice, ontology, and epistemology.
Author: A. Boykin & S.O. Schoenhofer
Journal: Image - Journal of Nursing Scholarship
Year, Vol(I), Page: 1991, 23(4), 245-248
Revisiting our roots: Caring in nursing curriculum design.
Author: L.P. Brown
Journal: Nurse Education in Practice
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2011, 11(6), 360-364
What you need to know: Artful caring pedagogy in health assessment.
Authors: K. Gramling & M. Smith
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2001, 6(1), 7-11
Infusing the curriculum with literature on caring: An idea whose time has come.
Author: S.O. Schoenhofer
Journal: International Journal for Human Caring
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2001, 5(2), 7-14
Evaluation of a caring education program for Taiwanese nursing students: A quasi-experiment with before and after comparison.
Authors: L.M. Wu, C.C. Chin, & C. H. Chen
Journal: Nurse Education Today
Year, Vol(I), Page: 2009, 29(8), 873-878