Research Guides: Nursing Resources: Online Sources

Public Online Databases

These resources are freely accessable by the public, but often have less full text content.

PubMed (US National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health)
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Free Medical Journals

Free Medical Journals Listed by Topic
Compiled by the Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research, this list is divided by subject and language, and offers world-wide access.
The New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine offers some free full text content.
The North American Journal of Medical Sciences (NAJMS)
An international, peer-reviewed general medical journal regularly publishing 12 issues per year. NAJMS publishes important advances in medical sciences that include clinical and basic studies of all aspects of medical and bio-medical sciences in human, animal and cell-line studies.

Florida Electronic Library Resources

These databases are provided by the Florida Electronic Library to all Florida residents. To access outside of Florida, you must have a library card from a participating Florida library.

MEDLINE
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more. Contains 12+ million citation records from 9,500+ sources from 1965 to the present, and the MeSH thesaurus.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.

Nursing Resources

Need a Little Help?

Public Online Databases

Free Medical Journals

Florida Electronic Library Resources

Google Scholar